|
The
UW Libraries
Catalog contains over 1.9 million titles held by more than 20
branches of the UW Libraries. UW Library materials may also be searched
through Summit, which also allows you to search a combined catalog
of 22 million titles held by 31 colleges and universities in Washington
and Oregon.
|
|
In
general, a good search strategy is to start broad and move to the
specific, e.g., begin your research by searching the UW Libraries
Catalog and then move on to the databases. However, if your topic
involves recent events, or issues, or new fields, there may not
be any books yet; in which case, you would probably go straight
to the databases. Even if your topic involves recent events, you
may still want to search the catalog for theoretical or historical
background, or for similar events or topics.
|
|
Please
note that the UW Libraries Catalog does not use public policy
as a subject heading; search instead for political planning.
We do not use public policy management; search instead for
policy sciences. A good practice is to find useful books
using keyword searching, then explore the subject headings listed
for those books to find more resources on your chosen topic.
|
|
Books
in the UW Bothell/CCC Campus Library are organized on the shelves
using the Library of Congress Classification System (LC). You may
want to browse the shelves in the sections pertinent to Policy Studies.
On the third floor, the Hs (Social Science), the Is
(Political Science), & the Js (Law) may be of particular
interest to you. For more information on finding books using LC
Classification, use the Library
of Congress Classification guide, or consult the LC charts on
the ends of bookshelves in the collection.
|
|
Browsing
the shelves, in the general stacks (3rd floor), in the reference
section (1st floor), and in the periodicals section (1st floor)
can be an extremely helpful technique for getting to know the sources
in your subject area. Familiarizing yourself with LC
classification can greatly improve the efficiency of your browsing.
|
|
If
you want to expand your search beyond the UW
collections and the Summit
collections, The OCLC
Worldcat database (UW Restricted)
provides access to catalog records and holdings information for
material owned by libraries around the world. If you find a book
in Worldcat unavailable through UW Libraries or Summit, you may
request it through Interlibrary
Loan / UWorld Express. More information on borrowing books from
other libraries can be found in the Document
Delivery guide. (Scroll down to heading 2 to find information
on borrowing books.)
|
|
Information
on books in the reference collection here at the UW Bothell/CCC
Campus Library can be found in the Reference
Books Subject Guide. Reference books are a excellent starting
place for new research.
|