![]() |
Campus Library Home Site Index
|
UWB
UWS
UWT CCC |
Statistics in Education |
||
Library Contact
Venta Silins
425-352-5241
vsilins@bothell.washington.edu
United States
National Assessment of Educational Progress is often called the 'Nation's Report Card.' The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the only nationally representative, continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. NAEP provides comprehensive measure of students' learning at critical junctures in their school experience.
ChildStats.gov is
sponsored by the Forum on Child and Family Statistics. This web site provides
access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their
families, including population and family characteristics, economic security,
health, behavior and social environment, and education. The site also includes
America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, the annual
report on the status of the nation's children. The
U.S. Census Bureau has data related to educational
attainment, field of training, school costs, school enrollment, and education by
other characteristics.
USA Statistics in Brief
is a supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States which provides national summary
data including information on education.
The U.S. Department of
Education: Research & Statistics shares the latest research findings,
statistics, and information on education with parents, teachers, school board
members, policy makers, and the general public in order to help state and local
decision makers improve their schools.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal
entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the
United States and other nations. Check out the What's New section for the latest in
events, developments, and updates to the NCES website or to search the What's
New Archive.
The NCES web site includes links to:
The Condition of Education 2000
Digest of
Education Statistics
Student Data Handbook for Elementary, Secondary, and Early Childhood Education: 2001 Update
International
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
provides global and
internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture
and communication. UNESCO - Educational For All
2000 Assessment was the most in-depth evaluation of basic education ever undertaken. Conducted
in more than 180 countries, the Assessment took stock of the current status of
basic education in each country and evaluated the progress achieved during the
1990s since the World Conference on Education for All. International Archive of Education Data acquires, processes, documents, and
disseminates data collected by national, state or provincial, local, and private
organizations, pertaining to all levels of education in countries for which data
can be made available. The
NCES International Program/Survey: International provides insights into
the educational practices and outcomes of the United States by comparing
them with those of other countries. This is achieved through the International
Education Statistics program at NCES, which provides statistical information
comparing the educational experiences and trends in other countries to those of
the United States. Studies include the Civic Education Study, Progress in
International Reading Literacy Study (PIRLS), and Trends in International
Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS). Statistics Canada provides information on Canadian social and economic
statistics and products. It includes a link to statistics for the
Canadian education system and Learning Resources.

Last updated 12/05/03 by V. Silins
Education & Reference Librarian
Campus Library
Serving Cascadia Community College and
University of Washington, Bothell