New
Student Checklist - Everything you need to know as a CCC student including
activating your library account, connecting to restricted online resources from
home, and accessing electronic course reserves.
The resources below will help you
get started. They tend to contain very broad overviews of topics, with links
or references to other useful materials.
Facts.com from Facts on File includes World News Digest, Issues
and Controversies and Today's Science databases - UWB/CCC on-campus use only
This Web site serves as a portal to background information on a variety of
topics, and is updated regularly. Try searching in Issues
and Controversies first (although depending on your topic, you may want
to explore other resources as well). Because of our licensing agreement,
this source can only be accessed from a computer on campus.
CQ
Researcher - UW/CCC restricted.
Offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, with regular
reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the
environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Synthesis articles focus on one topic per
issue.
Does UW/CCC restricted
mean Cascadia students can't use this database?No--it
just means that you must use the
off-campus access button in the upper right hand corner of this page to access them from off campus. More info on setting up your CCC UW NetID
Topics Collection
(Information Commons, 1st floor of the Library)
This collection contains books on topics that lend themselves to an argument
of some kind. Many contain overviews of the issue, along with summaries of
the key positions (and the individuals who promote or refute them). Two
series that cover a broad range of subjects are "Opposing Viewpoints" and
"Contemporary World Views."
This list is organized by
the call number and publication year.
Agricultural crisis in America : a reference handbook.
HD 1761 H56 1999
Finding
Articles: Search the
following periodical databases to find journal, newspaper and/or magazine articles
on your topic. Some of these databases will provide you scholarly articles, some
with provide popular magazine or newspaper articles, some will provide both.
Expanded Academic ASAP- UW/CCC restricted. Expanded Academic Index provides indexing and abstracting
for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering
all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science
and technology.
National
Newspapers - UW/CCC restricted.This database provides coverage of major newspapers,
including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles
Times, Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, Boston
Globe and the Atlanta Journal/Constitution.
Access World News (Newsbank) - UW/CCC restricted. Includes hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide. Offers extensive coverage at local, regional, national and international levels. Features a map-based interface. Selected full text for 9 Washington State newspapers, including
the Seattle Times, Bellingham Herald, Peninsula Gateway (Gig Harbor), Tri-City Herald (Kennewick), Olympian, Puyallup Herald, Spokesman-Review (Spokane), News
Tribune (Tacoma), and The Columbian (Vancouver). View
Title List
PubMed - (Publicly
accessible - but some full text is
UW/CCC Restricted) The National Library of Medicine's search service to over 15 million citations
in Medline and related databases. (Search
tips for this database)
Health
News ReviewNewspaper
and magazine health coverage is reviewed and rated on this site. This
site is published by Gary Schwitzer who is a professor in the school
of journalism at The University of Minnesota.
Health
on the Net Foundation Code of Conduct The HONcode for medical and
health Web sites provides a (multilingual) list of criteria to evaluate
the reliability and credibility of healthcare information on the Internet
and includes an interactive site-checker based on these principles.
NutritionData
- Nutrition facts and calorie counter.
Access
Washington: Portal for Washington State government information and
services.
National Government and
Organization Web Sites
2005 Food
Pyramid Called "MyPyramid." Enter your age, sex, and activity level to get
a "customized" plan. Tours, tips, guidelines, related links, worksheets,
portion sizes, education materials, as well as MyPyramid Tracker - an online
dietary and physical activity assessment tool.
Dietary
Guidelines for Americans 2005. Published jointly every 5 years by the
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the Department of
Agriculture (USDA). The Guidelines provide advice for people two years
and older.
Nutrition.gov:
portal to nutrition information across the agencies of the Federal Government.
Resources also include information on food safety, figures for American food
consumption and links to fitness and disease prevention web sites.
The
American Dietetic Association (ADA): The American Dietetic Association
(ADA) is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals,
with nearly 70,000 members.
Nutrition topics page from the Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce organization site that includes links to federal and international data, professional and research organizations that focus on nutrition issues, legislation and policy issues, and more.
Food Safety - Government and
Organization Web Sites
Washington State Department
of Health: Food Safety Program The goals of this site are to provide guidance, training, and technical
assistance to local health jurisdictions and industry on retail food
safety issues, work with other state, federal, and local agencies to
prevent or investigate cases of foodborne illness, and offer information
to help safely handle and prepare foods.
Gateway to Government Food Safety Information
- This site provides a
wealth of information and links to other federal and state government
agencies. It serves industry assistance as well as the latest news on
foodborne pathogens and also provides a consumer advice link.
Culinary History Web Sites
The
Food Timeline - This site includes information on
culinary history as well a food timeline that ranges from pre-history
to the present. Maintained by the Morris County Public Library
in New Jersey.
Feeding
America: The Historic American Cookbook Project: American
cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. Digital images of
the pages of each cookbook are available as well as full-text transcriptions
and the ability to search within the books, or across the collection,
in order to find specific information. Maintained by Michigan State
University Library and the MSU Museum.
Anthropology
of Food is bilingual academic webjournal in French and English produced and published
by a network of European academic researchers sharing a common intellectual
interest in the social science of food.
The
UW Libraries Catalog
provides you with listings of titles at the Bothell,
Seattle and Tacoma campuses.
