PSYCH 101: Principles of Psychology

Books & Reference  Journal Articles  Websites & Subject Guides 
Research & Writing Tools  Getting Help

Brain Model Project Research Guide


Books & Reference Resources
Books tend to cover a topic in more depth and can be geared toward scholarly or general audiences. 

Reference resources such as subject encyclopedias are a good place to start for an overview of a topic, and to get background information.

Reference Sources for Psychology web guide of print and online reference sources useful for finding background information and definitions of Psychology topics.

return to top

Journal Articles

Journal articles (also called academic, scholarly, refereed, or peer-reviewed articles) are written for a scholarly audience--they give evidence for the researcher's claims (such as bibliographies of sources and research data). You can find them in subject specific databases such as PsycInfo. Generally you want to incorporate these types of articles into your own academic writing.

Popular or general interest articles in publications such as Psychology Today and The New York Times tend to give an overview of a topic to a general audience. You can find magazine and newspaper articles in general interest databases such as Expanded Academic and ProQuest, along with scholarly articles.

General / Interdiscliplinary databases:
  • Expanded Academic Index - UW/CCC restricted
    Scholarly and general interest (popular) articles in the social sciences and other areas.
    • click on "refereed publications" to limit to scholarly articles
  • JSTOR search - UW/CCC restricted
    Full-text scholarly articles in the social sciences and other areas.
  • ProQuest Databases - UW/CCC restricted
    Scholarly and general interest (popular) articles in the social sciences and other areas.
    • use the "scholarly journals," "magazines," and "newspapers" tabs after your keyword search
Psychology databases:
  • PsycARTICLES - UW/CCC restricted
    Full text scholarly articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
  • PsycINFO - UW/CCC restricted
    Citations of academic literature in psychology and related fields
Connect to UW/CCC restricted resources from off campus

return to top

Websites & Subject Guides

Professional and government websites such as the American Psychological Association and the National Institute of Mental Health can be good places to find scholarly articles and research data, as well as reliable information geared toward consumers.

  • PsychCrawler searches the websites of several professional psychological/mental health associations and government institutes.

Selected Psychology Websites

Library Subject Guides

return to top

Research & Writing Tools

return to top

Getting Help

If you have any questions or need help with your research, please feel free to contact me! You can also ask a question at the Campus Library.

Suzan Parker, Social Sciences Librarian
Email:  sparker@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-3540
Office: LB1-310E

return to top