|
| General
Coverage Databases |
| |
CQ.com
on Congress- UW
restricted 3 concurrent users |
|
CQ
researcher -
UW restricted |
|
Current
Contents - UW restricted
Contains
citations and table of contents of leading journals in the sciences,
social sciences, arts and humanities. |
|
Expanded
academic index -
UW restricted
Provides
indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general
interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities,
social sciences, and science and technology |
| |
JSTOR
search -
UW restricted
A
subject searchable index of journals online with JSTOR. Retrieves
full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back
to the 1800's. As a general rule, JSTOR does not contain articles
published within the last 5 years, but it is an excellent source for
older articles. |
|
LEXIS-NEXIS
academic -
UW restricted
Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts
and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information,
legal, biographical, and reference resources |
|
Lexis-Nexis
Congressional -
UW restricted
Provides
daily updated information, including full text of bills starting in
1989, public laws starting in 1988, committee reports starting in
1990, House and Senate documents starting in 1995, Congressional Record
starting in 1985, Federal Register starting in 1980, National Journal
starting in 1977 and other government information |
|
Lexis-Nexis
Statistical -
UW restricted
Provides
abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000
U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources
from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations
from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text
or web links provided for some citations |
|
ProQuest
databases -
UW restricted
Provides
access to all ProQuest databases, including ABI/Inform Global, National
Newspapers, Research Library Complete, Washington State newsstand,
ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, Oregonian, and
ProQuest Medical Library |
|
SourceOECD
- UW restricted
Includes 3 sections of publications issued by the OECD: monographs
and annual reports by theme; periodicals; and statistics |
|
Return to Top |
|
|
| Subject
Specific Databases |
| |
Ciao
Columbia International Affairs Online -
UW restricted
"Columbia
International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be a comprehensive
source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes
a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers
from university research institutes, occasional papers series from
non- governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects,
and proceedings from conferences. It also has more than 160 links
to international affairs centers, institutes, and resources; U.S.,
international, and foreign government sites; environmental studies
Web pages; and news media services"--From the HOLLIS Plus information
screen |
|
Econlit
-
UW restricted |
|
PAIS
International -
(Public Affairs Information Service) - UW
restricted
Covers
social and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals,
government documents, books, and other sources |
|
Philosopher's
index -
UW restricted
Provides
indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy
and related interdisciplinary fields published in the US and the Western
World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for US materials, and
1967 to the present for non-U.S. references |
|
PsycINFO
- UW restricted
Contains
citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books,
and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological
aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing,
sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology,
business, and law |
|
Social
services abstracts -
UW restricted
Indexes
and abstracts articles in the fields of community development; crisis
intervention; evaluation research; family and social welfare; gerontology;
policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness; professional
issues in social work; social development; social work education;
support groups/networks; violence, abuse and neglect; and welfare
services |
|
Social
work abstracts -
UW restricted
Social Work Abstracts is the primary index to journal articles published
in the social work and social welfare field. Also included are selected
dissertations. Updated quarterly |
|
Sociological
abstracts -
UW restricted
Contains
abstracts of serial literature in sociology and related disciplines
from approximately 2,500 journals |
|
Return
to Top |
|
|
| Law
Databases |
|
AccessUN
, Index to foreign legal periodicals, 1985 to present, Global NewsBank
(1996-Current), NewsBank NewsFile Collection (1991-Current), NewsBank
Retrospective (1970-1991) -
UW restricted
Covers
law of countries other than the United States, the British Isles,
and the British Commonwealth, 1985 to the present; updated quarterly |
| |
Current
index to legal periodicals. -
UW restricted |
| |
Global
legal information network
The
Global Legal Information Network (GLIN) maintains and provides a
database of laws, regulations, and other complementary legal sources
|
|
LegalTrac
- UW restricted
Covers
over 800 major English language legal journals and seven legal newspapers
from 1980 forward; updated monthly |
|
Lexis-Nexis
Congressional -
UW restricted
Provides
daily updated information, including full text of bills starting in
1989, public laws starting in 1988, committee reports starting in
1990, House and Senate documents starting in 1995, Congressional Record
starting in 1985, Federal Register starting in 1980, National Journal
starting in 1977 and other government information |
|
Thomas:
Legislative Information on the Internet
The
website for the U.S. Congress. Use this site to track bills and get
legislative histories. The Congressional Record is also posted to
this site and it is updated daily. |
| |
Return
to Top |
| |
|
| Key
Journals |
| |
Governance
(available
through
Ingenta)
- UW restricted
Provides
a forum for work in the field of international executive politics,
primarily from a comparative perspective. |
| |
Governing
: the states and localities (current
issues in Bothell/CCC periodicals, latest 5 years only, from 2001,
some articles available from Lexis-Nexis
Academic - UW restricted)
A
Congressional Quarterly magazine covering emerging trends and issues
in policy and politics at the state and local government level. Topics
include economic development, social policy, labor, law enforcement,
education, technology, and bureaucracy. Graphs, charts, color illustrations,
and photographs are well placed throughout the magazine. |
| |
Journal
of Policy Analysis and Management: The journal of the Association
for Public Policy Analysis and Management (current
issues in Bothell/CCC periodicals,
microfilm 1996-2001 BOT-487)
The
focus of this title is on the issues and practices of interest to
policy analysts, public managers, economists, researchers, and consultants.
