Statistics


General Sources
Lexis-Nexis Statistical - UW restricted Provides statistical information from US government (federal and state) sources, as well as international organizations.
SourceOECD - UW restricted

A database of Organization for Economic Cooperation & Development (OECD) publications, composed of three sections (books, periodicals and statistics). Searchable by keyword or publication title.

Statistical Resources on the Web

Statistics portal provided by the University of Michigan Libraries. Sources are arranged by topic, but can also be searched by keyword.

UN Statistics Division Common Database

UNCDB provides selected series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.
Return to Top
Data Sets
CSSCR Data Archive The Center for Social Science Computational Research on the UW Seattle campus maintains a local archive of data (including local census data) that is accessible by UW and Cascadia students and faculty.
Data Sets in the UW Libraries Includes censuses and other statistical resources as well as geographic information system data sets
Washington State Geospatial Data Archive (WAGDA) Includes datasets from the City of Seattle, King & Snohomish counties, as well as Washington state agencies. Some of the data is UW restricted.
Return to Top
Washington State Statistics
Puget Sound Regional Council (PSRC) Data The Regional Council is a clearinghouse for regional data and publications on population, housing, economy, and transportation in the central Puget Sound region.
Washington State Data Book Economic, demographic and social statistics for Washington State.
Washington State OFM Forecasting The Washington Office of Financial Management portal to statistics on population, health, human services, K-12 & higher education, economics & fiscal information and other topics. There are many links off this page to excellent data sources on Washington State.
Washington Trends Washington Trends provides brief statistics and graphs that chart the elements which shape public and private life in Washington.
Return to Top
US Government Statistics Sources
Bureau of Justice Statistics Key statistics about crime, law enforcement, and the justice system presented by the U.S. Department of Justice
Bureau of Labor Statistics A comprehensive source for statistics related to US labor and employment.
Fedstats The primary portal to U.S. Government statistics resources, provides links to stats sources from over 100 agencies.
Google US Government Search Use Google to search US state and federal government sites.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present - UW restricted US statistics from colonial to modern times.
National Center for Education Statistics The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
National Center for Health Statistics The NCHS provides access to a wide range of statistics and data sets in the fields of medicine and health. NCHS is a division of the Center for Disease Control (CDC).
U.S. Census Bureau The main source of demographic information on the United States. There are many ways of accessing data from the Census, good places to start include the Gateway to the 2000 Census and the American Factfinder.
Return to Top
Statistics Guides by Subject UW Seattle Subject Guides
Business Statistics Mathematics Research Library
Education Statistics Statistics Subject Guide
Health Statistics Mathematics & Applied Mathematics Guide
International Trade & Development Government Publications
Social Indicators  
Statistics in the News
Return to Top
Statistics in Print
Demographic Yearbook (UN) Reference HA42. D45 - international social indicators.
Earth Almanac Reference, QB631 .G65
Geographic Reference Report
Reference HD6983. G38
Human Development Report Reference HD72. H85 - international social indicators
State of the World's Children Reference HQ792.2. S73
State Profiles: the Population and Economy of each U.S. State Reference HA203. S734
Statistical Abstract of the United States Reference HA202. U56 --  Also available online --
World Almanac and Book of Facts Reference, AY67 .N5W7
Reference, HC59.7. W659 -- Also available online --
World Development Report Reference, HC59.7. W659 -- Also available online --
World Resources Reference, HC59. W667
World's Women: Trends and Statistics Reference, HQ1154.W675
Return to Top

Maintainer of this guide: Alyssa Deutschler, Policy Studies Librarian