Resources by Subject: Gender and Women's Studies

Finding Journal Articles in Gender and Women's Studies

 
General Social Sciences Databases
           Expanded Academic Index - UW restricted
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Research Library Complete - UW restricted
Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities, social science and science periodicals and newspapers; 1986 to present. Divided into Newspapers and Periodicals sections.
JSTOR search - UW restricted
A subject searchable index of journals online with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. As a general rule, JSTOR does not contain articles published within the last FIVE years, but it is an excellent source for older articles.
Project Muse search - UW restricted
A subject searchable index of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals online with Project Muse. Retrieves more than 5000 full-text articles.
  Social Sciences Citation Index - UW restricted
Part of the Web of Science databases, which index scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Return to Top
 
Gender Studies Databases
  Africabib.org: African Women's Bibliographic Database
Index of books, articles, government documents and dissertations/theses focused on women in Africa. Coverage begins in 1986 to present. No full text.
Contemporary Women's Issues - UW restricted
Full-text articles covering areas such as health and reproductive rights, development, human rights, legal and workplace issues, lesbian concerns, violence, and feminism.
Feminae Medieval Women and Gender Index
Index of articles, books and essays on women and gender issues during the Middle Ages. Covers Europe, North Africa and the Middle East.
MLA International Bibliography - UW restricted
Literature, language, linguistics, folklore, and speech, 1963 to the present.
Sociological Abstracts - UW restricted
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law
Return to Top
 
E-Journals
  Gay and Lesbian Studies e-Journals, A-Z
A list of electronic journals available through the UW Libraries Catalog. Many are UW restricted.
  Return to Top
   

Maintainer of this guide: Suzan Parker, Social Sciences Librarian