Resources by Subject: Religion

 


Finding Journal and Magazine Articles for Religion Research

Interdisciplinary databases

Expanded Academic Index - UW restricted  
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology

Research Library
- UW restricted 
Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities, social science and science periodicals and newspapers; 1986 to present. Divided into Newspapers and periodicals sections

Readers' guide retrospective -
UW restricted 
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America; covers 1890-1982
Religion databases

American Religion Data Archive (ARDA)
The ARDA collection includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).

ATLA Religion Database - UW restricted
Subject areas include: archaeology & antiquities, Bible, church history, human culture & society, missions & ecumenism, pastoral ministry, philosophy & ethics, religious studies, theology, world religions; coverage 1949-current.

Index Islamicus - UW restricted
A bibliography of books and index of articles in periodicals on Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.

Index to Jewish Periodicals - UW restricted
Indexes many English language periodicals not covered by Hebrew University's more research-oriented RAMBI

Philospher's Index - UW restricted
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.

ProQuest Religion - UW restricted
Provides information on religious affairs and religious thinking from top religious periodicals.

RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Related subject-specific databases
MLA international bibliography - UW restricted 
Contains bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore; includes coverage from 1963 to the present

PsycINFO - UW restricted 
Covers academic, research, and practice literature in psychology including relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, and social science; from 1872 to the present

Sociological abstracts - UW restricted  
Indexes the serial literature in sociology and related disciplines.  Provides abstracts from approximately 2,500 journals.  Includes analysis of the media from a  Social Science perspective (broadly defined).   

Maintainer of this guide: Suzan Parker, Social Sciences Librarian