Finding Biographical Information
Literary Biography Sources:

Online Reference Sources

  • Literature Criticism Online UW Restricted
    Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography and Contemporary Authors.
  • Literature Resource Center UW Restricted
    Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, playwrights, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes full-text articles from literary journals, critical essays, plot summaries, author portraits and an encyclopedia of literary terms.
  • Literature Online (LION) UW Restricted
    Reference, biographical, criticism and texts of nearly 14,000 writers.
  • African Writers Series UW Restricted
    Texts and biographies of over 200 contemporary African writers.    

 

Encyclopedias, Companions, Bio-Critical Works

  • African American Authors: 1745-1945 (PS153 N5 A32 2000 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • African American Dramatists (PS338 N4 A69 2004 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • African Writers (PL8010 .A453 1997)
  • American Authors: 1600-1900 (PS21 K8 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Asian-American Novelists (PS153 .A84 A825 2000 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Asian-American Playwrights (PS338 A74 A9 2002 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States (PQ7420.2 K3 1989 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Black Literature Criticism (PS153 .N5 B556 1992)
  • British Authors: before 1800 (PR103 K9 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • British Authors: after 1900 (PR105 K9 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Contemporary African American Novelists (PS374 N4 C658 1999 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Contemporary American Women Fiction Writers (PS374 W6 C66 2002 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Contemporary American Women Poets (PS151 C665 2002 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Contemporary Authors (Z1224 .C622)
  • Contemporary Dramatists (PR106 C66 1999 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism (PN771 .C59)
  • Contemporary Novelists (PR881 C69 1996 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Contemporary Poets (PR603 C6 1996 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Contemporary Women Poets (PS151 C67 1998 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Contemporary World Writers (PN51 .C6235 1993)
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography (PN41 .D484 1978)
  • Encyclopedia of British Women Writers (PR111 .E54 1988 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Encyclopedia of Continental Women Writers (PN481 .E5 1991 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature (PQ7081.A1 E56 1997 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century (PN771 .E5 1999 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • European Writers (PN501 .E9 1983)
  • Feminist Companion to Literature in English (PR111 F45 1990b UWB/CCC Reference)
  • The Harlem Renaissance and Beyond: 100 Black Women Writers, 1900-1950 (PS153 N5 R65 1989 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Hispanic Literature Criticism (PQ6039 .H57 1994)
  • Historical Dictionary of Lesbian Literature (PBN491.3 M55 2006 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Latin American Dramatists since 1945 (PQ7082 D7 H37 2003 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Latino and Latina Writers (PS153 H56 L39 2004 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Modern British Women Writers (PR116 M63 2002 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Native American Literatures (PS153.I52 .W47 1999 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Native North American Literature (PS508.I5 .N38 1994)
  • Nineteenth-Century American Women Writers (PS217 W64 N56 1997 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (PN761 .N56)
  • The Oxford Companion to English Literature (PR19 .D73 1985 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • The Oxford Companion to Women’s Writing in the United States (PS147 .O94 1995 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Poetry Criticism (PN1010 .P62)
  • Short Story Criticism (PN3373 .S387)
  • Short Story Writers (PN3373 S398 1997 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Twentieth-Century Authors (PN771 K86 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (PN771 .G27 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • UXL Graphic Novelists (NC1305 P46 2007 UWB/CCC Reference and online UW Restricted)
  • Women Writers in the United States (PS147 D38 1996 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • World Authors: 1950-1970 (PN451 W3 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • World Authors: 1970-1975 (PN451 W32 UWB/CCC Reference)
  • World Authors: 1975-1980 (PN451 W672 1985 UWB/CCC Reference)

Online: