Global Studies

 

General Social Sciences Databases

           Expanded Academic Index - UW restricted
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Academic Search Complete - UW restricted
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology
  Web of Science - UW restricted
Science, social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes.
Return to Top
 
Global Studies Databases
  Africabib.org. Bibliography of Africana periodical literature database
A database of over 280 English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.
Africabib.org: African Women's Bibliographic Database
Index of books, articles, government documents and dissertations/theses focused on women in Africa. Coverage begins in 1986 to present. No full text.
Anthropological Literature - UW restricted
Index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.
ATLA Religion Database - UW restricted
Subject areas include: archaeology & antiquities, Bible, church history, human culture & society, missions & ecumenism, pastoral ministry, philosophy & ethics, religious studies, theology, world religions.
Biosis - UW restricted
International life science journal literature, including references found in Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Bibliography of Asian Studies - UW restricted
Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia. Covers 1971 to the present, including full data from the print editions from 1971-1991.
Education Full Text - UW restricted
Indexes articles and books on research pertaining to all levels of education, including international aspects. Partially full text.
Factiva - UW restricted
Global news and business information. Sources from 118 countries in 22 languages.
Geobase - UW restricted
Citations and abstracts for human geography (including urban, political and economic geography), physical geography (ecology, geology, geomechanics), oceanogeography and international and development studies.
Global Health - UW restricted
Database covers various aspects of human health and disease; includes communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous plants.
Global Health archive - UW restricted
Coverage: 1910-1972
Global Newsbank - UW restricted
News articles covering politics, economics, culture, business, science, technology, and the environment from Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, the Pacific Rim, Central and South America, and the Middle East.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (English version)
An annual list of more than 5000 items of particular interst to Latin American scholarship. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Citations are selected by Latin American specialists and arranged into the following categories: Anthropology, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, International Relations, Sociology, Art, Electronic Resources, History, Literature, Music, and Philosophy/Latin American Thought.
HAPI online - UW restricted
Provides citations to worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage is 1970 to the present and includes articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 social science and humanities journals.
Index Islamicus - UW restricted
A bibliography of books and index of articles in periodicals on Islam and the Muslim world.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals - UW restricted
Covers international (public and private), comparative, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia.
LegalTrac - UW restricted
Covers over 800 major English language legal journals and seven legal newspapers from 1980 forward; updated monthly.
Lexis/Nexis - UW restricted
Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.
PAIS International - UW restricted
Covers social and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
Popline - UW restricted
Reproductive health database; provides citations with abstracts of the worldwide literature in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
Pubmed
Includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
Social Services Abstracts - UW restricted
Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of community development; crisis intervention; evaluation research; family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness; professional issues in social work; social development; social work education; support groups/networks; violence, abuse and neglect; and welfare services.
Sociological Abstracts - UW restricted
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
SourceOECD - UW restricted
Includes 3 sections of publications issued by the OECD: monographs and annual reports by theme; periodicals; and statistics

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts - UW restricted
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and books related to major research themes in women's studies including, education, employment, women in the family and community, women's culture, health and gender, sex roles, social psychology of women, social policy, historical studies, and literary studies.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide - UW restricted
Indexes research providing a global perspective on wildlife information, including animal and bird species, wildlife management issues, diseases, game and hunting.
Return to Top
 
E-Journals (E-Journal collections strong in Global Studies content)

Cambridge University Press electronic journals - UW restricted

JSTOR search - UW restricted
A subject searchable index of core, multi-disciplinary, academic journals. Retrieves full text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. As a general rule, JSTOR does not contain articles published within the last FIVE years, but it is an excellent source for older articles.
  Oxford University Press electronic journals - UW restricted
  Project Muse search - UW restricted
A subject searchable index of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals online with Project Muse. Retrieves more than 5000 full-text articles.
  Return to Top
   

Maintainer of this guide: Alyssa Deutschler, Global Studies Librarian