Resources by Subject: Sociology

Reference Books for Sociology Research

Online Reference Resources
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology -- UW restricted  
Encyclopedia of Sociology -- UW restricted  
Sociology Basics - UW restricted  
Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences  
Oxford Reference Online - UW restricted  

Gale Virtual Reference Library - UW restricted
This online resource combines many great subject encyclopedias into one search screen. You can search all the encyclopedias at the same time with a "basic search," or view specific titles (check under "social sciences" for sociology related encyclopedias).

 

Search selected volumes:

 
   
Print Resources

The books listed here are all located in the Bothell/CCC Reference Stacks on the first floor of the Campus Library.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences H41 .I58 2001
Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences H41 .R4 2001
Social Science Encyclopedia H41 .S63 2004 
A-Z Guide to Modern Social and Political Theorists H57 .A9 1997
Annual Review of Sociology HM1 .A75  v.27  connect to this title online   - UW restricted
Handbook of Sociology HM51 .H249 1988
Encyclopedia of Sociology HM425 .E5 2000 connect to this title online - UW restricted

Encyclopedia of Social Theory

HM425 .E47 2005
Encyclopedia of Community HM756 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements HN57 .E594 2004 
American Attitudes HN90.P8 M58 1998    
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family HQ9 .E52 2003  connect to this title online - UW restricted
The Family in America : An Encyclopedia HQ536 .H365 2001 
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood HQ767.84 .E53 2004 
Encyclopedia of Aging HQ1061 .E543 2002  connect to this title online  - UW restricted
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender HQ1115 .E43 2001 
Encyclopedia of Disability HV1568 .E528 2006 
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice HV6017 .E52 2002  connect to this title online - UW restricted
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment HV6017 .E524 2002 
   
 
Suzan Parker, Social Sciences Librarian