Resources by Subject: Literature

Finding Journal and Magazine Articles for Literature Research

Literary Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - UW restricted
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, with cited references but not abstracts. Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.

Cambridge University Press Journals - UW restricted
Search literary studies journals published by Cambridge University Press.

JSTOR - UW restricted
Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals, some going back to the 1800s. Covers Literature, History, African-American Studies, Asian Studies and more.

Literature Online (LION) - UW restricted 
Contains literary criticism, reference works, and full-text literary journals. Resources on over 14,000 authors include searchable full-text works, biographies, bibliographies, websites, video readings, and more.

Literature Criticism Online - UW restricted
Contains full text literary and film criticism from ten print literary encyclopedias including children's literature, Shakespeare, drama, poetry, classical and medieval literature, and 19th, 20th, and contemporary literature.

MLA International Bibliography - UW restricted
The premier information source for literary studies.  With content from the Modern Languages Association, this database contains bibliographic records related to literature, language, linguistics, theatre, film, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present.  It provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and also covers relevant books, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.  For the most part, MLA will provide bibliographic information about a journal article as opposed to the full text of the piece, although some entries do contain a link to an electronic version of the article, especially if the piece is recent.

Project Muse - UW restricted
Project Muse is a subject searchable database of scholarly journals published by university presses. Like JSTOR, it will retrieve full text articles only. Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, gender studies, and much more.

Interdisciplinary databases

Expanded Academic ASAP - UW restricted  
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, including literary studies. A good place for finding book reviews.

Readers' guide retrospective -
UW restricted 
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America; covers 1890-1982.

Return to Top

Maintainer of this guide: Leslie Bussert, Ethics and Humanities Librarian