Resources by Subject

Finding Journal Articles for Media & Communications Research

Communications databases

Communication Abstracts - UW/CCC restricted  
Coverage includes communication literature and literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers, such as international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication, and public opinions.

Communication & Mass Media Complete - UW/CCC restricted  
Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 journals.

Interdisciplinary databases

Expanded Academic Index - UW/CCC restricted    
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology

Research Library Complete
- UW/CCC restricted  
Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities, social science and science periodicals and newspapers; 1986 to present. Divided into Newspapers and periodicals sections

Readers' guide retrospective -
UW/CCC restricted  
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America; covers 1890-1982

Other subject-specific databases

ABI/INFORM global - UW/CCC restricted  
Extensive indexing and full text for business and management-related periodicals.  A good source to use when you are looking for information on the business of media (including advertising, marketing, ownership, etc.).

Factiva (formerly Dow-Jones) - UW/CCC restricted
Provides access to over 8,000 sources (newswires, newspapers, magazines and trade publications) from 118 countries in 22 languages. The database is particularly useful for business research, since it also provides access to company and industry comparison reports, company profiles, SEC filings and stock prices for U.S. public companies.  Includes both US and International news sources


MLA international bibliography -
UW/CCC restricted
Contains bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore; includes coverage from 1963 to the present

PAIS international - UW/CCC restricted
Covers social and public policy literature from over 1,400 periodicals and thousands of government documents, books, and other sources.  Includes information on government regulation/policy regarding the media.  

PsycINFO - UW/CCC restricted
Covers academic, research, and practice literature in psychology including relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, and social science; from 1872 to the present

Sociological abstracts - UW/CCC restricted 
Indexes the serial literature in sociology and related disciplines.  Provides abstracts from approximately 2,500 journals.  Includes analysis of the media from a  Social Science perspective (broadly defined).   

Key resource: The Iowa Guide: Scholarly Journals in Mass Communication and Media Studies. This online publication helps scholars find appropriate journals in which to publish their work and offers advice on how to prepare manuscripts for publication.

Maintainer of this guide: Amanda Hornby, Media & Technology Studies Librarian