|
|
|
|
- Connect
to UW restricted resources
from home or work by clicking on the "off-campus access" button in the upper right-hand corner of this web page.
- UW
Libraries Catalog
|
Finding
Newspaper articles |
|
|
State
and Local News
- Access World News (Newsbank) - UW restricted
Includes complete electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide, many unavailable elsewhere. Provides more than 150 million current and archived articles users can easily search, browse, print and email. Offers extensive coverage at local, regional, national and international levels. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time. Features an intuitive, map-based interface and the ability to search single or multiple titles by headline, name, topic, keyword, date and author. Selected full text for 9 Washington State newspapers, including
the Seattle Times, Bellingham Herald, Peninsula Gateway (Gig Harbor), Tri-City Herald (Kennewick), Olympian, Puyallup Herald, Spokesman-Review (Spokane), News
Tribune (Tacoma), and The Columbian (Vancouver). View
Title List
- Community
media newspaper page includes ethnic news from papers in the greater
Puget Sound area. Bothell Campus Library online and print holdings
are listed.
- UW
Libraries Washington State Newspaper subscriptions - Browse by
newspaper title, location, or language.
- List
of Washington State Newspapers from the Washington State Library.
State,
Local, National and International News
- Lexis Nexis- UW restricted. This
large database contains the Washington News Source collection that
provides indexing and full-text from 8 news sources. Titles are repeated
from Washington State Newsstand database listed above except The
Associated Press State & Local
Wire, the Seattle Weekly, and the
Vancouver Business Journal (Vancouver,
WA). To search in the Washington News Sources section of this
database follow these steps. Click on the "Power Search" tab. To the right of the Select Sources box, click on the "Find More Sources..." link. On the new screen, click on the All Countries box and change to "United States". Wait for the screen to update and change the All Regions box to "Washington". I had to hit the enter key on the keyboard to the activate the search at this point. Click on "News" link and click in the boxes to the left of "Washington News Sources" and "Washington Region Stories" and click on the "OK - Continue" button. This should take you back to the Power Search screen where you can type in your topic of interest along with the town or region search for in the "Enter Search Terms" box. Adjust the date range to your needs
in and click on the Search button. All articles should be in full text.
- Ethnic
NewsWatch - UW restricted.
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the
ethnic and minority press in America. Washington
State titles include the Seattle Skanner. Tip to limit to
Washington state: Click on the "Advanced" search tab.
Click on the "More Search Options" tab. Type in the Location
box "Washington state" without the quotes; then conduct
a search by ethnic group or keyword.
|
|
|
|
|
Official
Washington State government portal web site.
- Access
Washington This site is searchable.
- State
of Washington Data Book - (Also available in our print reference
collection on 1st floor of library Call No: HA 694 A6)
Provides diverse Washington data about people, the economy and government.
The data comes from state and federal agencies as well as private
business. Contents areas include: population, economy, state government
finance, human services, criminal justice, education, natural
resources, environment, energy, transportation and local government
and special districts.
City,
Town and County information: including population, structure of government,
major employers, budget, links to city guides, chambers of commerce, information,
housing and more.
- County
Profiles from the 2005 Data Book From the Washington State Office
of Financial Management. Each county profile includes population,
land area, population density, population by age and gender, assessed
value, taxable retail sales, per capita personal income, births, deaths,
marriages, divorces, population of cities and towns, population by
race and hispanic origin, state collected revenues distributed to
county governments, real estate excise tax collections, county revenue
and expenditures, employment and wages by industry, persons served
and amounts granted by public assistance programs, public school enrollment
and fiscal information, and driver and vehicle registrations. A profile
for the state as a whole is included in this section.
- Visit the Counties
page or the Cities
and Towns page on the Access Washington site. The Cities and Towns
page may link you to official city guides, visitors guides and chambers
of commerce sites. These linked guides may include major employers,
city departments and structures of governments.
- City
and County Data for Washington State From the State of Washington
Office of Financial Management
- Washington
State Chamber of Commerce Directory. Or search Google
for your community's Chamber of Commerce web site.
- Statistical
Resources for Washington Local Governments
- Timber
Harvest by Ownership by County
- King
County and the Community
Health web site
- Snohomish
County Home Page and the Health
District web site
- Seattle
Community Network includes organizations and web sites for activism,
housing (and homelessness), social services and much more.
- Low
Income Apartments Search by city, state or zip code, or Housing
and Urban Development (HUD)
in Washington State including many housing programs all from the
from the U.S. Department of Housing
and Urban Development.
Population
Information - Washington State - Counties and Cities Information
Population
Information from the US Census
- American
FactFinder from the Dept. of the US Census. The American Community
Survey is searchable by town/city, county or zip code. Includes
Age distribution; Sex ratio; Racial/ethnic characteristics; Occupation,
income, education; Per capita income; Mean family income; Percentage
at poverty level; Percentage receiving public assistance; Unemployment
rate; Occupational categories; Percentage of population over 25 completed
high school; ant the Percentage completed college age.
- FedStats
- Federal Government statistics locator. Links to 70+ US Government
agencies that produce statistics of interest to the public. Site maintained
by Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy. Subjects are
listed alphabetically or can be searched individually to find relevant
statistics.
