Resources by Subject: Film Studies

Back to Film Studies Research Guide

Finding Films

These resources will help you locate films available through the University of Washington Libraries.

  • UW Libraries Catalog - search the University of Washington Libraries Catalog to access an extensive collection of films and videos.
    • Search tips: Search by AUTHOR if you know the director's name, by TITLE if you know the film title, or do a KEYWORD search and select "Videos, Slides, Media" from the Publication Type pulldown menu. Here are more search tips for finding films, videos, and DVDs in the UW Libraries.
  • UWB/CCC Campus Media Center - visit the Media Center on the second floor of the UWB/CCC Campus Library.
  • Educational Media Collection - A non-profit educational rental collection intended for University-level instruction. Materials have been screened and evaluated by University of Washington faculty members and acquired on their recommendation for use in campus instruction.
  • Human Rights Film Directory - This searchable film database facilitates the use of human rights documentaries and feature films in the curricula and in academic research. Search this database to find human rights videos and DVDs held in the UW Libraries.
  • IMDB: Internet Movie Database - The Internet Movie Database catalogs information on hundreds of thousands of films (documentary, theatrical, made-for-video, made-for-TV/Cable) as well as television series, miniseries, and electronic entertainment using video or voice-overs. Names of actors, directors, producers, and more are available, as well as pictures from the film.

    Finding Documentary Films

  • Documentary Educational Resources - this organization produces, distributes and promotes quality ethnographic and documentary films from around the world.
  • Documentary Works - this is a community-based organization devoted to the study of all forms of documentary
  • Docuseek Film & Video Finder - DocuSeek is a search site for independent documentary, social issue, and educational videos available in the U.S. and Canada.
  • Films on Demand - new streaming media resource!
  • Folkstreams - national website of documentary films about American folk or roots culture
Maintainer of this guide: Amanda Hornby, Media and Technology Studies Librarian