Health Statistics

Health Data Sources

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials
Directory of all state and U.S. Territory Health government health sites. A non-profit organization representing the state and territorial public health agencies of the United States, the U.S. Territories, and the District of Columbia.
http://www.astho.org/state.html

Best of Health: Demographics of Health Care Consumers
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# WA900 .AA1 W452 2000

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention - data, statistics and information on diseases provided by the US government.  Includes CDC Wonder, which searches for public health information and numerical data sets about disease and related subject areas. 
http://www.cdc.gov/

Health at a Glance (OECD) - international health status indicators.
    Available electronically via SourceOECD UW Restricted

Health Data Tools and Statistics - this site is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.  Includes sections on Health Statistics, Public Health Data Sets and Public Health Infrastructure Data.
http://phpartners.org/health_stats.html

Health, United States, 2000
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# WA900 .AA1 H434 2000

Healthlinks: Statistics - health and medicine statistical sources from the University of Washington's Health Sciences Libarires.

Healthy People, 2010
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS4217

MEDLINEplus:  Health Statistics
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/healthstatistics.html

National Center for Health Statistics - from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.

National Center for Health Statistics
Provides US public health statistics including diseases, pregnancies, births, aging, and mortality....
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/

Portrait of Health in the United States: Major Statistical Trends & Guide to Resources
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# WA900 .AA1 P853 2001

Statistical Record of Health and Medicine
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# WA16 .S7973 1995


Washington State Cancer Registry - includes regional statistics from 1994-1998.

Washington State Vital Statistics
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# HA691. V57

Wellbeing of Nations: a Country by Country Index of Quality of Life and the Environment
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# GE140. P74 2001

World Health Report (WHO)
http://www.who.int/whr/

Worldwide Health Sourcebook: Basic Information about Global Health Issues...
Bothell/CCC Reference, call# WA39. W928 2001


Databases for Health Statistics

CINAHL - Cumulative index to nursing & allied health literature, indexing over 700 journals from 1982 on.

Expanded Academic Index - provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

PAIS International - covers social and public policy literature from over 1,400 periodicals and thousands of government documents, books, and other sources.

Research Library Complete - includes abstracts and full-text articles covering scholarly and general interest periodicals and newspapers in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, from 1986 to present.

PubMed - The National Library of Medicine's search service to over 11 million citations in Medline and related databases. 

Statistical Universe - provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Full text or web links provided for some citations.


More Information

Resources by Subject -- Health & Medicine