New
Student Checklist - Everything you need to know as a CCC student including
activating your library account, connecting to restricted online resources from
home, and accessing electronic course reserves.
The resources below will help you
get started. They tend to contain very broad overviews of topics, with links
or references to other useful materials.
Facts.com (Facts on File World News Digest) -
UWB/CCC on-campus use only
This Web site serves as a portal to background information on a variety of
topics, and is updated regularly. For this assignment, try the tab for
Issues and
Controversies first (although depending on your topic, you may want to
explore other resources as well). Because of our licensing agreement,
this source can only be accessed from a computer on campus.
CQ
researcher - UW/CCC restricted.
Offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, with regular
reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the
environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Synthesis articles focus on one topic per
issue.
Does UW/CCC restricted
mean Cascadia students can't use this database?No--it
just means that you must use the
off-campus access button in the upper right hand corner of this page to access them from off campus. More info on setting up your CCC UW NetID
Topics Collection
(Information Commons, 1st floor of the Library)
This collection contains books on topics that lend themselves to an argument
of some kind. Many contain overviews of the issue, along with summaries of
the key positions (and the individuals who promote or refute them). Two
series that cover a broad range of subjects are "Opposing Viewpoints" and
"Contemporary World Views."
This list is organized by
the publication year.
Food. TX360.U6 F62 2008 from the Current Controversies series.
Dieting. WD 212 D565 2008 from the Issues that Concern You series.
Performance enhancing drugs. QT 261 P438 2008 from the At Issue
series.
Agricultural crisis in America : a reference handbook.
HD 1761 H56 1999
Finding
Articles: Search the
following periodical databases to find journal, newspaper and/or magazine articles
on your topic. Some of these databases will provide you scholarly articles, some
with provide popular magazine or newspaper articles, some will provide both.
Expanded Academic ASAP- UW/CCC restricted. Expanded Academic Index provides indexing and abstracting
for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering
all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science
and technology.
ProQuest Databases- UW/CCC restricted.
Scholarly and general interest sources
in business, news, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and
technology.
National
Newspapers - UW/CCC restricted.This database provides coverage of major newspapers,
including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles
Times, Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, Boston
Globe and the Atlanta Journal/Constitution.
PubMed - (Publicly
accessible - but some full text is
UW/CCC Restricted) The National Library of Medicine's search service to over 15 million citations
in Medline and related databases. (Search
tips for this database)
Health
News ReviewNewspaper
and magazine health coverage is reviewed and rated on this site. This
site is published by Gary Schwitzer who is a professor in the school
of journalism at The University of Minnesota.
Health
on the Net Foundation Code of Conduct The HONcode for medical and
health Web sites provides a (multilingual) list of criteria to evaluate
the reliability and credibility of healthcare information on the Internet
and includes an interactive site-checker based on these principles.
NutritionData
- Nutrition facts and calorie counter.
Access
Washington: Portal for Washington State government information and
services.
National Government and
Organization Web Sites
2005 Food
Pyramid Called "MyPyramid." Enter your age, sex, and activity level to get
a "customized" plan. Tours, tips, guidelines, related links, worksheets,
portion sizes, education materials, as well as MyPyramid Tracker - an online
dietary and physical activity assessment tool.
Dietary
Guidelines for Americans 2005. Published jointly every 5 years by the
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the Department of
Agriculture (USDA). The Guidelines provide advice for people two years
and older.
Nutrition.gov:
portal to nutrition information across the agencies of the Federal Government.
Resources also include information on food safety, figures for American food
consumption and links to fitness and disease prevention web sites.
The
American Dietetic Association (ADA): The American Dietetic Association
(ADA) is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals,
with nearly 70,000 members.
Food Safety - Government and
Organization Web Sites
Washington State Department
of Health Food Safety Program The goals of this site are to provide guidance, training, and technical
assistance to local health jurisdictions and industry on retail food
safety issues, work with other state, federal, and local agencies to
prevent or investigate cases of foodborne illness, and offer information
to help safely handle and prepare foods.
Gateway to Government Food Safety Information
- This site provides a
wealth of information and links to other federal and state government
agencies. It serves industry assistance as well as the latest news on
foodborne pathogens and also provides a consumer advice link.
Culinary History Web Sites
The
Food Timeline - This site includes information on
culinary history as well a food timeline that ranges from pre-history
to the present. Maintained by the Morris County Public Library
in New Jersey.
Feeding
America: The Historic American Cookbook Project: American
cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. Digital images of
the pages of each cookbook are available as well as full-text transcriptions
and the ability to search within the books, or across the collection,
in order to find specific information. Maintained by Michigan State
University Library and the MSU Museum.