Sections address topics related to basic issues, industry studies,
curriculum, and case notes, followed by lengthy signed book reviews
on policy analysis, education, and international economic policy and
related topics. |
| |
Policy
Studies Review Annual (latest
five editions in Bothell/CCC Reference; earlier editions in Bothell/CCC
Stacks H1 .P73)
Presents
research and analysis in a wide variety of policy areas, including
defense and national security, health care cost containment, work
and labor information, the environment, immigration, and poverty. |
| |
Public
Administration Review (1988+
available from Proquest
- Research Library Complete) -
UW restricted
Produced
by the American Society for Public Administration, this journal provides
coverage of administrative issues facing urban communities. Recent
articles explore school finance reform, administrative reform, burnout
in public agencies, and the ethics of leadership and council-manager
relationships in large cities. In addition to a selection of four
or five articles, there are irregularly appearing features. An opinion
item may be included under the heading, "Oyez, Oyez." There may also
be commentary, responses to previous articles under "Communication,"
and short reviews of reports and documents. |
| |
State
Legislatures (1991+
available from Expanded
Academic ASAP) -
UW restricted
This
national publication about state government and policy is published
by the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL). This bipartisan
organization was founded in 1975 to assist state lawmakers in keeping
abreast of current state legislative issues and to ensure state legislatures
a cohesive voice at the federal level. Each issue contains a regular
column entitled "StateStats," which provides statistics on a wide
range of issues including state lotteries, tax increases, and term
limits for lawmakers. The "StateLine" column provides a brief synopsis
of pertinent legislative news in various states. Each issue contains
about six feature articles on various aspects of state and federal
legislation and its significance within and among the 50 states. |
| |
Vital
Speeches (current
2 years in Bothell/CCC periodicals, v.67+ in microfilm BOT-491, 1988+
available from ABI/INFORM
Complete - UW restricted)
The publishers of Vital Speeches believe that the important addresses
of the recognized leaders of public opinion constitute the best expressions
of contemporary thought in America, and that it is extremely important
for the welfare of the nation that these speeches be permanently recorded
and disseminated. (Magazine Values) |
| |
Return
to Top |
| |
|
| Electronic
Journals |
| |
Annual
reviews in the social sciences -
UW restricted
Includes:
Energy and the Environment; Political Science ; Public Health; and
Sociology. |
| |
Electronic
journal packages available through UW libraries
Listing
of the various e-journal packages available through UW libraries.
This is an excellent resource for browsing subject areas. To find
a specific journal, search the catalog for the title of the journal
you are looking for. |
| |
Directory
of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Directory
of Academic (refereed) publications freely available on the internet.
Students may want to start with the Law
and Political Science journals. |
|
Ingenta
- UW restricted
Integrated
database with UnCover. Article summaries of over 20,000 publications |
| |
JSTOR
search -
UW restricted
A
subject searchable index of journals online with JSTOR. Retrieves
full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back
to the 1800's. As a general rule, JSTOR does not contain articles
published within the last 5 years, but it is an excellent source for
older articles. |
|
Political
science & public affairs e-journals in UW libraries
A
list of political and public affairs e-journals available through
UW libraries |
|
Project
Muse -
UW restricted
A subject searchable index of the Johns Hopkins University Press journals
online with Project Muse. Retrieves more than 5000 full-text articles.
Includes political and policy studies subject heading. |
| |
Science
Direct -
UW restricted
Current
issues of scholarly journals published primarily in the sciences. |
| |
Return
to Top |
|