Nutrition 101 Library Web Guide

Human Nutrition - Page address: http://library.uwb.edu/guides/cccnutrkp.html
Instructor: Linda Kosa-Postl
Getting Started Online Reference Books
Search Terms for the article databases or catalog
Finding Articles
Finding Books: (Topics Collection, Culture, Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Food Industry and Obesity books) Questions?

Getting Started

Possible search terms to use for your topic are:

Keywords Subject Headings to try in  the UW Libraries Catalog
food guide pyramid Nutrition -- Requirements
functional foods, Nutraceuticals Functional foods
sugars, sugar or sweeteners Sugars, Sugar, Sucrose, Glucose
body weight and health Body Weight
obesity obesity
Words to "and" into your search to find debate materials: against, debate, controversy, dispute, proponent  

Finding Articles: Search the following periodical databases to find journal articles on your topic. Linda has approved these databases for you to use to find scholarly articles. See Linda's recommended journal titles below each database description.

How to track down the full text of health related articles.

Quick database links (all UW/CCC Restricted): Web of Science, Global Health, Expanded Academic ASAP

Health Topics Databases:

MORE DATABASES:  Human Nutrition Library Guide; UW Libraries Databases page; Nursing, Health and Medicine Library Resource Guides; Countries of the World Library Guide


Finding Books
  The UW Libraries Catalog provides you with access to titles between the Bothell, Seattle and Tacoma campuses. Through the UW catalog you can also search the Summit catalog and gain access to items at academic libraries throughout WA and OR. If we don't own a book or if it's checked out, you still might be able to get copy from another library.

To see what is currently available at our library - I suggest performing a KEYWORD search for NUTRITION and limiting the location to the  BOTHELL/CCC CAMPUS LIBRARY in the catalog.  A TITLE search for FOOD and limiting the location to the BOTHELL/CCC CAMPUS LIBRARY in the catalog can also be fruitful (no pun intended).  You can also access several electronic titles (online books and government documents) this way.  Click on the link below to go to the catalog.  

Books from our collection - a sample. Book lists organized by the year of publication and call number.

Topics Collection sample (Information Commons, 1st floor of the Library)
This collection contains books on topics that lend themselves to an argument of some kind. Many contain overviews of the issue, along with summaries of the key positions (and the individuals who promote or refute them). Two series that cover a broad range of subjects are "Opposing Viewpoints" and "Contemporary World Views."

  • Obesity: opposing viewpoints. WD 210 O23 2006
  • Addiction. HV5825: opposing viewpoints. A647 2005
  • Tobacco and smoking: opposing viewpoints. HV5733 .T62 2005
  • Epidemics: opposing viewpoints. WC 503.7 E64 2005
  • Food-borne illnesses.  WC 268 F68695 2004  from the At Issue series.
  • Health: opposing viewpoints. WB 130 H4342 2004
  • Alcohol: opposing viewpoints. HV5035 .A458 2004
  • Endangered oceans: opposing viewpoints. QH541.5.S3 E535 2004
  • Taking sides. Clashing views on controversial issues in food and nutrition. QU 145 T136 2004
  • Genetic engineering : opposing viewpoints. QH438.7 .G413 2004 
  • Genetically engineered foods. TP248.65.F66 G453 2004 from the At Issue series.
  • Global resources : opposing viewpoints. HD75.6 .G56 2003 
  • An aging population : opposing viewpoints.  HQ 1064.U5 A6353 2002 
  • Eating disorders : opposing viewpoints.  WM 175 E14619 2001
  • Anorexia.  WM 175 A6147 2001 
  • Agricultural crisis in America : a reference handbook.  HD 1761 H56 1999

Culture Books sample: available on the third floor and some are on reserve for your class. Reserve books are listed in the UW Libraries Catalog under Course Reserves and may be searched by course or professor

Food and Culture, Food Through History, and the Food in American History Series Titles: available on the third floor or they may be on reserve for your class.

