Help with Citations

Are you struggling to manage research citations or compile a bibliography? We have tools that will do the work for you! Many of our databases will automatically generate citations based on common citation styles such as MLA, APA, and Chicago. There are also free tools on the web to help with citations.

Remember! Always check these automatically generated citations! Machines are far from perfect, and the citations they generate sometimes have errors.

Databases Instructions for Generating Citations
Proquest Databases UW/CCC restricted
When emailing an article in ProQuest Databases, generate MLA, APA, or Chicago citations through the Citation Style drop-down menu.
Expanded Academic Index UW/CCC restricted
Gale Virtual Reference UW/CCC restricted

In these databases, generate MLA or APA citations by clicking the hand icon under the document you want to cite. A new Generate a Citation window will open. Click the radio button for MLA or APA, then click Save.
CQ Researcher UW/CCC restricted
In each document record in CQ Researcher, the CiteNow! button above the abstract will launch a window with an APA citation. In this window, you can click buttons to generate Bluebook, Chicago, and MLA Style citations as well.
PAIS International UW/CCC restricted
ATLA Religion Database
UW/CCC restricted
ERIC
UW/CCC restricted
Index Islamicus
UW/CCC restricted
Communication Abstracts
UW/CCC restricted

Click the Save, Print, Email button to generate a citation of any abstract in these databases. In the email screen, change the Choose a bibliographic style: drop-down menu to select the correct style.
Facts.com UW/CCC restricted

From inside a document, click the Print/Citation icon at the top-right of the page. APA and MLA citations will be generated. Copy and paste a citation from the browser into your bibliography.
These databases are being subscribed to on a trial basis through 06/30/2007

Business Source Premier UW/CCC restricted
Library, information science & technology abstracts UW/CCC restricted
International bibliography of theatre & dance with full text UW/CCC restricted

From inside a document, click the E-mail icon below the green bar at the top of the page. Click the Citation Format drop-down menu and select the appropriate citation style. Email yourself the document, copy the citation, and paste it into your bibliography.

Web-based citation generators
  • New! RefWorks UW restricted
    "RefWorks is an online service used to create personal databases of bibliographic citations, made available to you though the University of Washington Libraries. It allows you to import, store, and share your research citations and automatically formats your bibliographies into whatever style you need (APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more)."
  • Citation Machine: an easy tool to help with MLA, APA, and Chicago citations
  • SourceAid: sign up for a free account to help with MLA, APA, and Chicago citations
  • EasyBib: MLA citations only

Back to Style Guides page

Need more help? Ask a librarian.

Remember! Always check these automatically generated citations! Machines are far from perfect, and the citations they generate sometimes have errors.