Resourcs by Subject

Reference Books: Africa and the Near East

The books listed here are all located in the Bothell/CCC Reference Stacks on the first floor of the Campus Library unless otherwise noted.
Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students UW Restricted
Africa South of the Sahara (Europa Regional Surveys of the World) DT352.A36
African Development Report HC800.A5527 2004
African Folklore: An Encyclopedia GR350 .A33 2004
African Studies Companion: A Resource Guide and Directory DT19.8.Z45 1997

Africana : the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience

DT14 .A37435 2005
Ancient Mesopotamia, 3300-331 B.C.E. D20 .W67 2001
Atlas of Apartheid G2566.E625C5 1994
Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film PN1993.5.A65 C66 2001
Companion to African Literature PR9340.C65 2000
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions BL2462.5 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of African History DT20 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture DT3 .P27 2001
Encyclopedia of Diasporas: Immigrant and Refugee Cultures Around the World JV6225.E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English PR9080.A52E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa: Archaeology, History, Languages, Cultures, and Environments DT2 .E53 1997
also available
online UW Restricted
Encyclopedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures Q124.8.E53 1997
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa DS43 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians DS113.6.E53 2000
A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Thought in English PR9080.A52H57 2005
History Atlas of Africa G2446.S1K3 1998
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide HQ1115 .G74 2003
Key Events in African History DT20.F34 2002
Least Developed Countries Report HC59.7.L397 2004
Middle East and North Africa (Europa Regional Surveys of the World) DS49 .M5
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt DT58.O94 2000
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World DS35.53.O95 2001
Political Encyclopedia of the Middle East DS62.8.P64 1999
Pop Culture Arab World! - Media, Arts, and Lifestyle DS36.88.H357 2005
Routledge Atlas of the Arab-Israeli Conflict DS109.93 G562 2002
Maintainer of this guide: Natalie Beach, Global Studies Librarian