|
Free
Sites
- Advertisementave.com
This site has a collection of over 350 commercials representing about
175 different companies. It is organized by company, product, event
and celebrities. The site map provides all the ads available by company
name.
- American
Museum of the Moving Image The Living Room Candidate
"For each election year from 1952 to 2004, there is a selection
of commercials that can be viewed in their entirety, an analysis of
each major partys advertising campaign, and a map showing the
election results. After selecting an election year, click on a candidates
name to read about their campaign. You may select Play All
to watch each years commercials in sequence."
- The
Night of the Adeaters
From the homepage click on The Film Library to get to the
Jean-Marie Boursicot's Film Library. This collection contains 700,000
commercial submitted by ad agencies from 65 countries. It accurately
describes itself as a a genuine global memory of commercials.
One can search or browse by the following categories: Theme or
keyword, Year, Brand, Business Sector,
Type of Product, or Country.
- TVCommercialsNOW
The creators of this site, Digital Sweatshop, Inc., estimate that this
collection contains approximately 1,100 commercials. This site provides
access via 27 categories, such as beer, clothing, credit cards, etc.
and through limited keyword searching.
- IFILM
This site contains TV commercials under Top 10 ads of all time,
Super Bowl Ads and within its Viral Videos section by selecting
TV Commercials under Playlists (note: some are labeled mature).
The IFILMs site also contains access to a wide array of movie
clips and trailers, short films, TV clips,
video-game trailers, and music videos.
- Classic
TV Ads
This site provides access to about 55 classic commercials
(although they do not always indicate the date of the commercial).
- Internet
Archive Movie Archive
This site offers a number of older TV commercials, which are mostly
a part of the Prelinger Archives Collection. Commercials are not usually
presented individually but are within part of a larger collection of
commercials, such as Television commercials: Telephones,
which contains 3 commercials for a quick review of telephone history.
A simple search on commercial turns up 377 items.
Fee Sites
- Creativitiys
Adcritic.com
Fee: $99 a year (as of 4/5/04)
Adcritic had exactly what I was looking for but one must be a subscriber
for full access. I called to ask if they had a pricing structure for
institutions and they told me that they do not. Each individual who
accesses their content must have their own account. Currently, an individual
account runs $99 a year with includes their publication, Creativity.
Includes an advanced search engine feature.
- USATVADS
Fee: varies $9.95 - $700 (as of 4/5/04)
This company claims to have over one million TV commercials available
but like adcritic.com they do not accommodate any institutional subscribers.
Pricing for their content is variable and ranges from $19.95 for special
packages like 30 years of Super Bowl Ads Screening to $700
for the 20 ads
Competitive TV Ad Reviews product. Their charges for single
ads are $75 for a current ad to $500 for an older one on VHS.
- Adland
Fee: $2 a month (as of 4/5/04)
This site requires a donation of $2/month to access its
video content. There are some free ads available in its Badlands
section and under its Random links out. It is difficult
to determine the extent of their collection. For example, they have
an archive organized by month and year that dates back to May 1958 (1
commercial) to the present, April 2004 (182 commercials). They also
have a section called Badlands Best and Worst arranged
by year that dates back to 1995 and includes anywhere from 32 to 80
commercials each. They also include under the left-hand column a link
for topics. These are various subject-related collections,
such as computers, health, telecoms, Super Bowl ads that date back to
1976 (also includes years: 1969, 1973 and 1975), etc. The site also
includes a search engine.
- New/Commercials
Fees: variable. Example: 2002 Food commercials (655 total) cost $1,368.
Inquired about institutional access on 4/6/04 but no response. (Server
down
4/8/04.)
Directories
Library Archive
- UCLAs
Film and Television Archive Collections
UCLAs Film and Television Archive Collections have the second
largest collection of media materials in the U.S., behind only the Library
of Congress. It encompasses more than 220,000 motion picture and
television titles and 27 million feet of newsreel
footage. They do not offer digitized content online
but do have a loan policy for qualified non-profits.
The
content of this page was organized and provided by Rick Robison, Senior
Assistant Librarian, Sonoma State University.
|