Environmental Science News

Finding Newspaper Articles for Environmental Science Research

Local News Sources

Washington State Newsstand - UW restricted   Indexing and full-text from selected Washington State newspapers, including the Seattle Times, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Puget Sound Business Journal, Spokesman-Review (Spokane), News Tribune (Tacoma), and The Columbian (Vancouver).

UW Libraries Washington State Newspaper subscriptions - Browse by newspaper title, location, or language.

Pacific Northwest regional newspaper and periodical index -1850's to Present. Some online.

United States News Sources

Alt-PressWatch - UW restricted  Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

Ethnic newswatch - UW restricted   Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.

Lexis-Nexis - UW restricted 
Extensive array of mostly full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources. Includes both US and International news sources

National Newspapers - UW restricted 
This database provides coverage of major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, Boston Globe and the Atlanta Journal/Constitution

Proquest Newspapers - UW restricted 
Includes Chicago tribune, Los Angeles times, Oregonian, and other major U.S. national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and selected regional/state newspapers; coverage includes National newspapers and Washington State newsstand

Facts.com - UWB/CCC on-campus access only
Provides full access to Facts on File World News Digest (1980 to present), Facts on File News Archive (1950-1980), and selected access to the World Almanac, The World Almanac Encyclopedia, Reuters News Service, Issues and Controversies On File, Today's Science on File and Editorials on File.

Newsbank Newsfile (1991-current)- UW restricted  Includes full-text articles from over 500 US news sources. [Source List]

Newsbank Retrospective (1970-1991) - UW restricted  A selection of articles from US newspapers, documenting major events in contemporary American history. [Source List]

UW Libraries National Newspaper subscriptions - Browse by newspaper title, location, or language.

International News Sources

Proquest Newspapers - UW restricted 
Includes Chicago tribune, Los Angeles times, Oregonian, and other major U.S. national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and selected regional/state newspapers; coverage includes National newspapers and Washington State newsstand

Global NewsBank (1996-current) - UW restricted  A database of news articles dealing with global issues.  Includes both US and International sources.  Provides English-language translations of non-English news sources. [Source List]

World News Connection - UW restricted   World News Connection includes thousands of full text articles originating from hundreds of foreign news sources. It is the internet successor to Foreign Broadcast Information Service. The content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. The database begins with 1994 and is updated daily. The site is available for use by UW affiliated researchers. All texts are in English.  Provides English-language translations of non-English news sources.

Factiva (formerly Dow-Jones) - UW restricted 
Provides access to over 8,000 sources (newswires, newspapers, magazines and trade publications) from 118 countries in 22 languages. The database is particularly useful for business research, since it also provides access to company and industry comparison reports, company profiles, SEC filings and stock prices for U.S. public companies.  Includes both US and International news sources.

CBCA Current Events - UW restricted Full-text access to more than 50 Canadian news sources. Includes radio and television broadcast transcripts, as well as articles from print sources. The focus is on topics of current popular interest.

UW Libraries International Newspaper subscriptions - Browse by newspaper title, location, or language.

Historical News Sources

New York Times (1851-2001) UW restricted
One of ProQuest's two historical newspaper databases, the NYT (1851-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from its backfile.

The Times Digital Archive (1788-1985) UW restricted
The Times (of London) Digital Archive includes facsimile images of individual articles or complete newspaper pages, including advertisements and illustrations. Searches can be limited to particular sections of the newspaper. The archive currently holds more than 7.6 million articles.

More historical newspapers (and magazines)

More Newspaper Articles

The UW Libraries, Microforms & Newspapers Department provides links to even more ways to find newspaper articles.

Maintainer of this guide: