DATABASES
The UW Libraries subscribes to more than 150 databases covering a vast array of disciplines. Remember that UW Restricted databases are not available off campus. You must use these databases while at the Bothell Campus Library.
The databases below have many full-text articles. If you can't find the full-text of an article, please consult a librarian. For more resources in history, please see History - General & Global and History - United States.
The Historical New York Times 1851 - 2001 (UW Restricted) provides the full text of the New York Times from 1851-2001. This is a great resource if you are looking for primary resources on a historical topic. It's a huge database, so you might want to narrow your search by date range. For example, if you were searching for NY Times articles on Malcolm X, you might want to narrow the date range from the mid-1950s to the mid-1960s. You'll still retrieve lots of articles, but you will be in the date range of Malcolm X's life.
Expanded Academic Index (UW Restricted) provides indexing, abstracting, full-text articles and images from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. Spans all academic disciplines from arts and humanities to social sciences, science, and technology. Many of the articles are available full-text.
Proquest (UW Restricted) provides scholarly and general interest sources in business, news, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science.
Primary Sources in History web site provides access to many historical newspapers and magazines including The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, The Chicago Defender and Time Magazine. Most of these resources are (UW Restricted) .
Contact us if you have any questions!
Chelle Batchelor
Librarian
425-352-5251
mbatchelor@uwb.eduMolly Flaspohler
Librarian
425-352-3467
mflaspohler@uwb.eduDanielle Rowland
Librarian
425-352-3451
drowland@uwb.eduVenta Silins
Librarian
425-352-5241
vsilins@uwb.edu