CMST 203 Media in U.S. Society Guide

Find Books, Media, & Dissertations Find Journal & News Articles

UW Libraries Catalog
find books, media, and online resources

Find films in the UWB/CCC Media collection

Communications-related reference books

Dissertation Abstracts - uw/ccc restricted
More than 1 million full-text dissertations are available to download in PDF format. Full text dissertations include most from 1997 with a strong retrospective collection for older works.

Journalism and Mass Communication Abstracts - uw/ccc restricted
Includes abstracts of dissertations and theses accepted for graduate degrees in mass communication programs from more than 50 universities in the United States and Canada.

 

Communication & Mass Media Complete - uw/ccc restricted

Academic OneFile (Gale) - uw/ccc restricted
(Replaces Expanded Academic)

JSTOR - uw/ccc restricted                

Access World News - uw/ccc restricted

Alt-PressWatch - uw/ccc restricted      

Ethnic Newswatch - uw/ccc restricted

Connect to databases from home - UW Net ID

Database search strategies

Media Resources and Community Media Research & writing tools

Gender, Ethnicity, & Race in Mass Communication
key online resources for this topic

Television Studies - key online resources

Journalism - key online resources for journalism studies and journalists

Popular Culture - key online resources

Community media collection
Local newspapers located on the first floor of the Library include: Real Change, Colors NW, and many more!

 

Style Guides for Citing Sources
includes how to cite sources in APA, MLA, Chicago style and more

Research and Citation Guides

CCC Writing Center

How to Evaluate Information

Academic Integrity and Plagiarism

Useful Links: Related Subject Guides Information for New Students

Communication and Media Studies subject guide

Speech Communication, UW Seattle

Film Studies

Ethnic Studies

Gender Studies

U.S. History Guide

Finding Images Guide

 

 

New CCC Student Checklist

Connect to databases from off campus

Get your UW Net ID

Activate your library account

Electronic Reserves

Library photo tour on Flickr

Get help from your communications librarian

Dani Rowland: 425.352.3451 drowland@uwb.edu

Email is usually the best way to reach me. If you email during my normal work hours (9-5:30) I'll usually reply the same day.

Live chat help - staffed by librarians from the UW and other US colleges and universities 24/7

Other ways to get help

last updated 2/12/10