- American
Film Institute Catalog -
UW
restricted -
This catalog offers
a national filmography documenting American films from 1893-1970. Find
films, film reviews, background information, music, and much more.
- Film
Index International -
UW
restricted -
In-depth listing of
over 115,000 films, including recent releases and international films,
biographical information on directors, actors, etc.; also includes coverage
of international film awards and prizes, and searchable plot summaries
and full cast and crew lists. Produced by the British Film Institute.
- FIAF
Internation Filmarchive Database - UW
restricted
Contains: International index to film periodicals, International index
to television periodicals, List of periodicals indexed; Treasures from
the film archives, a directory of film and TV documentation collections,
and a bibliography of FIAF members' publications
- Film
Review Annual (1981--) PN 1993.3 F463 (Reference shelves) - currently
available through 2001 (reviews of the films of 2000)
Contains reviews in their entirety, of full-length films released in major
markets in the U.S. over the course of the year. Also provides full listings
of major film awards, nominees as well as winners.
- Film
Review Index (1882-1985) Z 5784 M9 F513 1986 (Reference shelves)
A two volume retrospective bibliography of articles (and books) on selected
films. Coverage begins in 1882 up to 1985. Provides citations to reviews,
histories, and critical commentary for over 7000 films. Many of the articles
and books listed in this index are located on the UW Seattle campus -
use our Document Delivery service to request these materials.
- Film
Literature Index -
UW restricted
Citation index to film and television articles from hundreds of journals
published around the world, beginning in 1976 and 2001.
- Ethnic
Newswatch - UW
restricted
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic
and minority press in America.
- Expanded
Academic Index - UW
restricted
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and
general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the
humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Many full text
articles. Hint: For reviews type the title
of the film and motion pictures reviews.
- Index
to Black Periodicals (1985-) Print, Reference Stacks/Indexes. See
entries under "Film Reviews."
- Internet
Movie Database & MRQE movie review
query engine
Please Note: Many of the "reviews" you find on the Web are not
from "published" sources. Many are from discussion groups or
are posted by individuals. The quality will vary tremendously. See Evaluating
Information Found on the Internet for tips on evaluating web-based sources.
- Lexis/Nexis - UW
restricted
Provides access to the full text of many newspapers and magazines. Good
for recent releases (reviews and industry information).
- Readers'
Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-1985) Print, Reference Stacks/Indexes
Reviews may be listed under "motion pictures " or "moving
picture plays". If the review appeared between 1963 and 1982, you
can also try Reader's Guide Retrospective online.
- Research
Library Complete - UW
restricted
Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities,
social science and science periodicals and newspapers, from 1986 to present.
Research Library Complete searches the newspapers and periodicals sections
of the database. Natural language search feature allows you
to type your question as a sentence rather than key words. Hint:
Type the title of your film and motion pictures.
|