| |
- UW
Libraries Catalog: Find books in the entire UW Library system
and in Summit, a combined catalog of academic libraries in the greater
NorthWest region. To locate full text online journals search
by the journal title and look for "full text available"
links.
- UW WorldCat (Includes Summit) Catalog this catalog includes the holdings from international libraries, Summit libraries (OR and WA), and UW Libraries. You can limit to any one of these groups by selecting either Libraries Worldwide (includes WorldCat), Summit Libraries, or UW Libraries. To limit to the Bothell campus, select “Bothell Campus.” By default, the UW Libraries holdings are listed first in the results list, then the Summit Libraries.
- Collections
of online reference books:
- Reference
tools Includes dictionaries and thesauri. Some are UW restricted.
- Gale
Virtual Reference Library - UW
restricted. In this database of electronic encyclopedias
and books you can search in an individual title or through multiple
titles at the same time. Subjects included in this collection: arts,
business & economics, education, environment, history &
American studies, literature, nursing & medicine, multicultural
studies, nation & world, religion, science and the social sciences.
Tip: To focus in on your topic, try limiting your search
to the "document title" instead of the "keyword"
default search.
- Oxford
Reference Online - UW restricted.
An online database that searches across many Oxford University Press
specialized dictionaries and reference titles at once. Full text
entries are available. Titles include: An A-Z of Medicinal Drugs,
Concise Medical Dictionary, and The Oxford Companion to the Body.
Tips: On the Advanced Search page - Change the "Refine
your Search" box from Full Text to "Entry Headings"
to search with more precision. After you have submitted a search,
on the left hand side of your search results page - look for the
"Refine by Subject" categories such as medicine. Click
on these subjects to look within that discipline area.
|
| |
Selected
Databases (listed alphabetically):
Search these databases
for articles, scholarly and popular, on a variety of health, nursing
policy, legal topics, and more:
These
databases are contractually restricted to University of Washington or
Cascadia CC faculty, students, and staff, or to persons
physically present in the University Libraries. To access them when away from a UW campus, click on the "Off-Campus Access" button which appears in the upper right corner of this and many other pages on our web site, or click here, and log in with your UWNetID and password.
Tracking down the full text of articles guide
Remember, if you
can't find the full text of an article in one of these databases, check
the catalog
to see if we subscribe to the print version. If the record indicates
that the Bothell/CCC Campus Library does not have the journal, but either
Seattle or Tacoma does, you can still order a copy of the article using
our
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Services.
- Academic OneFile (Gale)- UW restricted. Trial access until 6/30/11. Scholarly and general interest sources in humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
- Cochrane
library - UW restricted. An
evidence based medicine database consisting chiefly of 4 databases:
Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR); Database of abstracts
of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane controlled trials register
(CCTR); and Cochrane review methodology database (CRMD).
(Search tips for this database)
- CQ
Researcher - UW restricted.
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.
Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education
and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year
including four expanded reports. Comprehensive full-text coverage 1996+.
The online archive also contains selected reports back to 1991.
- CINAHL Plus - UW restricted. From EbscoHost. Cumulative
Index to Nursing Allied Health Literature, indexing over 1700
journals from 1982 to the present. Unlimited users. How-to Guide.
- EBSCOhost databases - UW restricted. Includes the databases of Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, DynaMed, GreenFILE, Health Source: Consumer Edition and the Nursing Edition, Nursing Reference Center, and many more article databases. These databases
index and include many full-text articles covering multiple subject areas, including health.
- Family Studies Abstracts - UW restricted. From EBSCOhost, includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Global
Health - UW restricted
Database covers various aspects of human health and disease; includes
communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology,
human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous
plants.
- Global
Health archive - UW restricted
Database covers various aspects of human health and disease; includes
communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and
parasitology, human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal
and poisonous plants; coverage: 1910-1972.
- Health
and Psychosocial Instruments - UW
restricted. Provides ready access to information on measurement
instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists,
index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques,
vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences,
organizational behavior, and library and information science.
-
History of science, technology, and medicine -
UW restricted. Describes journal articles, conference
proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of
science, technology, medicine, and allied historical fields; covers
1975 to the present.
- Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe - UW restricted.
Comprises a wide range of full-text newspaper articles,
in addition to a small collection of medical information.
- MD
Consult - UW restricted. Full
text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines,
drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials. Tip: Click
on the Open Generic Account button to get into this site.
- Natural
Standard: the authority on integrative medicine - UW
restricted.
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative
therapies. It contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements,
condition center, and alternative modalities. For each therapy covered
by Natural Standard, a research team gathers scientific data and expert
opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of
available evidence. Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs
which are designed to facilitate clinical decision making. All monographs
undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion in Natural
Standard databases.
- Online
Health-Related Journals - UW restricted.
An alphabetical list of full-text electronic journals
available through the UW Libraries. This list is provided and
maintained by the UW Health Sciences Libraries and is titled the Browse
eJournals page.
- PubMed:
(Publicly accessible - but some full text is UW
Restricted) Quick Start Guide and Tutorials. The National Library of Medicine's search service
to over 15 million citations in Medline and related databases. (Search
tips for this database)
- STAT!Ref
Medical Reference - UW restricted. Contains
medical, clinical and drug texts, and includes Stedman's medical dictionary.
Connect
to the complete list of UW databases
News
Coverage of current topics:
|