Resources by Subject

Guides *Resources by Subject

Databases -- Websites -- Reference Books

Databases

ERIC:   (UW restricted)  

The ERIC database is the world’s largest source of education information. It contains more than 1 million abstracts of journal articles and documents on education research and practice.  

 

Please note: ERIC Documents from 1996 to the present are available full-text online. Each version of the database has its own way of providing the full-text of ERIC Documents. Please check with the reference staff if you have any questions concerning ERIC Documents. Remember: Only ERIC Documents are available full-text. If the ERIC Document you need is not available full-text online, use Document Delivery to order the article from the Microforms & Newspapers Library on the Seattle campus. On the form, be sure to use the Request an ERIC Document link.

 

The ERIC database does not provide full-text to the articles. Use the link to Check for UW Holdings to determine if the journal is available online or if the UW Libraries owns the journal. Be sure to check dates of the articles. The ERIC database goes back to 1963, and most of the older materials will not be available full-text!

 

The public version of the ERIC database is available at the Educator's Reference Desk.

 

Education Full Text  (UW restricted)  provides indexing of periodicals and yearbook articles dating from 1983; abstracting of those dating from Jan. 1994; and full text of those dating from January 1996.

Expanded Academic Index  (UW restricted)   provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

PsycINFO  (UW restricted)  contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters and technical reports in the field of psychology, and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Social Sciences Citation Index:   (UW restricted)   Social Sciences Citation Index is a  multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts and cited references, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 social science journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 scientific and technical journals.

Connect to complete list of all UW databases


Websites

 U.S. Department of Education:

 

The web site for the U.S. Department of Education includes information on initiatives & priorities of the Education Department, research & statistics and publications published by the Department of Education. The site also includes information for parents, teachers and students.

National Library of Education          

The National Library of Education is the world’s largest federally funded library devoted solely to education. The Library is the federal government’s main resource center for educational information.               

Gateway to Educational Materials (GEM)

The Gateway to Educational Materials (GEM) project is a consortium effort to provide educators with quick and easy access to the substantial, but uncataloged, collections of educational materials found on various federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial Internet sites.

The Educators Reference Desk

 

 The Educator's Reference Desk provides access to AskERIC's 2,000 lesson plans, 3,000 links to online education information, and 200 question archive responses. The Educator's Reference Desk also provides a search interface to the ERIC Database, providing access to over one million bibliographic records on educational research, theory, and practice.

 

Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction for the State of Washington

The OSPI web site includes information on the Washington Assessment of Student Learning (WASL) and the Essential Academic Learning Requirements (EALR).

Multicultural Pavilion

The Multicultural Pavilion offers educators and students resources relevant to multicultural education. The Pavilion’s Teacher’s Corner provides classroom resources including a Multicultural Song Index, Children’s Literature and Cultural Awareness Activities. Other features at Multicultural Pavilion are an International Project, Discussion Forums and many links to other web sites devoted to multicultural educational issues.

The Children's Literature Web Guide

The Children’s Literature Web Guide is a comprehensive web site of resources related to books for children and young adults. The site includes awards lists, resources for parents, teachers & writers, publisher information and authors’ pages.


Reference Books

Encyclopedia of education          

Bothell/CCC Reference:   LB15 .E47 2003

 

Education and sociology : An encyclopedia                               

Bothell/CCC Reference:   LC189.95 .E38 2002 

 

Higher education in the United States : An encyclopedia            

Bothell/CCC Reference:   LA225 .H54 2002 

 

Testing and standards : A brief encyclopedia                             

Bothell/CCC Reference:   LB3051 .W4966 2002

 

Encyclopedia of American education                                        

Bothell/CCC Reference:   LB17 .U54 2001

 

Encyclopedia of multicultural education                                                            

Bothell/CCC Reference:   LC1099.3 .M58 1999

 

Handbook of research on multicultural education                                               

Bothell/CCC Reference:   LC1099.3 .H35 1995

 

International encyclopedia of education                              

Bothell/CCC Reference:   LB15 .I569 1994

 

Review of research in education                                                                                         

Bothell/CCC Reference:   LB1028 .R4

 

Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in education                                                   

Bothell/CCC Reference:   Z286.E3 C37

 

Mental measurements yearbook                                                                                       

Bothell/CCC Reference:  Z5814.P8 M43

Curriculum Reference Books

A to Zoo : subject access to children's picture books                                                 

Bothell/CCC Curriculum Reference:  Z1037 .L715  2001

 

Black authors and illustrators of books for children                                                                                                                                       and young adults : a biographical dictionary                                                                                                                                      Bothell/CCC Curriculum Reference:  Z1037 .R63 1999

 

Latina and Latino voices in literature for children and teenagers                                                                                                       Bothell/CCC Curriculum Reference:  Z1229.H57 D3 1997

 

The New Press guide to multicultural resources for young readers                                                                                                          Bothell/CCC Curriculum Reference:  Z1037 .N42 1997  

Bothell/CCC Children’s Curriculum Materials, including Curriculum Reference and Children’s Literature, are on the third floor of the Library.  Please ask for assistance at the Information Commons if you have trouble locating materials.

Search UW Libraries Catalog for other books.


 

Guides *Resources by Subject