  • Jewish American food culture. GT2853.U5 D48 2008
  • Latino food culture. TX716.A1 J36 2008
  • Food culture in France. TX719 .A237 2007 
  • Food in the ancient world. TX353 .A47 2006
  • Food in the United States, 1820s-1890. TX355 .W55 2006   
  • American Indian food. E98.F7 B47 2005
  • Food culture in Mexico. GT2853.M6 L66 2005
  • Food in colonial and federal America. TX714 .O466 2005
  • Food culture in the Caribbean. TX716.A1 H67 2005
  • Food culture in South America. TX716.A1 L68 2005
  • Food culture in Russia and Central Asia. TX723.3 .M2356 2005
  • Food culture in Spain. TX723.5.S7 M43 2005
  • Food culture in Sub-Saharan Africa. TX725.A4 O77 2005
  • Food culture in the Near East, Middle East, and North Africa. GT2853.M628 H45 2004
  • Food in medieval times. TX641 .A33 2004
  • Food culture in Great Britain. TX717 .M387 2004
  • Food culture in Italy. TX723 .P37 2004
  • Food culture in China. TX724.5.C5 N45 2004
  • Food culture in India. TX724.5.I4 S38 2004
  • Food In Early Modern Europe. GT2853.E85 A43 2003
  • Food culture in Japan. TX724.5.J3 A88 2003

Circulating books sample. Available on the third floor.

  • Advanced medical nutrition therapy practice. WB 400 S628a 2009
  • Renewing America's food traditions : saving and savoring the continent's most endangered foods. TX715 .R42157 2008
  • The gluten-free nutrition guide. WD 175 T475g 2008
  • Fish forever : the definitive guide to understanding, selecting, and preparing healthy, delicious, and environmentally sustainable seafood. TX747 .J63 2007
  • Beans: a history. QK495.L52 A567 2007
  • The omnivore's dilemma : a natural history of four meals. GT2850 .P65 2006
  • The revolution will not be microwaved: inside America's underground food movements. TX357 .K38 2006 
  • The way we eat: why our food choices matter. TX357 .S527 2006 
  • Everyone eats: understanding food and culture. GT2850 .A6644 2005 
  • A sociology of food & nutrition: the social appetite. GT2855 .S63 2004 
  • Food and culture. TX357 .K58 2004 
  • Garlic and oil: politics and food in Italy. TX723 .H455 2004
  • How we eat: appetite, culture, and the psychology of food. GT2850 .R37 2003 
  • The Backbone of History: Health and Nutrition in the Western Hemisphere.  E 59.F63 B33 2002 
  • The Ethics of Food: A Reader for the Twenty-first Century.  TP 248.65.F66 E86 2002 
  • Salt : a world history.  TN 900 .K96 2002 
  • Vegetarianism: movement or moment?  TX 392 .M417 2002 
  • Healing logics: culture and medicine in modern health belief systems. GR880 .H43 2001
  • The Mediterranean diet: constituents and health promotion.  QT 235 M49367 2001
  • Health issues in the Black community.  WA 300 H433855 2001 
  • Culture of the fork: a brief history of food in Europe.  TX 641 .R436 2001 
  • Minority health in America : findings and policy implications from the Commonwealth Fund minority health survey.  WA 900 AA1 M666 2000 
  • Food: A Culinary History from Antiquity to the Present.  TX 353.H525 1999
  • Chiles to Chocolate: Food the Americas Gave to the World. SB 176.A48.C45 1992 
  • Traditional plant foods of Canadian indigenous peoples : nutrition, botany, and use.  E 78.C2 K92 1991 
  • Sushi.  TX 747 .Y67 1990 

    Want to see a list with more titles?

Reference books sample. Located in the Information Commons on the first floor of the library. This sample list is organized by the publication year.