Anthropology
of Food is bilingual academic webjournal in French and English produced and published
by a network of European academic researchers sharing a common intellectual
interest in the social science of food.
The
UW Libraries Catalog
provides you with access to titles between the Bothell,
Seattle and Tacoma campuses. Through the UW catalog you can also search the
Summit catalog and gain access
to items at academic libraries throughout WA and OR. If we don't own a book
or if it's checked out, you still might be able to get a copy from another
library.
To see what is
currently available at our library - I suggest performing a KEYWORD search for
NUTRITION and limiting the location to the BOTHELL/CCC CAMPUS LIBRARY in
the catalog. A TITLE search for FOOD and limiting the location to the
BOTHELL/CCC CAMPUS LIBRARY in the catalog can also be fruitful (no pun
intended). You can also access several electronic titles (online books
and government documents) this way. Click on the link below to go to the
catalog.
Books
from our collection - a sample.
Book
lists organized by the year of publication.
Circulating
books can be found on the third floor. This list is organized
by the publication year.
A short history of the American stomach. GT498.S76 K48 2008
Closing the food gap: resetting the table in the land of plenty. HC110.P6 W53 2008
In defense of food: an eater's manifesto. QU 145 P771i 2008
Cuisine and culture: a history of food and people. TX353 .C565 2008
Edible ideologies: representing food and meaning. TX353 .E35 2008
Kitchen literacy: how we lost knowledge of where food comes from and why we need to get it back. TX645 .V55 2008
Essentials of global health. WA 530.1 S628e 2008
Ayurveda: a comprehensive guide to traditional Indian medicine for the West. WB 50.1 N715a 2008
Eating behaviors of the young child : prenatal and postnatal influences on healthy eating. WS 120 E14 2008
The cult of thinness. BF697.5.B63 H47 2007
Agricultural and food policy. HD1761 .K65 2007
Evolution of the human diet: the known, the unknown, and the unknowable. GN282 .E84 2007
Beans: a history. QK495.L52 A567 2007
Personal nutrition. QU 145 B792p 2007
Agroecology in action: extending alternative agriculture through social networks. S441 .W28 2007
The banquet: dining in the great courts of late Renaissance Europe. TX737 .A42 2007
The crazy makers: how the food industry is destroying our brains and harming our children. WA 712 S611c 2007
Overcoming obesity in childhood and adolescence: a guide for school leaders. WD 212 S392o 2007
The end of food. HD9000.5 .P28 2006
Edible medicines: an ethnopharmacology of food. GT2850 .E874 2006
Nutrients, stress, and medical disorders. QU 145 N97622 2006
What to eat. QU 145 N468w 2006
Contemporary nutrition. QU 145 W266c 2006
Discovering nutrition. QU 145 I5955d 2006
Student study guide to accompany discovering nutrition. QU 145 I5955d 2006
guide
The revolution will not be microwaved: inside America's underground food movements. TX357 .K38 2006
The way we eat: why our food choices matter. TX357 .S527 2006
Appetite for profit: how the food industry undermines our health and how to fight back. TX360.U6 S56 2006
Advanced sports nutrition. TX361 .A8 B45 2006
Practical applications in sports nutrition. TX361.A8 F56 2006
Sacred cow, mad cow: a history
of food fears. WA 701 F391s 2006
Fat politics: the real story behind
America's obesity epidemic. WD 210 O48o 2006
America's environmental report
card : are we making the grade? GE150 .B58 2005
Underfed and Overfed : the Global
Epidemic of Malnutrition. HD9018.D44 G37 2000
Minority health in America : findings
and policy implications from the Commonwealth Fund minority health survey.
WA 900 AA1 M666 2000
American Academy of Pediatrics
guide to your child's nutrition : feeding children of all ages. WS 130
A512 1999
Food: A Culinary History from
Antiquity to the Present. TX 353.H525 1999
Perspectives in Nutrition. QU
145.W266p 1999 text
The Burger King: Jim McLamore
and the Building of an Empire. TX 945.5.B87.M35 1998
Fat History: Bodies and Beauty
in the Modern West. WD 210.S799f 1997
American food habits in historical
perspective. GT 2853.U5 M39 1995
Managing Sickle Cell Disease in
Low-Income Families. WH 170.H648m 1994
Chiles to Chocolate: Food the
Americas Gave to the World. SB 176.A48.C45 1992
Traditional plant foods of Canadian
indigenous peoples : nutrition, botany, and use. E 78.C2 K92 1991
Sushi. TX 747 .Y67 1990
Food
Culture around the World,
Food Through History, Food Cultures in America and the Food in American History Series
Titles: available on the third floor or they may be on reserve
for your class. Reserve books
are listed in the UW Libraries
Catalog under Course Reserves and may be searched by course
or professor.
