Resources by Subject: Ethnic and Multicultural Studies

Return to Starting Points for Ethnic and Multicultural Studies

 
General Social Sciences Databases
 

Academic Search Complete - uw/ccc restricted
Provides scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Academic OneFile - uw/ccc restricted
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

JSTOR search - uw/ccc restricted
A subject searchable index of journals online with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. As a general rule, JSTOR does not contain articles published within the last five years, but it is an excellent source for older articles.

Project Muse search - uw/ccc restricted
Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other not-for-profit publishers. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

 

Social Sciences Citation Index- uw/ccc restricted
Part of the Web of Science databases, which index scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Return to Top

 
Ethnic Studies Databases
 

America: History and Life - uw/ccc restricted
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

eHRAF Collection of Ethnography - uw/ccc restricted
Provides primarily descriptive information on the cultures of the world; a collection of ethnographic and other texts indexed by culture and subject.

Ethnic NewsWatch - uw/ccc restricted
Articles from ethnic and minority news sources in America.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Online - uw/ccc restricted
HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Many citations are linked to full text.

MLA International Bibliography - uw/ccc restricted
Contains bibliographic citations pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore; includes coverage from 1963 to the present.

Sociological Abstracts - uw/ccc restricted
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Return to Top

 
E-Journals
 

Ethnic Studies e-Journals, A-Z
A list of electronic journals available through the UW Libraries Catalog. Many are UW/CCC Restricted (uw/ccc restricted).

 

Return to Top

 

Guide maintained by: Kathleen DeLaurenti, Reference & Instruction Librarian