Reference Books
- American National Biography (CT213
A68 1999 UWB/CCC
Reference)
- Dictionary of American Biography
(E176 D56 1964 UWB/CCC Reference)
- International Who's Who (CT120 I5 UWB/CCC Reference)
- Scribner Encyclopedia of American
Lives (CT213 S37 1998 UWB/CCC Reference)
- Who's Who in America (E663 .W56 UWB/CCC Reference)
Databases
- American
National Biography
ANB is the premier
biographical resource for American history with biographies of more than 17,000
men and women whose lives have shaped the nation.
- Biography
and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI)
BGMI
is an index to biographical information contained in reference books containing
multiple biographies. To determine
if the library holds a title referenced in BGMI, consult the UW Libraries
Catalog. If the reference title isn't located at the UWB/CCC Campus Library,
you may use our document
delivery service to request a copy of the desired pages from another library.
- Lexis/Nexis
The
"People" section of Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe includes a search option
for Biographical Information with an emphasis is on business leaders and politicians.
- Oxford
Dictionary of National Biography
50,000
biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond,
from the earliest times to the year 2001.
- Who's
Who in the 20th Century
From Albert Einstein
to the Marx Brothers, this authoritative reference book provides biographies
of men and women from different countries and cultures who have contributed
to the thought as well as the action of the twentieth century.
- Biography Plus Illustrated
UWB/CCC
Campus Only - This
database includes over 95,000 full-text biographical entries from H.W. Wilson
reference publications, including Current Biography.
- World
Biographical Information System
The WBIS "compiles biographical articles from printed reference works
published from the 16th to the 21th century and reproduces these original
documents as facsimile images on the screen. Thus, WBIS Online features biographical
profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions
worldwide" and offers short biographies on more than 4 million people.
Internet
When consulting
sources of biographical information, particularly on the Internet, always keep
in mind some Basic
Criteria for Evaluating Sources.
|