Gale Virtual Reference Library - UW
restricted. In this database of electronic encyclopedias
and books you can search in an individual title or through multiple titles
at the same time. Subjects included in this collection: arts, business &
economics, education, environment, history & American studies, literature,
nursing & medicine, multicultural studies, nation & world, religion,
science and the social sciences. Tip: To focus in on your topic,
try limiting your search to the "document title" instead of the
"keyword" default search.
Oxford
Reference Online - UW restricted.
An online database that searches across many Oxford University Press specialized
dictionaries and reference titles at once. Full text entries are available.
Titles include: An A-Z of Medicinal Drugs, Concise Medical Dictionary, and
The Oxford Companion to the Body. Tips: On the Advanced Search page - Change the "Refine your
Search" box from Full Text to "Entry Headings" to search
with more precision. After you have submitted a search, on the left
hand side of your search results page - look for the "Refine by Subject"
categories such as medicine. Click on these subjects to look within that
discipline area.
(these databases are contractually restricted to University of Washington or
Cascadia Community College faculty, students, and staff, or to persons physically
present in the University Libraries.)
Remember, if you can't find the full
text of an article in one of these databases, check the catalog
to see if we subscribe to the print version. If the record indicates that the
Bothell/CCC Campus Library does not have the journal, but either Seattle or
Tacoma does, you can still order a copy of the article using our
Document Delivery Service.
ABI/INFORM
Global - UW restricted. This
ProQuest database indexes over 1,300 management and business periodicals.
Subjects covered include management, marketing, international business and
finance. Has full-text for over 600 journals from 1992 forward. Backfiles
have informative abstracts.
Cochrane
library- UW restricted.
An evidence based medicine database consisting chiefly of 4 databases:
Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR); Database of abstracts of reviews
of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane controlled trials register (CCTR); and Cochrane
review methodology database (CRMD).
(Search tips for this database)
CQ
Researcher - UW restricted.
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics
range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science
and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded
reports. Comprehensive full-text coverage 1996+. The online archive also contains
selected reports back to 1991.
CINAHL Plus - UW restricted.New interface from EbscoHost that we switched to in 2007. Cumulative Index
to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, indexing over 2,800 journals from
1982 to the present. Unlimited users.
Expanded
Academic ASAP
- UW restricted. Provides indexing
and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering
all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science
and technology. This database contains some nursing titles.
Facts.com
- (Facts on File World News Digest) - UWB/CCC
on-campus use only. Provides full access to Facts on File World
News Digest (1980 to present), Facts on File News Archive (1950-1980), and
selected access to the World Almanac, The World Almanac Encyclopedia, Reuters
News Service, Issues
and Controversies On File, Today's Science on File and Editorials on File.
Global
Health - UW restricted
Database covers various aspects of human health and disease; includes communicable
diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, human nutrition,
community and public health, medicinal and poisonous plants.
Global
Health archive - UW restricted
Database covers various aspects of human health and disease; includes
communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology,
human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous
plants; coverage: 1910-1972.
Health
and Psychosocial Instruments - UW
restricted. Provides ready access to information on measurement
instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index
measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios,
tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior,
and library and information science.
History of science, technology, and medicine - UW restricted. Describes journal articles, conference
proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science,
technology, medicine, and allied historical fields; covers 1975 to the present.
Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe - UW restricted. Comprises
a wide range of full-text newspaper articles, in addition to a small collection
of medical information.
MD
Consult - UW restricted. Full
text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines,
drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials. Tip: Click
on the Open Generic Account button to get into this site.
Natural
Standard: the authority on integrative medicine - UW
restricted. Provides
evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
It contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center,
and alternative modalities. For each therapy covered by Natural Standard,
a research team gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating
scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Information
is incorporated into comprehensive monographs which are designed to facilitate
clinical decision making. All monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer
review prior to inclusion in Natural Standard databases.
Nursing reference center - UW
restricted.
Provides a user-friendly point-of-care resource intended for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians; resources include CINAHL nursing guide, patient education documents in both English and Spanish, HealthDay news with daily FDA, clinical, and drug updates, Davis's comprehensive handbook of Laboratory and diagnostic tests, Davis's Drug guide for nurses, and Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary. Nurses are also able to obtain continuing education unit (CEU) credits via access to over 100 CEU modules
Online
Health-Related Journals - UW restricted.
An alphabetical list of full-text electronic journals available
through the UW Libraries. This list is provided and maintained by the
UW Health Sciences Libraries and is titled the Browse eJournals page.
ProQuest
databases - UW restricted.
Includes the databases of ProQuest
Health and Medical Complete, ProQuest
Pharmaceutical News Index, ABI/INFORM
Global and many more article databases. These databases index
and include many full-text articles from key medical titles covering all the
major healthcare specialties, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology,
cardiology, physical therapy, and related areas.
PubMed:
(Publicly accessible - but some full text is UW
Restricted) The National Library of Medicine's search service
to over 15 million citations in Medline and related databases. (Search
tips for this database)
Research
Library Complete- UW restricted.
This ProQuest Research Database includes abstracts and full-text articles
from scholarly and general interest periodicals and newspapers in the humanities,
social sciences and sciences.
STAT!Ref
Medical Reference - UW restricted. Contains
medical, clinical and drug texts, and includes Stedman's medical dictionary.
Web
of Science-
UW restricted. Science,
social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes.
Anthropological Literature - UW restricted.
Anthropological literature describes articles and essays
on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics,
psychology, and religious studies.
BIOSIS
Previews - UW restricted. Article
citations from publications in the life sciences and medicine. Supplies
comprehensive coverage (1969-present) of international life science journal
and meeting literature including references found in Biological abstracts
and Biological abstracts/RRM.
PsycARTICLES
- UW restricted. Provides
full text access to articles from journals published by American Psychological
Association and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology
and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
PsycINFO
- UW restricted. Contains
citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters and technical reports
in the field of psychology, and psychological aspects of related disciplines
including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology,
physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
PAIS International - Public Affairs Information Service. -
UW restricted. Covers social
and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals, government documents,
books, and other sources.
Social
Services Abstracts - UW restricted.
Indexes and summarizes articles in the fields of community development; crisis
intervention; evaluation research; family and social welfare; gerontology;
policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness; professional issues
in social work; social development; social work education; support groups/networks;
violence, abuse and neglect; and welfare services.
Social
Work Abstracts - UW restricted.
The primary index to journal articles published
in the social work and social welfare field, and selected dissertations.
Sociological
abstracts - UW restricted.
Contains abstracts of serial literature in sociology and related
disciplines from approximately 2,500 journals.
Ageline:
Free citation index database created by the American Association of Retired
Persons. Citations are from over 300 journals and magazines, book chapters,
books, research reports, dissertations and videos. Subjects covered
include sociology, anthropology, psychology and medicine. Updated bimonthly.
AIDS.gov
This web site provides gateway to information on Federal HIV/AIDS prevention,
testing, treatment, research programs, policies, news, topics and resources.
AIDSinfo inEnglish | Español:
The web site presents federally approved information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention
guidelines, a database of HIV/AIDS clinical trials, vaccines, and information
about approved and experimental HIV/AIDS drugs. Also offers links
and downloadable resources specially designed for patients and the general
public, researchers, health care providers, and students.
Centers
for Disease Control and Prevention from the US Department of Health
and Human Services. The CDC has remained at the forefront of public health
efforts to prevent and control infectious and chronic diseases, injuries,
workplace hazards, disabilities, and environmental health threats.
Avian
Influenza (Bird Flu)
CHID
Online: The combined health information database. Provides titles,
abstracts, and availability information for health information and health
education resources, as well as links to online versions of government health
publications and contact information for national and international rare disease
patient support organizations. Produced by health-related agencies of the
federal government (NIH and HRSA).
Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2005 - published jointly every 5
years by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the Department
of Agriculture (USDA). This resource provides advice for people two years
and older. More
information.
Healthfinder:
Searchable consumer health and information and services information from the
National Health Information Center, US Department of Health and Human Services.
Health
News Review: Newspaper
and magazine health coverage is reviewed and rated on this site. This site
is published by Gary Schwitzer who is a professor in the school of journalism
at The University of Minnesota.
Health
on the Net Foundation Code of Conduct:
The HONcode for medical and health Web sites provides a (multilingual) list
of criteria to evaluate the reliability and credibility of healthcare information
on the Internet and includes an interactive site-checker based on these principles.
HealthWeb:
Evaluated health information. Access to information and education resources
selected by librarians for relevance and quality. Includes over 60 subject
pages, over 10,000 cataloged sites with annotations, a search engine with
MeSH or keyword options, and user guides for Internet resources.
Healthy
People 2010 Objectives: A national health promotion and disease
prevention initiative by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion,
US Department of Health and Human Services.