  • Advanced nutrition and human metabolism. QU 145 G874a 2009
  • The Gale encyclopedia of diets: a guide to health and nutrition. (2 volumes)  QU 145 G151 2008
  • Encyclopedia of global health. (4 volumes) WA 13 E5566 2008
  • The Facts on File encyclopedia of health and medicine. (4 volumes) WB 13 F142 2007
  • The Oxford dictionary of sports science & medicine. QT 13 O98 2006  (also available online - UW/CCC restricted)
  • Sports nutrition: vitamins and trace elements. QT 235 D781s 2006 
  • Diet and nutrition sourcebook. QU 145 D5652 2006    
  • American Dietetic Association complete food and nutrition guide. QU 145 D988a 2006 (also available online - UW/CCC restricted)
  • Dictionary of nutraceuticals and functional foods. QU 145.5 E75d 2006 
  • The food encyclopedia: over 8,000 ingredients, tools, techniques, and people. TX349 .R564 2006 
  • Encyclopedia of junk food and fast food. TX370 .S63 2006    
  • Health, United States 2006. WA 900 AA1 H435 (also available online)
  • The Gale encyclopedia of medicine. WB 13 G151 2006 (5 volumes)(also available online - UW/CCC restricted)
  • Concise dictionary of modern medicine. W 13 S4545c 2006
  • Gray's anatomy for students.  QS 4 D762g 2005   
  • Grant's atlas of anatomy.  QS 17 A284g 2005    
  • The encyclopedia of cancer. QZ 13 T939e 2005
  • Encyclopedia of food and culture (REF) GT 2850 .E53 2003 (3 vols.)
  • Encyclopedia of Foods: A Guide to Healthy Nutrition  (REF) TX349 .E482 2002 
  • Encyclopedia of Women's Health Issues (REF) WA 13 G285e 2002
  • Worldwide Health Sourcebook (REF) WA 39 W928 2001

Online Reference Books are listed lower down on this page as well.

Want to see a list with more titles?

Alternative and Complementary Medicine Books sample:

Circulating books sample. Available on the third floor

  • Ayurveda: a comprehensive guide to traditional Indian medicine for the West. WB 50.1 N715a 2008
  • Agroecology in action: extending alternative agriculture through social networks.  S441 .W28 2007 
  • Edible medicines: an ethnopharmacology of food. GT2850 .E874 2006 
  • Fundamentals of complementary and integrative medicine. WB 890 F981 2006
  • African American alternative medicine: using alternative medicine to prevent and control chronic diseases. WT 500 B154a 2002
  • Complementary and alternative medicine: challenge and change. WB 890 C73665 2000
  • Complementary therapies in context: the psychology of healing. WB 890 G739 1999

Reference books sample. Located in the Information Commons on the first floor of the library. This sample list is organized by the publication year.

  • Complementary and alternative medicine sourcebook. WB 39 A466 2006   
  • Natural Standard herb & supplement reference: evidence-based clinical reviews.  QV 13 N285 2005 
  • American health : demographics and spending of health care consumers. (REF) WA 900 AA1 A445 2005
  • The encyclopedia of vitamins, minerals, and supplements. (REF) QU 160 N321e 2004
  • Encyclopedia of health & behavior. (REF) WB 13 E56283 2004 (2 vols.) (also available online - UW restricted)
  • Encyclopedia of folk medicine: old world and new world traditions. (REF) WB 13 H362e 2004 
  • Mosby's complementary & alternative medicine: a research-based approach. (Ref) WB 890 F855m 2004
  • The Oxford book of health foods. (REF) TX369 .V38 2003 
  • The Gale encyclopedia of alternative medicine. (REF) WB 890 G151 2001
  • The alternative medicine handbook: the complete reference guide to alternative and complementary therapies. (REF) WB 890 C345a 1998

Online Reference Books are listed lower down on this page as well.

Want to see a list with more titles?

Food Industry Books sample:

Circulating books sample. Available on the third floor

  • Agricultural and food policy.  HD1761 .K65 2007
  • Food politics : how the food industry influences nutrition and health. TX360.U6 N47 2007
  • The crazy makers: how the food industry is destroying our brains and harming our children. WA 712 S611c 2007
  • Appetite for profit: how the food industry undermines our health and how to fight back. TX360.U6 S56 2006 
  • Inside the FDA: the business and politics behind the drugs we take and the food we eat. QV 771 H399i 2005
  • Happier meals : rethinking the global meat industry. TS1955 .N54 2005
  • Don't eat this book : fast food and the super sizing of America. TX370 .S68 2005
  • Consuming kids : the hostile takeover of childhood. (Chapter on food marketing) HF5415.32 .L56 2004
  • The McDonaldization of society. HM706 .R58 2004
  • Recoding nature : critical perspectives on genetic engineering. QH442 .R36 2004
  • Food fight : the inside story of the food industry, America's obesity crisis, and what we can do about it. TX357 .B76 2004 
  • Protecting America's health : the FDA, business, and one hundred years of regulation. WA 697 H656p 2003 
  • Corn & capitalism : how a botanical bastard grew to global dominance. SB191.M2 W34 2003 
  • Eating in the dark : America's experiment with genetically engineered food. TP248.65.F66 H37 2003 
  • Travels in the genetically modified zone.  TP 248.65.F66 W565 2002 
  • Fast Food Nation : the Dark Side of the All-American Meal.  TX945 .S355 2001
  • Genetically modified organisms in agriculture : economics and politics.  TP 248.65.F66 G47 2001 
  • The Burger King: Jim McLamore and the Building of an Empire. TX 945.5.B87.M35 1998