It is not always obvious which agency of the government produces statistics,
for their responsibilities sometimes overlap.
- More
Census Statistics A list of Census Bureau statistics by topic.
Also possible to perform word searches. Includes general and health-related statistics.
Education
Information for Washington State
Health
Information
Washington
State
National Health
Data
-
Statistical
Abstract of the United States Contains approximately 1500 statistical
tables and charts on the social, political, and economic organization
of the US as well as the nation's health. Serves as a convenient volume
for statistical reference and a guide to other statistical publications
and sources. Sources of data, both governmental and private, are always
cited and can be referred to for more details. Divided into broad
subject sections, such as Vital Statistics, Health and Nutrition,
with explanatory preface that defines terms and issues. Specific topics
include cesarean sections, contraception, infant mortality, firearms,
dentists, birth rate, abortion, life expectancy, cause of death, Medicare, Medicaid, cancer, and cigarette smoking.
Appendices include guide to sources of statistics, state statistical
abstracts and foreign statistical abstracts, metropolitan area concepts
and components; and statistical methodology and reliability.
-
Healthy
People 2010
-
America's
Children in Brief: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, 2006
published by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
- Kids Count: community, state and national census data. This site contains rich information and is good to browse. From the The Annie E. Casey Foundation.
- Maternal and Child Health Bureau includes the Women's Health USA 2006 and the Child Health USA 2006 reports among other data sources. Also a good site to browse.
- National Center for Health Statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Environmental
sites specific to Washington State/Northwest:
Air
Water
Pesticides, Toxins,
Pollution
National
Environmental Resources
Air
- Air
Now lots of stuff, plus links to most of the other sites below
- AirData
very cool, pick a state, region, etc. and it will generate a bunch
of reports
- AIR
Explorer different options for mapping air quality data based
on MSAs
- Air
Trends from the EPA, has Air Trends Reports and Air Quality Data
Water
Waste
Management - State and King County
Solid
Waste - resources from the Washington State Department of Ecology
Noise
Pollution - Washington State
National
Waste Management and Noise Pollution Resources
|
Reference
Books - Online and Print |
|
|
Reference
books sample. Print books
located in the Information Commons on the first floor of the library.
This sample list is organized by the publication year. More
titles available in the UW
Libraries Catalog.
- Washington State
vital statistics. online
or in print: HA691 .V57 2003
- County
and City Data Book. online
or in print: HA202 .A36 2000
- Cities of the
United States: a compilation of current information on economic, cultural,
geographic, and social conditions, Volume 2: The West, HT123 .C49677
200. Includes the cities of Bellingham, Olympia, Seattle, Spokane
and Tacoma.
- Community sourcebook
of ZIP code demographics. HA203 .S66 2005 (Projections of key population
and income variables: data on population, households, families, income,
race, age, and spending potential for various products.)
- Online
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and other online reference tools
- More
help finding books, requesting books from other campuses and Summit,
and using interlibrary loan (ILL).
|
|
|
|
|
Health
Databases
- CINAHL Plus - UW restricted. From EBSCOhost, unlimited users. Cumulative
Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, indexing over 1700
journals from 1982 to the present.
- PubMed:
(Publicly accessible - but some full text is UW
Restricted) The National Library of Medicine's search service
to over 15 million citations in Medline and related databases. (Search
tips for this database)
- EBSCOhost Databases- UW restricted. Includes the databases of Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, DynaMed, GreenFILE, Health Source: Consumer Edition and the Nursing Edition, Nursing Reference Center, and many more article databases. These databases
index and include many full-text articles covering multiple subject areas, including health.
- Family Studies Abstracts - UW restricted. From EBSCOhost, includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- PsycINFO
- UW restricted. Contains
citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters and technical
reports in the field of psychology, and psychological aspects
of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology,
education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business,
and law.
- Expanded
Academic ASAP - UW restricted. Provides indexing and abstracting for approximately
1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering all
major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science
and technology. This database contains some nursing titles.
Business
Databases
- Regional Business News - UW Restricted. Provides full text coverage for regional business publications. Coverage includes 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated on a daily basis.
- Business Source Complete - UW Restricted.
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics.
- Reference
USA - UW Restricted.
Directory of Public and private companies and manufacturers for
US and Canada. Searchable by company, SIC/NAIC codes, Yellow Pages
subjects, and industry. Can be limited by type and size of business
(employee size or sales volume), location (state, MSA, city,
county, area code, zip code), executive title, headquarters, branch
or subsidiary, stock exchange or all public companies. Provides address,
phone, fax, number of employees, sales, credit rating, ticker symbol,
toll free number, SIC code, line of business and if public company.
Can also be searched for companies that meet specific criteria such
as all biotech companies in Bothell.
More databases links:
|
| |
|
Guides
and Help |
| |
Research,
Writing and Library Subject Guides |
| |
Library
Subject Guides
|
|
|
| |
If you
need further help with your research, please feel free to contact your
librarian! Also try our Ask
Us a Question services at the Campus Library.
Julie
Planchon Wolf, Nursing Librarian
Email: jwolf@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-3452
Office: LB1-210B |