| |
This
page details how to engage in scholarly research in Cinema Studies, including:
First, here is an
overview of the different sources
you may choose to use for your research:
Scholarly
Sources -books,
journal articles, reference books
- Scholarly journals
usually cite their sources in the form of footnotes or bibliographies.
- Articles/books
are written by a scholar or expert in the field.
- Most scholarly
articles are "peer reviewed" or "refereed"
Film criticism
provides scholarly analyses of particular films, directors, actors, etc.
and can be found in scholarly journal articles and in books (including
collections and anthologies).
- The Finding
Books section of the Film Studies research guide will help you
find books on Cinema Studies, film criticism, and more.
- Magazine and journal
articles that provide (scholarly and non-scholarly) film criticism can
be found by searching in key databases that are linked from the Finding
Articles section of the research guide.
- The Finding
Films section of your guide allows you to locate films for viewing
and further analysis.
Primary
Sources -personal narratives, films,
government documents and statistics, speeches, recordings, etc.
- Primary sources
are contemporary (of-the-period) to your research topic or question.
- Primary sources
come from a specific time, group, or geographical location; they give
historical perspectives that may differ dramatically from more recent
research.
Use the UW
Libraries Catalog to help you find historical (and current) primary
sources (books, films, documents) in the following ways:
Popular
Sources -films, magazines, newspapers,
websites, etc.
- These publications
rarely, if ever, cite sources.
- The main purpose
of popular periodicals is usually to inform and/or entertain the reader.
- While it is important
to be able to distinguish popular from scholarly sources, popular works
may be useful to your research.
Another type of film
criticism are film reviews that can be found in popular magazines
and newspapers -- to find these articles, check out the Finding
Articles section of this guide.
Scholarly
Research in Cinema Studies
Keep in mind that
your topic and research interest will help you determine which type of
sources to use. It is important to note that often, the difference between
scholarly publications and other types of secondary sources (magazines,
newspapers, etc.) is that the former contain extensive footnotes, and/or
endnotes, as well as bibliographies that document how and why the author
makes the claims that s/he does -- and what the limits of those claims
are. While both types of publications tend to present you with lots of
interesting (or uninteresting) information, only scholarly publications
let you in on the secret of how that information was created by revealing
the disagreements among "experts" as they research similar questions.
The advantage of reading
scholarly publications is that they allow you to enter into the creative
process of knowledge making by treating you as a fellow researcher who
may want to extend, modify, and/or criticize the claims made in what you
are reading.
If your topic/time
period is new to you, or you need some quick review, use a Cinema
Studies or Film encyclopedia to establish a fuller picture of the
players, conditions, perspectives, and events related to your area of
research. You will find that it is much easier to filter out redundant
or non-pertinent information when you have armed yourself with the "big
picture," found in scholarly subject encyclopedias.
|
As
you read your scholarly sources keep these questions in mind:
- What
questions does the author pose and answer? How do these questions
contribute to an ongoing conversation about the materials at
hand? What claims does the author make?
- What evidence
does the author use to support his or her argument? The sources
and methods used must be described or otherwise available to
you as a reader to assess and evaluate.
- More
strategies for reading scholarly sources
|
As you engage in scholarly
research within the discipline of Cinema Studies, remember that
you can save yourself considerable time by following a research "trail",
by looking at
existing bibliographies or references section from key Cinema Studies
scholars and works.
Citations
A citation
is defined as information that precisely identifies a book, article, website,
video/DVD, etc. It typically includes author, title, volume, publication
information, page numbers, and sometimes an abstract. Other information
such as subject headings or index terms may also be included in a citation.
Scholars cite sources in their work so others may verify their work, build
on it, or examine their subject matter in more depth.
Before using the tools
listed below to locate cited books and articles, look at the footnote
or citation itself to determine whether you need to search for a book
or journal (examples of each are provided below).
BOOKS cited
- Look
for cited book titles and cited book authors in the UW
Libraries Catalog. Search
for the title or author listed in the footnote or bibliography.
- If
the UW Libraries does not have a copy of a title, look for it in the
Summit Catalog, a unified
database of the catalogs of academic libraries throughout Washington
and Oregon. Summit is free to current UWB students.
Example
of book citation:
Austen, Guy. 1996. Contemporary French Cinema. Manchester: Manchester
University Press.
ARTICLES cited
- Look for cited
journal titles in the UW
Libraries Catalog.
Search for the journal title (not the article title) in
the UW
Libraries Catalog
to see where and how you can access it.
- If the articles
you need are not available at the Campus Library, you can request
copies through Document
Delivery. You should receive them 3-5 days later, often times
via e-mail. There is NO CHARGE for this service for course-related
research! Please make sure to select a "pickup" location
or an option that indicates "free."
- Look
for cited article titles and cited authors of articles in a subject-specific
database. Locate subject-specific databases by browsing by subject:
UWB/CCC Campus
Library subject guide or UW
Libraries subject guide.
- Within
the appropriate subject databases, search by the author cited or
the article title.
- Finding
Articles provides information on how to identify and search appropriate
databases, locate the full-text of articles, and more.
Example
of journal article citation:
Nocenti, Annie. Writing "Being John Malkovich." Scenario:
the Magazine of Screenwriting Art 5 n3 (1999): 98-105.
DATABASES
to help you follow a research trail:
- Web
of Science UW/CCC restricted
Science, social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes.
Help
researching cited references in Web of Science.
- Expanded
Academic Index UW/CCC restricted
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly
and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study
in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
- Research
Library Complete UW/CCC restricted
Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities,
social science and science periodicals and newspapers, from 1986 to
present.
BIOGRAPHICAL
INFORMATION about scholars:
For more help,
feel free to contact me:
Amanda Hornby, Media
& Technology Studies Librarian
Email: ahornby@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-3167
Office: LB1-210A
Back
to Film Studies research guide |