Reference books sample. Located in the Information Commons on the first floor of the library. This sample list is organized by the publication year.

  • Sacred cow, mad cow: a history of food fears. WA 701 F391s 2006
  • Encyclopedia of agricultural, food, and biological engineering (REF) TP368.2 .E57 2003
  • Food safety handbook. (REF) TP373.5 .F67 2003.

Online Reference Books are listed lower down on this page as well.

Want to see a list with more titles?

Obesity books sample:

Circulating books sample. Available on the third floor

  • Obesity in childhood and adolescence. (2 volumes) WD 210 O1205 2008
  • Dieting, overweight, and obesity : self-regulation in a food-rich environment. WD 210 S919d 2008
  • Waistland : the (R)evolutionary science behind our weight and fitness crisis. WD 210 B274w 2007
  • Overcoming obesity in childhood and adolescence: a guide for school leaders. WD 212 S392o 2007 
  • Fat politics: the real story behind America's obesity epidemic. WD 210 O48o 2006
  • Fed up! Winning the war against childhood obesity. WD 212 O41f 2005
  • Food fight : the inside story of the food industry, America's obesity crisis, and what we can do about it. TX357 .B76 2004 
  • Fat land : how Americans became the fattest people in the world.  WD 210 C934f 2003 
  • Fat:  fighting the obesity epidemic.  WD 212 P66 2001
  • Body Image, Eating Disorders, and Obesity in Youth: Assessment, Prevention, and Treatment. WS 130.B64 2001
  • Eating Disorders : Anatomy of a Social Epidemic.  WM 175 G664e 2000
  • Fat History: Bodies and Beauty in the Modern West. WD 210.S799f 1997

Reference books sample. Located in the Information Commons on the first floor of the library. This sample list is organized by the publication year.

  • The encyclopedia of obesity and eating disorders. WD 210 C344e 2006 
  • Encyclopedia of Public Health (REF) WA 13 E566 2002 (4 vols.) (also available online - UW restricted)
  • The Modern Nutritional Diseases: Heart disease, Stroke, Type-2 diabetes, Obesity, Cancer: and how to prevent them (REF) WD 100 O91m 2002 

Online Reference Books are listed lower down on this page as well.

Want to see a list with more titles?

Online Reference Books - Dictionaries and Encyclopedias


Finding Films and TV shows

  1. Use the Library Catalog to find Films and Telvision programs
  2. From the Catalog's main menu select Advanced Keyword
  3. Click on the drop-down menu for Publication Type and select Videos, Slides, Media
  4. Search by title, author, or keyword (topics, actors, directors, performers, etc.), for specific programs.
  5. Search by type of program, such as: (if your search results are too broad try these as LC subject or genre searches)
      • documentary films
      • feature films
      • film adaptations
      • historical television programs
      • television comedies
      • television programs
      • television advertising
      • television mini series

Research and Writing Tools & Other Useful Links


Questions?

If you have any other questions at any stage of the research process, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Nutrition Librarian Liaison: Julie Planchon Wolf - Reference and Instruction/Nursing Librarian
Ph: 425.352.3452, Office # LB1-210B, E-mail: jwolf@uwb.edu.

Also, other librarians are available to help you by calling 425.352.5340, or use our Ask us a Question services.


Campus Directions | Building Hours | Site Index | UW Libraries
University of Washington, Bothell | 18225 Campus Way NE | Bothell, WA 98011-8245 | (425) 352-5340
Copyright © 1996-2007. All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]