Resources by Subject: Music

Finding Journal and Magazine Articles for Music Research

Return to Starting Points for Music Research
View a complete list of all UW Databases
Interdisciplinary Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index- UW restricted
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, with cited references but not abstracts. Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Expanded Academic ASAP - UW restricted  
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Readers' guide retrospective -
UW restricted 
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America; covers 1890-1982.

Music databases

CAIRSS for Music (Computer Assisted Information Retrieval Service System)
Bibliographic database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine.

Canadian Music Periodical Index
An index of articles from Canadian music periodicals which includes nearly 30,000 entries dating from the late-19th century to the present day. 500 Canadian music journals, newsletters, and magazines are represented.

Digital Tradition Folk Song database
Maintained by the Mudcat Cafe, "a magazine dedicated to blues and folk music," this database contains the full texts and sound files for thousands of folk songs in English, searchable by keyword and by title.

Music Index - UW restricted  
"The editor-librarians at Harmonie Park Press survey data from more than 655 international music periodicals and review new journals for possible inclusion. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries."

Electronic Journals

Check out this list of the library's music journals available electronically.

Maintainer of this guide: Leslie Bussert, Ethics & Humanities Librarian