Resources by Subject: Religion

Reference Sources for Religion Research

The books listed here are all located in the Bothell/CCC Reference Stacks on the first floor of the Campus Library.
 
Religious Texts
The Talmud = [Talmud Bavli] : the Steinsaltz edition BM499.5 .E4 1989
The Holy Quran with English translation and commentary BP130.4 .K6713 1988
The Holy Bible : New international version, containing the Old Testament and the New Testament BS195 .N37 1978
 
General Religion
Routledge Religion Reference Resource - UW Restricted
This resource includes over 25 encyclopedia, dictionary, and biographical reference sources on religion.
Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion : Eastern and Western thought B41 .R43 1999
The Encyclopedia of Philosophy (also online - UW Restricted) B51 .E55 2006
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy B51 .R68 1998
Satanism Today : An Encyclopedia of Religion, Folklore, and Popular Culture BF1548 .L49 2001
How to be a Perfect Stranger: a guide to etiquette in other people's religious ceremonies BJ2010 .M34 1999
Larousse Dictionary of Beliefs and Religions

BL31 .D53 1994

Encyclopedia of Religion

BL31 .E46 2005

Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals (also online) - UW Restricted BL31 .E47 2004
Oxford Dictionary of World Religions BL31 .O9 1997
The Wilson Chronology of the World's Religions BL80.2 .L464 2000
Religions of the World: a comprehensive encyclopedia of beliefs and practices BL80.3 .R45 2002
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion (also online - UW Restricted) BL240.3 .E43 2003
The Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects, and New Religions BL2525 .L49 1998
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism BM50 .E63 2002
Oxford Companion to Christian Thought BR95 .O94 2000
New Catholic Encyclopedia BX841 .N44 1981
Encyclopedia of Modern Separatist Movements HM716 .H48 2000
Encyclopedia of Protestantism - UW Restricted
Encyclopedia of Religion and War - UW Restricted
The World's Religions - UW Restricted
Encyclopedia of Religious Freedom - UW Restricted
Encyclopedia of Confucianism - UW Restricted
 
Regions, Cultures and Religion
Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy B121 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy B126 .E496 2003
Oxford Dictionary of World Religions BL31 .O9 1997
The Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions BL2462.5 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion BL2525 .B45 1998
Contemporary American Religion - UW Restricted
Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience BL2525 .E53 1988
Encyclopedia of American Religions (also online - UW Restricted) BL2525 .M449 1989
American Religions: an illustrated history BL2525 .M47 2000
Encyclopedia of American Religious History BL2525 .Q44 2001
Religion and American Cultures : an encyclopedia of traditions, diversity, and popular expressions BL2525 .R448 2003
Historical Dictionary of Islam BP50 .A33 2001
Encyclopedia of Buddhism (also online - UW Restricted) BQ128 .E62 2004
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World     DS35.53 .O95 2001
Encyclopaedia of Islam - UW Restricted (click on "Log in" for access)
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism - UW Restricted
Encyclopedia of Native American Religions E98.R3 H73 1992
New Historical Atlas of Religion in America G1201.E4 N4 2001
The World's Religions - UW Restricted
Encyclopedia of African American Religions - UW Restricted
North American Muslim Resource Guide - UW Restricted
 
Religious Figures and Peoples
Who's Who in Christianity - UW Restricted
Who's Who in the New Testament - UW Restricted
Who's Who in the Old Testament - UW Restricted
Dictionary of Gods and Goddesses, Devils and Demons - UW Restricted
Dictionary of Egyptian Gods and Goddesses - UW Restricted
Fifty Key Jewish Thinkers - UW Restricted
Fifty Key Christian Thinkers - UW Restricted
Fifty Eastern Thinkers - UW Restricted
Maintainer of this guide: Suzan Parker, Social Sciences Librarian