| |
This is a sampling
of the books located in the Reference Collection on the first floor
of the Campus Library that will help you with your CMST 150 assignments.
These titles are great resources for finding background information on
most CMST 150 topics, as well as introducing you to different aspects
of your topics. The sources are divided into categories that encompass:
Multicultural
and Ethnic Groups, American Culture, Gender and Sexuality, and Society,
Culture, Human Rights.
Online Reference
Resources
- Access a variety
of online
encyclopedias available through the UW Libraries system
- The Gale
Virtual Reference Library
is a browsable collection of online reference books that helps make
research easy!
- Tip: Search
the entire reference library by keyword from the "basic search"
box.
- Oxford
Reference Online
provides access to online reference books in a wide variety of subject
areas
- Tip: Use the
"quick search" feature to search the whole reference collection.
Print Reference
Resources: Multicultural topics | American Culture | Gender | Human Rights/Globalization
Multicultural
and Ethnic Groups
- Keywords in Multicultural
Interventions: A Dictionary [Location: BF637.C6 K493 1999]
- Handbook of North
American Indians [Location: E77 .H25]
- The Hispanic Presence
in North America From 1492 to today [Location: E169.1 .F375 1991]
- Encyclopedia of
Multiculturalism [Location: E184.A1 .E58 1994]
- Handbook of Hispanic
Cultures in the United States, vol. 1-4 [Location: E184 S75 H365 1993]
- Atlas of Hispanic-American
history [Location: E184.S75 O287 2001]
- The African-American
Atlas : Black History and Culture--an Illustrated Reference [Location:
E185 .A79 1998]
- Encyclopedia of
African American Culture and History [Location: E185 .E54 1996]
- Encyclopedia of
Racism in the United States [Location: E184.A1 E773 2005, 3 volumes]
- Racial and Ethnic
Relations in America [Location: E49 .R33 2000, 3 volumes]
- Encyclopedia of
Community [Location: HM756 .E53 2003]
- Encyclopedia of
Cultural Anthropology [Location: GN307.E52 1996]
American
Culture
- Encyclopedia of
the American Religious Experience [Location: BL2525 .E53 1988]
- Dictionary of Twentieth
Century Culture [Location: E169.12 .A418 1994]
- Encyclopedia of
Contemporary American Culture [Location: E169.12 .E49 2001]
- American Immigrant
Culture [Location: E184 .A1 A63448 1997]
- Encyclopedia of
Urban America [Location: HT123 .E5 1998]
- Encyclopedia of
American Immigration [Location: JV6465 .E53 2000]
- Encyclopedia of
American Social History [Location: HN57 .E58 1993]
Gender
and Sexuality
- Encyclopedia of
Women and Gender [Location: HQ1115 .E43 2001]
- Handbook of American
Women's History [Location: HQ1410 .H36 2000]
- The Women's Movement
Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism [Location: HQ1115 .W644
2006, 2 volumes]
- Encyclopedia of
Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures [Location: HQ16
.E53 2003, 2 volumes]
- Encyclopedia of
Homosexuality [Location: HQ76.25 .E53 1989]
- Handbook of Children
and the Media [Location: HQ784 .T4 S533 2001]
Society,
Human Rights, and Globalization
- The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science: a user's guide to its terms [Location: JA61 .B43 1999]
- International Encyclopedia
of Human Rights [Location: JC571 .M3243 2000]
- Encyclopedia of
the United Nations and International Agreements [Location: KZ4968 .O84
2003, 4 volumes]
- Great Debates at
the United Nations: An Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues 1945-2000 [Location:
KZ4968 .G67 2001]
- Globalization : encyclopedia of trade, labor and politics [Location: JZ1318 .G57864 2006, 2 volumes)
- Reader's Guide
to the Social Sciences [Location: H41.R4 2001]
- A Concise Glossary
of Cultural Theory [Location: HM101.B775 1999]
- A Dictionary of
Cultural and Critical Theory [Location: HM101 .D527 1996]
- The Blackwell Dictionary
of Modern Social Thought [Location: H 41 .B53 2003]
- International Encyclopedia
of the Social & Behavioral Sciences [Location: H41 .I58 2001]
Not finding what you
need? Be
sure to look at the Library
of Congress Classification System and browse the reference stacks
in the subject areas that are relevant to your topic.
If you
have any questions or need help with your research, please feel free to
contact me! You can also ask
a question at the Campus Library.
Amanda Hornby,
Media & Technology Studies Librarian
Email: ahornby@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-3167
Office: LB1-210A
Back
to CMST 150 Guide
|