Resources by Subject: Psychology

Finding Journal Articles in Psychology

 
General Social Sciences Databases
           Expanded Academic Index - UW restricted
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Research Library Complete - UW restricted
Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities, social science and science periodicals and newspapers; 1986 to present. Divided into Newspapers and Periodicals sections.
JSTOR search - UW restricted
A subject searchable index of journals online with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. As a general rule, JSTOR does not contain articles published within the last FIVE years, but it is an excellent source for older articles.
Project Muse search - UW restricted
A subject searchable index of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals online with Project Muse. Retrieves more than 5000 full-text articles.
  Social Sciences Citation Index - UW restricted
Part of the Web of Science databases, which index scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Return to Top
 
Psychology Databases
  Annual Review of Psychology - UW restricted
Annual compilation of articles on major issues in psychology.
MEDLINE - UW restricted
Covers more than 3,900 journals in biomedicine, including citations published in Index medicus, International nursing index, and Index to dental literature, from 1966 to the present.
PsycARTICLES - UW restricted
Full text access to articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations since 1987. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
PsycINFO - UW restricted
Covers academic, research, and practice literature in psychology including relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, and social science; from 1872 to the present.
ScienceDirect - UW restricted
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
STAT!Ref Medical Reference - UW restricted
Online medical reference resource, including medical dictionaries, drug information and Review of General Psychiatry.
Return to Top
 
E-Journals
  Psychology Studies e-Journals, A-Z
A list of electronic journals available through the UW Libraries Catalog. Many are UW restricted.
  Return to Top
   

Maintainer of this guide: Suzan Parker, Social Sciences Librarian