Healthy
People 2010 Companion Document for LGBT Health (2001 PDF): Authored
by the Gay and Lesbian Medical Association, dozens of LGBT health experts
and the National Coalition for LGBT Health. Written by and for health
care consumers, providers, researchers, educators, government agencies,
schools, clinics, advocates and health professionals in all settings.
Herbal Safety inEnglish |
Español:
In an effort to provide critical evaluations of various herbs and
related products, the University of Texas at El Paso has created this important
website in order to disseminate information about research findings related
to herbal use and to provide these findings in both English and Spanish. There
are a number of very helpful fact sheets presented here, including those that
the deal with such commonly used medicinal herbs and plants, such as ginseng,
chamomile, pumpkin seeds, and St. John's Wort. The Herbal Safety site also
contains information on recent medical studies that examine the effectiveness
of such medicinal treatments (Scout Report 10/22/04).
HerbMed:
Provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs
for health. Links to PubMed/MEDLINE abstracts and other data on
medicinal herbs regarding efficacy, safety, interactions and methods
of standardization.
HIV
InSite Knowledge Base: Continually updated comprehensive, on-line
textbook of HIV disease from the University of California San Francisco and
San Francisco General Hospital. Authors of the work's more than 100 chapters
are selected from among experts who are active in research, patient care,
or policy, often in combination. Free of charge.
Hurricanes: Links to Health Information web site from the National
Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. Includes toxic chemical
and environmental health information resources for health workers and the
interested public. Links are provided to information on chemicals that may
be released as a result of the Katrina disaster and on environmental health
concerns following the wind and flood damage.
King
County Public Health Digital Library Resources
on this site include evidence-based public health information, guidelines
and best practices resources for public health workers, community organizations,
health consumers and researchers.
MedLine Plus in
English | Español
A great consumer health site brought to you by the National Library of Medicine.
Features herbal and supplement articles from an evidence-based, peer-reviewed
collection of over 100 monographs in English and Spanish. MedLine
Plus Magazine (in pdf format).
Merck Manuals:
Merck provides the content of these Merck Manuals on the web for free. Registration
is not required, and use is unlimited. The web publications are continuously
updated to ensure that the information is as up-to-date as possible.
Partners
in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce - This site
is one result of a collaboration of US government agencies, public health
organizations and health sciences libraries. Includes information on health
promotion and education, health statistics and data sets, legislation, and
more.
Public
Health InfoLinks Maintained by the Rollins School of Public
Health at Emory University, this searchable site includes links to governmental
agencies, news and media sites, reference resources, an image collection and
more.
Transcultural
and Multicultural Health Links A vast site of general resources
and information and specific ethnic and religious groups and special populations,
compiled by Ellen Bosman at New Mexico State Univ. Library. Also try
the general
resources page maintained by the same author.
World
Health News Harvard University's School of Public Health supplies
this weekly digest of health news.
HealthLinks:This
comprehensive collection of health-related resources is a collaborative project
of the Health Sciences Libraries, health sciences schools, medical centers
and administration at the University of Washington. HealthLinks Toolkits
web guides including the Care
Provider Toolkit,Patient
Toolkit, Nurse
Toolkit and more.
Reference
Tools: UW Libraries - A directory of online encyclopedias, dictionaries,
and online reference books from the UW Libraries. Some are
UW restricted.
Health
on the Net Foundation. - Includes the HONcode
Hunt and WRAPIN
(beta) search features that claim to only bring up reliable health web sites.
The HONcode is used to review and accredit web sites. Currently the HONcode
is used by over 5,000 accredited websites, covering 72 countries. View the
HONcode principles.
Health
News Review - Newspaper
and magazine health coverage is reviewed and rated on this site. This site
is published by Gary Schwitzer who is a professor in the school of journalism
at The University of Minnesota.
Health
Compass - Navigating Research Information on Health and Aging. Developed
by the American Federation for Aging Research and the Merck Institute of Aging
& Health, two non-profit organizations
Connecting
from Off-Campus or Home to
UW
Restricted Resources for CCC and UWB
For off-campus
users - you must be using the UW Libraries Proxy Server or UWICK (More
info).
Directions for UWB or
CCC students, staff and faculty to access UW
Restricted resources on this page:
Scroll up to the top of this page
and click on the "Off-Campus Access" link in the upper right-hand
corner.
This should take you to a UWNet
ID login page. Enter in your UWNet ID and Password. Click on the "Log
in" button.
After logging in it should take
you back to this page. You can tell that you are proxied in by locating "offcampus"
in your web page address at the top of the page. This means that you are proxied
in and the word "offcampus" should stay in the address for this
session.
