Statistics: International Trade and Development

Reference Sources -- Databases -- Major Statistical Producers -- More Information


Reference Sources

Asian Development Outlook (ADB)
Bothell/CCC Reference  call# HC411.A17

APEC Economic Outlook
Bothell/CCC Reference call# HC59.15.A64

Balance of Payments Statistics. Yearbook (IMF)
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HG3882. B37

Country Commercial Guides - CCG's are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis. 1996-present available full-text online.  

Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices - Modeled on the Department of State annual reports on country human rights practices, the reports are intended to provide a single, comparative analysis of the economic policies and trade practices of countries with which the United States has significant economic or trade relationships. Because of the increasing importance of, and interest in, trade and economic issues, these reports are prepared to assist members of Congress in considering legislation in the areas of trade and economic policy. 1993 - Present available online. 

Demographic Yearbook (UN) - international social indicators.
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HA42. D45

Earth Almanac
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# QB631 .G65

Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific (UN/ESCAP) 
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HC411.A19]

Economic Survey of Europe (UN)  
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HC240.A1 U477

Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean (UN/ECLAC)
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HC125.E25

Global Data Locator
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HA36. K87 1997

Global Development Finance Online  (World Bank)  - debt and credit positions of countries. UW Restricted

Global Economic Prospects (World Bank) - An annual report organized around a single financial theme of current import. Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HC59.69.G58

Government Finance Statistics Yearbook
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HJ101. G68

Human Development Report - international social indicators. 
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HD72. H85

IMF Staff Country Reports - Individual country reports prepared by the International Monetary Fund. Provide background and recent financial data. 1997-1999 available full-text online as pdf files. Files can be large and may take awhile to download. Other staff reports and working papers also available, including the quarterly economic journal, Finance & Development (1996-present).

International Financial Statistics Yearbook
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HG3881. I623

International Trade Statistics Yearbook
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HF91. Y4

OECD Agricultural Outlook
    Available online via SourceOECD UW Restricted

OECD Communications Outlook
    Available online via SourceOECD UW Restricted

OECD Economic Surveys - The Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development prepares these narrative reports for all member countries and for the countries of Central and Eastern Europe covered by the Centre for Co-operation with Economies in Transition. These lengthy reports analyze economic trends and growth and address issues of current importance to the financial state of each country. Available in the HC's in the Bothell Reference Area.
    Available online via SourceOECD UW Restricted

OECD Environmental Indicators
    Available online via SourceOECD UW Restricted

OECD Information Technology Outlook
    Available online via SourceOECD UW Restricted

OECD Science, Technology and Industry Outlook
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HC79. T4
    Available online via SourceOECD UW Restricted

OECD Science, Technology and Industry Scoreboard
   

Pacific Islands Reports - The Bank of Hawaii publishes economic profiles of the Pacific Islands prepared for the Bank by their Economic Research Center. Reports include: Western Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, New Caledonia, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau, Solomon Islands, and Vanuatu. Choose "Pacific Island Reports" or "Report Index" from the navigation bar for a complete listing of reports.

State of the World's Children
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HQ792.2. S73

State of the World's Cities
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HT151.S73 2001

Statistical Abstract of the World
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HA154. S83 1997

Statistical Handbook on Technology
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# T21. B47 1999

Trade Compliance Center - The TCC is part of the Market Access and Compliance (MAC) unit of the International Trade Administration (ITA), Department of Commerce. The TCC provides access to two major sources of recent trade information. The Trade Agreements section is searchable by keyword and contains country and product indexes. In the Country Market Research section, data from four major reports  is accessible by keyword, country and region. The reports indexed are the Country Commercial Guides, Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices, National Trade Estimate Reports, and Trade Policy Review Summaries

Vital Signs
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# TD193.2. V58

World Development Indicators UW Restricted
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HC59.15. W656

World Development Report 
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HC59.7. W659

World Drug Report
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HV5801. W73 2000

World Economic Outlook (IMF) - A biannual survey of global economic prospects and policies. Each edition highlights major economic crises and recoveries. 
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HC59. I52

World Education Report
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# L10. U55W65 

World Employment Report 
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HD5701. W57

World Investment Report 
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HG4538. W67

World Labour Report
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HD4802. W65

World Resources (WRI) -- see also, EarthTrends, WRI's environmental information portal.  
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HC59. W667


Databases for International Trade and Development Statistics

ABI/INFORMUW restricted
Search 1,000 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.

EconLitUW restricted
Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature.

Expanded Academic Index - UW restricted
Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Geobase - UW restricted
Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts for human geography (including urban, political and economic geography), physical geography (ecology, geology, geomechanics), oceanogeography and international and development studies.

Lexis/NexisUW restricted
Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.

PAIS International - UW restricted
Covers social and public policy literature from over 1,400 periodicals and thousands of government documents, books, and other sources.

Research Library Complete - UW restricted
Includes abstracts and full-text articles covering scholarly and general interest periodicals and newspapers in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, from 1986 to present.

SourceOECDUW restricted
Includes 3 sections of publications issued by the OECD: monographs and annual reports by theme; periodicals; and statistics.

Statistical Universe - UW restricted
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Full text or web links provided for some citations.

UN Statistics Common Database - UW restricted
UNSTATS provides selected series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.


Major Producers of International Statistics - Organizational Links

African Development Bank (ADB) -- http://www.afdb.org/

Asian Development Bank (ADB) -- http://www.adb.org/

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) -- http://www.apecsec.org.sg/

Business Information Service for the Newly Independent States (BISNIS) -- http://www.bisnis.doc.gov/

European Union (Europa) -- http://europa.eu.int/index-en.htm

Inter-American Development Bank (IADB) -- http://www.iadb.org/

International Monetary Fund (IMF) -- http://www.imf.org/

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) -- http://www.oecd.org/

Economic Commission for Europe (UN/ECE) -- http://www.unece.org/Welcome.html

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UN/ECLAC) -- http://www.eclac.cl/default.asp?idioma=IN

Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN/ESCAP) -- http://unescap.org/

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) -- http://www.undp.org

World Bank -- http://www.worldbank.org/

World Health Organization (WHO) -- http://www.who.int/en/

World Trade Organization (WTO) -- http://www.wto.org/ 


More Information

Finding Information on a Foreign Country

Government & Policy Studies

Human Rights Research Guide

Health Statistics

UW Government Publications Guide to International Statistics