These
databases are contractually restricted to University of Washington
or Cascadia Community College faculty, students, and staff, or to
persons physically present in the University Libraries. Off-campus
access is available.
Remember, if
you can't find the full text of an article in one of these databases,
check the UW Libraries Catalog
to see if we subscribe to the print version. If the record indicates
that the Bothell/CCC Campus Library does not have the journal, but
either Seattle or Tacoma does, you can still order a copy of the
article using our
Interlibrary Loan Service.
- Business Source Complete - UW restricted.
This EbscoHost database covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics.
- AnthroSource
- UW restricted.
Scholarly
journals in anthropology and archaeology.
- Anthropological Literature
- UW restricted. Anthropological
literature describes articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology,
including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and
religious studies.
- Cochrane
library - UW restricted.
An evidence based medicine database consisting
chiefly of 4 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews
(CDSR); Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE);
Cochrane controlled trials register (CCTR); and Cochrane review
methodology database (CRMD).
(Search tips for this database)
- CQ
Researcher - UW restricted.
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each
week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment,
health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports
produced each year including four expanded reports. Comprehensive
full-text coverage 1996+. The online archive also contains selected
reports back to 1991.
- CINAHL Plus - UW restricted. From EbscoHost. Cumulative Index
to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, indexing over 2,800 journals from
1982 to the present. Unlimited users.
(Search tips for this database)
- EBSCOhost databases - UW restricted. Includes the databases of Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, DynaMed, GreenFILE, Health Source: Consumer Edition and the Nursing Edition, Nursing Reference Center, and many more article databases. These databases
index and include many full-text articles covering multiple subject areas, including health.
- Education Full Text - UW restricted. Provides indexing of periodicals and yearbook articles dating from 1983; abstracting of those dating from Jan. 1994; and full text of those dating from January 1996.
- ERIC - UW restricted. The ERIC database is the world’s largest source of education information. It
contains more than 1 million abstracts of journal articles and documents on
education research and practice. The public version of the ERIC database
is available at the Educator's Reference Desk.
- EMBASE - UW restricted. A biomedical and pharmacological database indexing 5,000 journals from over 70 countries. 1988-present. Includes drugs and pharmacology, clinical and experimental medicine, basic biological research, health policy and management, public, occupational and environmental health, substance abuse, psychiatry, forensic science, and biomedical engineering and instrumentation. Typically, individuals writing systematic reviews in medicine are required to search both MEDLINE and EMBASE in order to complete a comprehensive literature survey.
- Expanded
Academic ASAP - UW restricted.
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately
1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering
all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences,
and science and technology. This database contains some nursing
titles. Tip
for locating peer reviewed articles: Limit your search by clicking
in the box next to the "to
peer-reviewed publications" option.
- Facts.com includes World News Digest, Issues
and Controversies and Today's Science databases - UWB/CCC on-campus use only. From Facts on File,
this web site serves as a portal to background information on a variety of
topics, and is updated regularly.
- Family Studies Abstracts - UW restricted. From EBSCOhost, includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Global Health - UW restricted
Database covers various aspects of human health and disease;
includes communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic
diseases and parasitology, human nutrition, community and public
health, medicinal and poisonous plants
- Global Health Archive - UW restricted
Database covers various aspects of human health and disease;
includes communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic
diseases and parasitology, human nutrition, community and
public health, medicinal and poisonous plants; coverage: 1910-1972.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments - UW
restricted. Provides ready access to information
on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules,
checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales,
projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health
fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library
and information science.
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine -
UW restricted. Describes journal articles,
conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations
in the history of science, technology, medicine, and allied historical
fields; covers 1975 to the present.
- Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe - UW restricted.
Comprises a wide range of full-text newspaper articles,
in addition to a small collection of medical information.
- MD
Consult - UW restricted.
Full text access to selected medical texts, medical
journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts,
and CME materials. Tip: Click on the Open Generic
Account button to get into this site.
- Natural
Standard: the authority on integrative medicine - UW
restricted. Provides evidence-based information
about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains three
sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and
alternative modalities. For each therapy covered by Natural Standard,
a research team gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated
rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence.
Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs which
are designed to facilitate clinical decision making. All monographs
undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion in
Natural Standard databases.
- Nursing reference center - UW
restricted.
Provides a user-friendly point-of-care resource intended for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians; resources include CINAHL nursing guide, patient education documents in both English and Spanish, HealthDay news with daily FDA, clinical, and drug updates, Davis's comprehensive handbook of Laboratory and diagnostic tests, Davis's Drug guide for nurses, and Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary. Nurses are also able to obtain continuing education unit (CEU) credits via access to over 100 CEU modules.
- Online
Health-Related Journals - UW
restricted. An alphabetical list of full-text electronic
journals available through the UW Libraries. This list
is provided and maintained by the UW Health Sciences Libraries
and is titled the Browse eJournals page.
- PsycINFO
- UW restricted.
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters
and technical reports in the field of psychology, and psychological
aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry,
nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics,
anthropology, business, and law.
-
PAIS International - Public Affairs Information Service.
- UW restricted.
Covers social and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals,
government documents, books, and other sources.
- PubMed:
(Publicly accessible - but some full text is UW
Restricted) The National Library of Medicine's
search service to over 15 million citations in Medline and related
databases. (Search
tips for this database)
- Social
Services Abstracts - UW restricted.
Indexes and summarizes articles in the fields
of community development; crisis intervention; evaluation research;
family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting;
poverty and homelessness; professional issues in social work;
social development; social work education; support groups/networks;
violence, abuse and neglect; and welfare services.
- Social
Work Abstracts - UW restricted.
The
primary index to journal articles published in the social work
and social welfare field, and selected dissertations.
- Sociological
abstracts - UW restricted.
Contains abstracts of serial literature in sociology
and related disciplines from approximately 2,500 journals.
- STAT!Ref
Medical Reference - UW restricted.
Contains medical, clinical and drug texts, and
includes Stedman's medical dictionary.
- Web
of Science -
UW restricted. Science,
social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes.
Connect to the complete list of UW databases
|