Technical Writing Research Guide (Cioch)

Getting Started | Finding Books | Finding Articles

Writing and Research Tools | Related Research Guides | Contact the Librarian

  Getting Started at the Library
 
  Finding Books
 
  Finding Articles
 

Selected Technical Communication Journals: 

The following is a brief list of journal titles related to technical writing and communication. Search within these titles that are available online and are directly linked below: 

Selected Databases:

Search these databases for articles, scholarly and popular, on a variety of Computer Science, technological, policy, legal topics, and more:

  • ABI/Inform - UW restricted
    Extensive indexing and full text for business and management-related periodicals.
  • ACM Digital Library - UW restricted
    Citations and full-text of Association for Computing Machinery articles from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
  • Compendex - UW restricted
    Citations with abstracts to worldwide literature in engineering and technology, excluding patents; Internet version of Engineering index, covering 2600 journals.
  • Expanded Academic Index - UW restricted
    Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
  • IEEE Xplore - UW restricted
    Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards.
  • InfoTech Trends - UW restricted
    Formerly called Computer Industry Forecasts. InfoTech Trends indexes statistics and forecasts published in computer and telecommunication trade publications.
  • INSPEC - UW restricted 
    Indexes and abstracts serials, conference proceedings, standards and reports in the physical sciences, electrical engineering & computer science.
  • LEXIS-NEXIS academic universe - UW restricted
    Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.
  • Research Library Complete - UW restricted
    Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities, social science and science periodicals and newspapers; 1986 to present. Divided into Newspapers and periodicals sections.

    News Coverage of CSS current topics:

    Search these databases for articles relating to current technological and societal topics, company information, and to access thousands of full-text newspaper articles:
  • ProQuest Newspapers UW restricted
    Includes Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles times, Oregonian, and other major U.S. national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and selected regional/state newspapers.
  • National Newspapers UW restricted
    Covers many major U.S. newspapers and other U.S., international, and specific interest papers. Most articles are full text.

 

  Writing and Research Tools
 

Resources for Critical Evaluation of Texts:

The following links are tools to help you think critically about the articles you select for your research assignments.

  Related Research Guides
 
  Contact the Librarian
 

If you have any questions or need help with your research, you can contact us, or feel free to contact me individually!

Amanda Hornby
Media & Technology Studies Librarian
ahornby@uwb.edu
425-352-3167
Office: LB1 210A

return to top of guide