Theatre, Performance Studies, and Dance

Finding Books and Texts for Research in Theatre, Performance Studies, and Dance

Plays and Books at the University of Washington

UW Libraries Catalog
Provides you with access to over 1.9 million titles between the Bothell, Seattle and Tacoma campuses. Use the Request button to recall books or request books from UW Seattle or Tacoma libraries. You can also limit your search to the UWB/CCC Campus Library.

Play Index - UW restricted
This database allows you to search for plays by author, title, or other attributes (such as theme, cast size, genre, or age of performers).
It contains more than 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present; includes mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. All Play master records contain a link to the results of an Internet metasearch of specially selected Web sites to link to full text, criticism, and other useful information. Use the purple "Check for UW Holdings" button to find out if we have a print copy of the play (in the second box that opens up, click on either "Search for the title" or "Search for the ISBN" to find the play). In many cases, the play may appear in an anthology of other plays. Note: The UW Libraries will not own every play listed in this database.

Black Drama: 1850 to present - UW restricted
When complete, Black Drama will contain the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

UWB/CCC Campus Library literature-related reference books

Catalogs of Other Libraries


Summit
Cooperative library catalog representing over 26 academic and college libraries in Washington and Oregon states. Note: UW Faculty, Staff, and Students can request items from any of these libraries by clicking on REQUEST THIS ITEM.


OCLC WorldCat - UW restricted
Union catalog to the major research libraries in the United States and abroad.


Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts - UW restricted
Citations to dissertations written at US universities from 1861 on. Includes abstracts for those written after 1980 plus some foreign dissertations. Note: UW Faculty, Staff, and Students can download copies of UW theses and dissertations for free.

Return to Top

Maintainer of this guide: Sarah Leadley , Arts and Humanities Librarian