To see what is
currently available at our library - I suggest performing a KEYWORD search for
NUTRITION and limiting the location to the BOTHELL/CCC CAMPUS LIBRARY in
the catalog. A TITLE search for FOOD and limiting the location to the
BOTHELL/CCC CAMPUS LIBRARY in the catalog can also be fruitful (no pun
intended). You can also access several electronic titles (online books
and government documents) this way. Click on the link below to go to the
catalog.
Books
from our collection - a sample.
Book
lists organized by the year of publication.
Circulating
books can be found on the third floor of the Bothell Campus Library. This list is organized
by the publication year.
Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives. 2009(In Process as of 5/21/2009)
Foie Gras Wars: How a 5,000-Year-Old Delicacy Inspired the World's Fiercest Food Fight. 2009(In Process as of 5/21/2009)
Food, Inc.: How industrial food is making us sicker, fatter, and poorer--and what you can do about it. 2009(In Process as of 5/21/2009)
Nutrition for Sport and Exercise. 2009(In Process as of 5/21/2009)
Righteous Porkchop: Finding a Life and Good Food Beyond Factory Farms. 2009(In Process as of 5/21/2009)
Untold Story of Milk: The History, Politics and Science of Nature's Perfect Food. 2009(In Process as of 5/21/2009)
Food politics : how the food industry influences nutrition and health. TX360.U6 N47 2007
Slow food nation : why our food should be good, clean, and fair. TX631 .P47313 2007
The banquet: dining in the great courts of late Renaissance Europe. TX737 .A42 2007
Fish forever : the definitive guide to understanding, selecting, and preparing healthy, delicious, and environmentally sustainable seafood. TX747 .J63 2007
The crazy makers: how the food industry is destroying our brains and harming our children. WA 712 S611c 2007
Waistland: the (R)evolutionary science behind our weight and fitness crisis. WD 210 B274w 2007
Overcoming obesity in childhood and adolescence: a guide for school leaders. WD 212 S392o 2007
Underfed and Overfed : the Global
Epidemic of Malnutrition. HD9018.D44 G37 2000
Minority health in America : findings
and policy implications from the Commonwealth Fund minority health survey.
WA 900 AA1 M666 2000
American Academy of Pediatrics
guide to your child's nutrition : feeding children of all ages. WS 130
A512 1999
Food: A Culinary History from
Antiquity to the Present. TX 353.H525 1999
The Burger King: Jim McLamore
and the Building of an Empire. TX 945.5.B87.M35 1998
Fat History: Bodies and Beauty
in the Modern West. WD 210.S799f 1997
American food habits in historical
perspective. GT 2853.U5 M39 1995
Managing Sickle Cell Disease in
Low-Income Families. WH 170.H648m 1994
Chiles to Chocolate: Food the
Americas Gave to the World. SB 176.A48.C45 1992
Traditional plant foods of Canadian
indigenous peoples : nutrition, botany, and use. E 78.C2 K92 1991
Sushi. TX 747 .Y67 1990
Food
Culture around the World,
Food Through History, Food Cultures in America and the Food in American History Series
Titles: available on the third floor or they may be on reserve
for your class. Reserve books
are listed in the UW Libraries
Catalog under Course Reserves and may be searched by course
or professor.
This
list is organized by the call number and publication year.
Food Culture in the Mediterranean. 2009(In Process as of 5/21/2009)
Fad Diet books: available on the third floor or they may be
on reserve for your class. Reserve books are listed in the UW
Libraries Catalog under Course Reserves and may be searched by course
or professor.
Reference
books are located in the Information Commons on the first floor of the Bothell Campus Library. This
list is organized by the call number and publication year.
Dictionary of Food and Nutrition. 2009(In Process as of 5/21/2009)
Advanced nutrition and human metabolism. QU 145 G874a 2009
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture- UW/CCC Restricted. Excellent resource that is three volumes in the print format. See
the reference books list above for the call number and location information
in the library.
Gale
Virtual Reference Library -
UW/CCC Restricted. In this database of electronic
encyclopedias and books you can search in an individual title or through multiple
titles at the same time. Subjects included in this collection: arts, business
& economics, education, environment, history & American studies, literature,
nursing & medicine, multicultural studies, nation & world, religion,
science and the social sciences.Tip: To focus in on
your topic, try limiting your search to the "document title" instead
of the "keyword" default search.
Oxford Reference Online- UW/CCC Restricted.
An online database that searches across many Oxford University Press specialized
dictionaries and reference titles at once. Full text entries are available.
Titles include: An AZ of Food and Drink,
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America, Food and Fitness: A
Dictionary of Diet and Exercise, A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition, The Oxford
Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine, An AZ of Medicinal Drugs, Concise
Medical Dictionary, and The Oxford Companion to the Body. Tips: On the Advanced Search page - Change the "Refine your Search" box
from Full Text to "Entry Headings" to search with more precision.
After you have submitted a search, on the left hand side of your search results
page - look for the "Refine by Subject" categories such as: politics
& social sciences; science; literature; and medicine. Click on these subjects
to look within that discipline area.
Ulrich's
International Periodicals Directory-UW/CCC restricted. This index does not provide any fulltext or abstracts of articles. It is an index of periodical titles that are
held internationally, and provides information about these titles - such as
- are they peer reviewed.
If you have any other questions at
any stage of the research process, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Nutrition Librarian Liaison:
Julie Planchon Wolf -
Reference and Instruction/Nursing Librarian
Ph: 425.352.3452, Office # LB1-210B, E-mail: jwolf@uwb.edu.
Also, other librarians are available to help you by
calling 425.352.5340, or use our
Ask us a question
services.