Select CINAHL or any
UW restricted database at the top
of this page to make sure you can get in. If you can type a search into
CINAHL and click on the Search button - you have been successful! Yay!
If you are being prompted
for an OVID or another database password, or are not having success in using
the Off-Campus Access link, try and then re-test using the instructions
above. If you are still not having any luck see the section below.
If you are not having success
in using the Off-Campus Access Link
Connecting from work?
Often businesses and medical agencies have special firewall software in place
to protect their network and/or to exclude certain Internet locations (filtering).
You should talk to your local administrator about gaining access. However,
in these cases, the Off-Campus Access link may not work.
Try, and then re-test
using the instructions above.
Your name, barcode
number and email address (and phone number if you would like us to call
you)
The version and name
of the web browser you're using (for example, Firefox 1.5, IE6, Netscape
8.1, etc.). To find what version of web browser you have, open your browser
and go to Help > About Internet Explorer (or About Netscape
Navigator, About Mozilla, or About Firefox).
The name of your local
ISP (Internet Service Provider) and type of connection (DSL, cable modem,
dial up, etc.)
A description of the
problem, including all error messages.
*For off-campus users
- you must first be using the UW Libraries Proxy Server or UWICK (More
info). See the section above for more information on how to connect from
off-campus.
Checking
the UW library collections:
The
places to check to see what journal titles are in the UW Libraries collections
are listed below. If you are trying to find a fulltext article,
I recommend searching within the UW Libraries Catalog by the
full journal title to find fulltext journal links.
For
journal titles - click on "Journals searches", then do a title
or keyword search.
This database lists and searches by journal title - it does not search by
article title.
It will display for you how to access the journal in the system.
Print, microfilm and online access will be displayed.
To access UW
restricted resources found in the catalog:
Scroll
up to the top of this page and click on the "Off-Campus Access"
link in the upper right-hand corner of the catalog page.
This
should take you to a UWNet ID login page. Enter in your UWNet ID and Password.
Click on the "Log in" button.
After
logging in it should take you back to this page. You can tell that you
are proxied in by locating "offcampus" in your web page address
at the top of the page. This means that you are proxied in and the word
"offcampus" should stay in the address for this session.
Select
a UW restricted
link and you should be able to get in.
2.HealthLinks
Browse eJournals page: this
page includes the UW Health
Sciences Libraries electronic journals database, Get Passwords link, and more. This
database supplements the UW Libraries Catalog described above and contains
electronic full text journal information. Online access will be displayed.
This
database also searches by journal title and does not search by the article
title.
The
journals search feature is located at the top of the ejournals page where
the letters of the alphabet are listed.
There are two ways to search this database:
To
search by journal title: Enter in the full journal title or PubMed
abbreviated title into the Search box.
To
browse alphabetically: Click on a letter of the alphabet.
For
password protected journals or articles - please see the section below
titled, "The second level of password protection: Resources
that require additional passwords."
If the article is not available
online or at the CCC/UWB Campus Library but is available in print or microfilm
from another UW Library try our
Interlibrary Loan document delivery service. Expect 2 to 5 business
days for your request to be completed. Please ask a reference librarian
if you have any questions.
Interlibrary Loan service
is also available through our
Interlibrary Loan service. This service can take a few weeks or
longer to obtain the article. Please ask a reference librarian if
you have any questions.
Please contact
the staff at the Campus Library if you have any questions about this at (425)
352-5340.
When searching
in databases, such as PubMed or CINAHL, or in UW
restricted electronic journals you may occasionally be prompted for a password
when you try to open the full text of an article. The Health Sciences
Library website, HealthLinks,
has a table listing passwords for e-journals that we have access to. We
do not have access to all password protected journals.
The
table is the current listing of journals requiring a password. At
last count their were over 80 journals on this table. A sample of
journal titles included on the table are Nursing Outlook, The
Lancet, and Alternative Medicine Alert. If the journal
you are working with is not listed on the table - the journal title may
be restricted to the UW Seattle campus only or part of the fee-based service
through the Health Sciences Library.
Cascadia Community College Users
- please contact the Information Commons desk for access information.
If the article is not
available online or at the CCC/UWB Campus Library but is available in print
or microfilm from another UW Library try our
Interlibrary Loan document delivery service. Expect 2 to 5 business
days for your request to be completed. Please ask a reference librarian
if you have any questions.
Interlibrary Loan
service is also available through our
Interlibrary Loan service. This service can take a few weeks or
longer to obtain the article. Please ask a reference librarian if
you have any questions.
Please contact the
staff at the Campus Library if you have any questions about this at (425) 352-5340.