Statistics in the News: Research Guide

Databases -- Commercial News Sites & Search Engines -- Public Opinion Data


Full-Text News Databases

Keywords for limiting to research and numbers in the News:

Media stories often cite statistics and make reference to research reports on a wide variety of topics. To pull these numbers out of the news databases and corporate cites below, try adding the following terms to your topical search terms. 

These terms are often used in the media when reporting on the results of a quantitative study or report:

statistics, study, report, research, clinical trial, survey, findings, evidence, results, analysis, correlation, percent, percentage, average, mean, empirical, data, data set, margin of error, scientists, researchers.

 

Dow Jones - Only available from library workstations
Access to the full-text of articles drawn from over 3,000 domestic and international business publications, newspapers and newswires.  

Ethnic NewsWatch - UW restricted
This database covers ethnic, minority and native publications currently published in the United States. It also includes selected international publications. Articles are full text and can be printed out or downloaded. Covers articles published from 1991 to the present and is updated monthly. Can be searched in either English or Spanish. Articles originally published in Spanish are not translated. All other material is in English.

Lexis/Nexis - UW restricted
An extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources. 

National Newspapers - UW restricted
This newspaper database provides coverage of major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, Boston Globe and the Atlanta Journal/Constitution

Washington State Newsstand - UW restricted
Indexing and full-text from several Washington State newspapers, including the Seattle Times, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Puget Sound Business Journal, Spokesman-Review (Spokane), News Tribune (Tacoma), and The Columbian (Vancouver).

World News Connection - UW restricted
World News Connection includes thousands of full text articles originating from hundreds of foreign news sources. It is the internet successor to Foreign Broadcast Information Service. The content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. The database begins with 1994 and is updated daily. The site is available for use by UW affiliated researchers. All texts are in English.

Use of the UWICK or Libraries' Proxy Server is required when connecting to UW restricted databases from home. For more information about these services, see the Campus Library webpage on Connecting from Home.

Commercial News Sites, Compilation Services, and Search Engines

ABC News -- http://abcnews.go.com/index.html

CBS News -- http://www.cbsnews.com/sections/home/main100.shtml

CNN -- http://www.cnn.com/

Economist -- http://www.economist.com/ 

Google.com -- http://www.google.com/ 

Healthlinks News -- http://healthlinks.washington.edu/news/

ITN -- http://www.itn.co.uk/ 

MSNBC News -- http://www.msnbc.com/news/

New York Times -- http://www.nytimes.com/

Seattle Times -- http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/home/

Yahoo News -- http://dailynews.yahoo.com/ 


Public Opinion Data

European Public Opinion -- http://europa.eu.int/comm/public_opinion/

Gallup Organization -- http://www.gallup.com/

Harris Interactive -- http://www.harrisinteractive.com/

New York Times Polls -- http://www.nytimes.com/library/national/index-polls.html/

Odum Institute's Public Opinion Poll Question Database -- http://www.irss.unc.edu/data_archive/pollsearch.html

Pew Research Center -- http://people-press.org/

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research -- http://www.ropercenter.uconn.edu/

Washington Post Polls -- http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/politics/polls/vault/vault.htm