Resources by Subject

Additional Resources for Country Information

General
Britannica Online UW Restricted
Consular Information Sheets and International Travel Warnings - available for every country of the world. They include such information as location of the U.S. Embassy or Consulate in the subject country, unusual immigration practices, health conditions, minor political disturbances, unusual currency and entry regulations, crime and security information, travel restrictions, and drug penalties.
EIU.com - Includes ViewsWire, Country reports, Country profiles, and Country commerce UW Restricted
Europa World UW Restricted
Library of Congress Country Studies - "A continuing series of books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army."
OECD Economic Surveys - available online from SourceOECD UW Restricted

Portals to the World - contains selective links providing information about the nations and other areas of the world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad categories. The links were selected by Library of Congress Area Specialists and other Library staff using Library of Congress selection criteria.

U.S.Government Documents - Foreign Countries - this guide, from the Columbia University Libraries Documents Service Center, provides links to online versions of U.S. Government documents that include information on foreign countries.
U.S. State Department Background Notes - "Background Notes provide information on geographic entities and international organizations and are updated periodically. Background Notes for some countries are currently unavailable." Other State Department documents.
World Almanac and Book of Facts Bothell/CCC Reference AY67.N5 W7
Culture & Customs
Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality Bothell/CCC Reference HQ21.I68 2004
Countries and their Cultures UW Restricted
Dun & Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World Bothell/CCC Reference HF1416 .M78 2001
eHRAF: a collection of ethnography a world of cultures at your fingertips UW Restricted
Encyclopedia of Community Bothell/CCC Reference HM756.E53 2003
Ethnic Cultures of the World: A Statistical Reference Bothell/CCC Reference GN495.4.P37 1997
Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook Bothell/CCC Reference GN325.L46 1998
also available online via NetLibrary
UW Restricted
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide Bothell/CCC Reference HQ1115.G74 2003
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family UW Restricted
Marriage Customs of the World Bothell/CCC Reference GT2690.M65 2004
Refugee and Immigrant Health: A Handbook for Health Professionals On Order for Bothell/CCC Reference
Religions of the World Bothell/CCC Reference BL80.3.R45 2002
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women Bothell/CCC Reference HQ1115.R69 2000
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life Bothell/CCC Reference GN333.W67 1998
Economy, Governance & Society
Censorship: A World Encyclopedia Bothell/CCC Reference Z658.W675C38
Encyclopedia of Nationalism
Bothell/CCC Reference JC311.E53 2000
Encyclopedia of World Terrorism Bothell/CCC Reference HV6431.E53 2003
IMF Country Reports - individual country reports prepared by the International Monetary Fund. Provide background and recent financial data. Other staff reports and working papers also available, including the quarterly economic journal, Finance & Development (1996-present).  
Legal Systems of the World Bothell/CCC Reference K48.L44 2002
Oxford Companion to Politics of the World

UW Restricted

Trade Information Center - country information  
Political Handbook of the World Bothell/CCC Reference JF37.P63
World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties Bothell/CCC Reference JF2011.W67 1999
World Press Encyclopedia: A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide Bothell/CCC Reference PN4728.Q53 2003
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies UW Restricted
Education
Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators UW Restricted
International Bureau of Education - country dossiers  
International Encyclopedia of Education Bothell/CCC Reference LB15.I569 1994
World Bank Education Website - regions & countries  
World Education Encyclopedia UW Restricted
Environment & Sustainability
EarthTrends (WRI) - country profiles available on 10 environmental themes  
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History Bothell/CCC Reference GF10.E63 2004
Geo-Data: the World Geographical Encyclopedia UW Restricted
Vital Signs: the Trends that are Shaping Our Future Bothell/CCC Reference TD193.2. V58
Health
Globalhealthfacts.org - graphics and tables of global data on HIV/AIDS, TB, Malaria, and more from Kaiser Family Foundation
Population and Reproductive Health (UNFPA) - country profiles
Refugee and Immigrant Health: A Handbook for Health Professionals On Order for Bothell/CCC Reference
UNICEF - information by country
World Health Organization (WHO) - country profiles
Human Rights
Amnesty International Online Library - search by country or region  
Attacks on the Press Bothell/CCC Reference PN4751 .A88
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices - produced by the U.S. State Department  
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Bothell/CCC Reference JC571.E67 1996
Foreign Labor Trends - this series produced by the US Dept of Labor provides "information on labor institutions, practices, and recent key developments in the countries reported" for selected countries.  
Freedom in the World: Annual Survey of Political Rights and Civil Liberties Bothell/CCC Reference JC571.F66
Freedom of the Press: A Global Survey of Media Independence Bothell/CCC Reference PN4736.F74
Global Corruption Report - download part 2 for the country reports
Human Rights Watch (HRW) - information by country  
The Indigenous World Bothell/CCC Reference GN380.I95
International Child Labor Reports
International Religious Freedom Report
Trafficking in Persons Report
Maps
Goode's World Atlas Bothell/CCC Atlas G1019 .G67
Newsbank Reference Maps - general political and topographic maps of individual countries. UW Restricted
Oxford Encyclopedic World Atlas Bothell/CCC Atlas G1021.G417 2002
Perry-Castenada Collection - the map library at the University of Texas at Austin has digitized many maps in its collection which fall into the public domain. This eclectic online collection includes national and international topographic and political maps. Selected historical maps are also available.
Maintainer of this guide: Alyssa Deutschler, Global Studies Librarian