Resources by Subject

Global Data Sources by Topic

General

Demographic Yearbook (UN) - international social indicators

Bothell/CCC Reference HA42.D45

Europa World UW Restricted
EUROSTAT, the Statistical Office of the European Union  
Global Data Locator Bothell/CCC Reference HA36.K87 1997
Human Development Report - statistics
Statistical appendices of international social indicators and ranked social index factors compiled annually by the UN.
Bothell/CCC Reference HD72.H85
International Government Information and Country Information: A Subject Guide Bothell/CCC Reference ZA5050.M67 2004
LANIC Statistics Portal
Latin American Network Information Center guide to government data sources available on the internet. Many non-English sites indexed.
OECD Factbook UW Restricted
OffStats
A searchable index of free international and government statistical sources and data sets available on the internet.
UN Common Database UW Restricted
World Development Indicators (WDI) Bothell/CCC Reference HC59.15.W656
also available online
UW Restricted
World Almanac and Book of Facts Bothell/CCC Reference AY67.N5W7
Education
EdStats Database (World Bank) - global country data
Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators  
World Education Encyclopedia UW Restricted
World Education Report Bothell/CCC Reference L10.U55W65 2000
World Data on Education - from International Bureau of Education
Environment & Sustainability
Earth Almanac Bothell/CCC Reference QB631.G65

EarthTrends (WRI) - country profiles available on 10 environmental themes

UW Restricted
Geo-Data: the World Geographical Encyclopedia
UW Restricted

Global Environmental Outlook - UNEP report. Web version provides regional fact sheets. Data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Report available from the GEO data portal.

Bothell/CCC Reference GE170.G563
OECD Agricultural Outlook
Available online via SourceOECD
UW Restricted
OECD Environmental Indicators
Available online via SourceOECD
UW Restricted
Vital Signs: the Trends that are Shaping Our Future Bothell/CCC Reference TD193.2.V58
Governance & Society (Social Indicators)
GenderStats - World Bank data by region, country, topic. Customized downloadable reports.  
Human Development Report - contains statistical appendices of international social indicators and ranked social index factors. Compiled annually by the UN.See also, HDR Statistics Bothell/CCC Reference HD72.H85
State of the World's Children
Bothell/CCC Reference HQ792.2.S73
State of the World's Cities Bothell/CCC Reference HT151.S73 2001
Statistical Handbook on the World's Children Bothell/CCC Reference HQ767.9.K38
UN High Commisioner for Refugees (UNHCR) - statistics

 

World's Women

Bothell/CCC Reference HQ1154.W95

Health
Globalhealthfacts.org - Graphics and tables of global data on HIV/AIDS, TB, Malaria, and more from Kaiser Family Foundation
Population and Reproductive Health (UNFPA) - country profiles
UNICEF - information by country
 
WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS) - most WHO technical programmes make statistical information available, and they will be linked from here. You also have the possibility to search by keywords within the WHOSIS or throughout the entire WHO site. See also, country profiles.  
Wellbeing of Nations: a Country by Country Index of Quality of Life and the Environment
Bothell/CCC Reference GE140.P74 2001

World Drug Report

Bothell/CCC Reference HV5801.W73 2000
World Health Report (WHO)
Bothell/CCC Reference W2.MW6W9wo

Worldwide Health Sourcebook: Basic Information about Global Health Issues

Bothell/CCC Reference WA39.W928 2001
Trade & Economy
Asian Development Outlook (ADB)
Bothell/CCC Reference HC411.A17
APEC Economic Outlook
Bothell/CCC Reference HC59.15.A64

Balance of Payments Statistics. Yearbook (IMF)

Bothell/CCC Reference HG3882.B37
Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific (UN/ESCAP)

Bothell/CCC Reference HC411.A19
Economic Survey of Europe (UN)

Bothell/CCC Reference HC240.A1U477
Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean (UN/ECLAC)

Bothell/CCC Reference HC125.E25
EIU.com - Includes ViewsWire, Country reports, Country profiles, and Country commerce UW Restricted
Global Development Finance (World Bank) - debt and credit positions of countries UW Restricted

Global Economic Prospects (World Bank) - an annual report organized around a single financial theme of current import.

Bothell/CCC Reference HC59.69.G58
Government Finance Statistics Yearbook
Bothell/CCC Reference HJ101.G68

IMF Country Reports - Individual country reports prepared by the International Monetary Fund. Provide background and recent financial data. Other staff reports and working papers also available, including the quarterly economic journal, Finance & Development (1996-present).

International Financial Statistics Yearbook

Bothell/CCC Reference HG3881.I623

International Trade Statistics Yearbook

Bothell/CCC Reference HF91.Y4

OECD Economic Surveys

UW Restricted
available online from SourceOECD

Trade Compliance Center - The TCC is part of the International Trade Administration (ITA), Department of Commerce. The TCC provides access to information on trade agreements, trade barriers, country market research. National Trade Estimate Reports and Trade Policy Review Summaries are available from the Country Market Research.

Trade Information Center - Provides tarriff and export information for countries and industries. Country Commercial Guides, Best Market Reports, and Market Research Reports are available from the Market Research Library search form.  
UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) - the most comphrehensive source for world trade data. UW Restricted
World Development Report
Bothell/CCC Reference HC59.7.W659
World Economic Outlook (IMF) - a biannual survey of global economic prospects and policies. Each edition highlights major economic crises and recoveries.
Bothell/CCC Reference HC59.I52
World Employment Report Bothell/CCC Reference HD5701.W57
World Investment Report
Bothell/CCC Reference HG4538.W67
World Labour Report
Bothell/CCC Reference HD4802.W65
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies UW Restricted
Maintainer of this guide: Natalie Beach, Global Studies Librarian
Last updated: March 2006