Policy Studies: Reference

Reference Books for Policy Studies & Government Research

The books listed here are all located in the Bothell/CCC Reference Stacks on the first floor of the Campus Library. For quick browsing of the reference shelves, go directly to the H & J sections.
 
 
General Reference
Biographical Dictionary of Public Administration
JA61 .W54 2001

 

CQ Researcher - UW Restricted Current coverage of all aspects of Congressional activity, including the status of House and Senate bills and resolutions, information on hearings, the political parties and their leadership, congressional votes on major bills, election analysis and more. A great place browse for controversial, legislative issues. 
(Topics Section) H35.E35
CQ Weekly
(Topics Section) JK1.C15
  See also CQ.Com - UW restricted
  Congressional Digest  Current public policy issues presented in "Pro & Con" format. Authors include members of Congress, corporate spokespersons, regulators, public-interest groups, or representatives of trade or professional associations, among others.
(Topics Section) JK1.C65
  Encyclopedia of American Public Policy
JK468.P64 J33
 

Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal, and Policy Issues in Biotechnology

TP248.16.E539 2000
 

Encyclopedia of Interest Groups and Lobbyists in the United States

JK1118.N47 2000
  International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration Concepts, practices, issues, and theories that inform and define contemporary public policy making, analysis, evaluation, management, and implementation.
H97.I574
  International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
H41 .I58 2001 v.1-26
  New Vocabulary for Governing in the 1990s: A Lexicon for Governors' Policy Advisors.
JK2408.B65 1994
  Oxford Reference Online: Politics and Social Sciences - UW restricted Electronic versions of Oxford reference books.  
  Return to top
 
State & Local Reference Books
 

Book of the States

JK2403.B6
  Directory II: Legislative Leadership, Committees & Staff by the Council of State Governments
JK2495.S688
  Legislative Manual (Washington State)
JK9271.A2
  Municipal Year Book
JS301.M82
  Sine Die: A Guide to the Washington State Legislative Process
JK9271.S44
  State and Local Government Political Dictionary
JK2408.E44
  Washington Legal Researcher's Deskbook
KFW75.W37 2002
  Washington State Yearbook
JK9201.W383
  Return to top
   
Handbooks
Evaluating Research Articles: From Start to Finish
(Writing Section) Q180.55.E9G57 2001
The Focus Group Research Handbook
H61.28.E36 1999
Handbook of Criminal Justice Administration
HV7419.H37 2001
Handbook of Comparative Public Administration in the Asia-Pacific Basin
JQ24 .H36
Handbook of Economic Development
HD75 .H3155
Handbook of Global Environmental Policy and Administration
GE170 .H364
Handbook of Global International Policy
JZ1242 .H36
Handbook of Global Social Policy
HN17.5.H336

Handbook of Organization Theory and Management [available to via netLibrary -- first-time users must create an account online]

Handbook of Public Administration [Available to via netLibrary -- first-time users must create an account online]
Handbook of Public Finance [Available to via netLibrary -- first-time users must create an account online]
Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration
JF1338.A2 H34
Information-Finding and the Research Process: A guide to the sources and methods for Public Administration and Policy Sciences
JF1351.S52
Research Methods in Public Administration and Nonprofit Management
(Writing Section) JF1338.A2M38 2002
  Return to top
   
Maintainer of this guide: Alyssa Deutschler Policy Studies Librarian