Reference Works

REFERENCE BOOKS

The reference books are on the first floor near the computers in the Information Commons. These are wonderful sources to help you decide on a topic as well as to find information on your topic.

The UW Libraries use the Library of Congress Call Number System. You will see a copy of it on many of the book stacks. Especially when searching for reference books, the LC Call Number System can help you find your area of interest. For example, in the following list of reference books, I didn't use the UW Libraries Catalog. I used the LC Classification System to help me find them. Since there are many more books in the General Stacks on the third floor, you would want to use the Catalog, but browsing can still be one way of searching for resources.

This is not a complete list of reference books. You'll find other good books next to these. To find these books, use the UW Libraries Catalog to search for the TITLE, or use the call number system to help you find them.


D. History: General and Old World

D. General History

Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social and Military History

The Cold War, 1945 - 1991

International Conflict: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Conflicts and Their Management, 1945 - 1995

Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II

The Cold War Reference Guide: A General History and Annotated Chronology with Selected Biographies

DD. Germany

The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich

The Nazis

Who's Who in Nazi Germany

DK. Russia, Poland

Encyclopedia of Russian History

The Soviet Union and Eastern Europe

Chronology of 20th - Century Eastern European History

DS. Asia and the Middle East

East Asia and the United States: An Encyclopedia of Relations Since 1784

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History

South East Asia: A Historical Encyclopedia, from Angkor Wat to East Timor

Political Leaders of Modern China: A Biographical Dictionary

Dictionary of the Politics of the People's Republic of China

E. History: United States

American Decades Primary sources

American Decades

Cold War Culture: Media and the Arts, 1945-1990

Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations

Encyclopedia of Cuban-United States Relations

Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement

Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the Twenty-first cCentury

Black Women in America

Twentieth-century America: A Primary Source Collection from the Associated Press

Cold War America, 1946 to 1990

Encyclopedia of the Great Depression

F. History: Americas

Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics

Encyclopedia of Cuba: People, History, Culture

HQ. The Family, Feminism, Sexuality

The Encyclopedia of Women's History in America

From Suffrage to the Senate: An Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics

Handbook of American Women's History


Contact us if you have any questions!

Chelle Batchelor
Librarian
425-352-5251
mbatchelor@uwb.edu

Molly Flaspohler
Librarian
425-352-3467
mflaspohler@uwb.edu

Danielle Rowland
Librarian
425-352-3451
drowland@uwb.edu

Venta Silins
Librarian
425-352-5241
vsilins@uwb.edu