This
list is organized by the call number and publication year.
Jewish American food culture. GT2853.U5 D48 2008
Latino food culture. TX716.A1 J36 2008
Food culture in France. TX719 .A237 2007
Food in the ancient
world. TX353 .A47 2006
Food in the United States, 1820s-1890. TX355 .W55 2006
American Indian food.
E98.F7 B47 2005
Food culture in Mexico.
GT2853.M6 L66 2005
Food in colonial
and federal America. TX714 .O466 2005
Food culture in the
Caribbean. TX716.A1 H67 2005
Food culture in South
America. TX716.A1 L68 2005
Food culture in Russia
and Central Asia. TX723.3 .M2356 2005
Food culture in Spain.
TX723.5.S7 M43 2005
Food culture in Sub-Saharan
Africa. TX725.A4 O77 2005
Food culture in
the Near East, Middle East, and North Africa. GT2853.M628 H45 2004
Food in medieval
times. TX641 .A33 2004
Food culture in Great
Britain. TX717 .M387 2004
Food culture in Italy.
TX723 .P37 2004
Food culture in China.
TX724.5.C5 N45 2004
Food culture in India.
TX724.5.I4 S38 2004
Food In Early Modern
Europe. GT2853.E85 A43 2003
Food culture in Japan.
TX724.5.J3 A88 2003
Fad Diet books: available on the third floor or they may be
on reserve for your class. Reserve books are listed in the UW
Libraries Catalog under Course Reserves and may be searched by course
or professor.
Reference
books are located in the Information Commons on the first floor of
the library. This
list is organized by the call number and publication year.
The Gale encyclopedia of diets: a guide to health and nutrition. (2 volumes) QU 145 G151 2008
The Facts on File encyclopedia of health and medicine. (4 volumes) WB 13 F142 2007
The Oxford dictionary of sports science & medicine. QT 13 O98 2006 (also
available online - UW/CCC restricted)
Sports nutrition: vitamins and trace elements. QT 235 D781s 2006
Diet and nutrition sourcebook. QU 145 D5652 2006
American Dietetic Association complete food and nutrition guide. QU 145 D988a 2006 (also
available online - UW/CCC restricted)
Dictionary of nutraceuticals and functional foods. QU 145.5 E75d 2006
The food encyclopedia: over 8,000 ingredients, tools, techniques, and people. TX349 .R564 2006
Encyclopedia of junk food and fast food. TX370 .S63 2006
Joy of cooking. TX715 .R75 2006
Who's buying at restaurants and carry-outs. TX945 .W46
(4th ed.)
Encyclopedia of medical devices and instrumentation. (6 volumes). W 13 E555 2006
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture- UW/CCC Restricted. Excellent resource that is three volumes in the print format. See
the reference books list above for the call number and location information
in the library.
Gale
Virtual Reference Library -
UW/CCC Restricted. In this database of electronic
encyclopedias and books you can search in an individual title or through multiple
titles at the same time. Subjects included in this collection: arts, business
& economics, education, environment, history & American studies, literature,
nursing & medicine, multicultural studies, nation & world, religion,
science and the social sciences.Tip: To focus in on
your topic, try limiting your search to the "document title" instead
of the "keyword" default search.
Oxford Reference Online- UW/CCC Restricted.
An online database that searches across many Oxford University Press specialized
dictionaries and reference titles at once. Full text entries are available.
Titles include: An AZ of Food and Drink,
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America, Food and Fitness: A
Dictionary of Diet and Exercise, A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition, The Oxford
Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine, An AZ of Medicinal Drugs, Concise
Medical Dictionary, and The Oxford Companion to the Body. Tips: On the Advanced Search page - Change the "Refine your Search" box
from Full Text to "Entry Headings" to search with more precision.
After you have submitted a search, on the left hand side of your search results
page - look for the "Refine by Subject" categories such as: politics
& social sciences; science; literature; and medicine. Click on these subjects
to look within that discipline area.
Don’t forget about our
Interlibrary Loan Service. If a database does not carry the full text of
an article you want and our Library does not own it, you still might be able
to order a copy of the article from another UW Library.
Ulrich's
International Periodicals Directory-UW/CCC restricted. This index does not provide any fulltext or abstracts of articles. It is an index of periodical titles that are
held internationally, and provides information about these titles - such as
- are they peer reviewed.
If you have any other questions at
any stage of the research process, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Nutrition Librarian Liaison:
Julie Planchon Wolf -
Reference and Instruction/Nursing Librarian
Ph: 425.352.3452, Office # LB1-210B, E-mail: jwolf@uwb.edu.
Also, other librarians are available to help you by
calling 425.352.5340, or use our
Ask us a question
services.