Theatre, Performance Studies, and Dance

Finding Journal and Magazine Articles for Theatre, Performance Studies, and Dance Research

Expanded Academic - UW restricted
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. A good source for reviews of recent theatrical and dance productions, although this will obviously depend on the piece.

International Bibliography of Theater and Dance - UW restricted
Scholarly journals, popular magazines, and monographs in theatre and dance.

JSTOR search - UW restricted
JSTOR provides access to articles in a variety of electronic journals related to a variety of academic disciplines, including theatre.  Retrieves full text back files of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's.  JSTOR is not as extensive as MLA, but it will contain information related to theatre.

Literature Resource Center - UW restricted
Contains biographical information and criticism about more than 120,000 authors from a variety of fields. It also contains selected full-text journal articles and critical essays, plot summaries, and an encyclopedia of literary terms.

MLA international bibliography of books and articles on the modern languages and literatures - UW restricted
The premier information source for literary studies.  This database contains bibliographic records related to literature (including drama), language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present.  Although MLA's coverage of theatre is not comprehensive (and focuses more on the literary rather than the performative aspect of plays), it will probably give you some very useful article citations. It provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and also covers relevant books, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.  For the most part, MLA will provide bibliographic information about a journal article as opposed to the full text of the piece.

New York Times UW restricted
Full-text from 1851-2003; great source for performance reviews.

Project Muse Search - UW restricted
Project Muse is a subject searchable database of the journal holdings of several university presses.  Like JSTOR, it will retrieve full text articles.

Readers' guide retrospective - UW restricted 
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America; covers 1890-1982.

Research Library - UW restricted
Also known as ProQuest, this database provides indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities, social science and science periodicals and newspapers, from 1986 to present.  A good source for reviews of recent theatrical and dance productions, although this will obviously depend on the piece.

EJournals for Dance

Connect to complete list of all UW databases
All databases in the UW Library system are listed here alphabetically.

Return to Top

Maintainer of this guide: Sarah Leadley , Arts and Humanities Librarian