If you have any questions
or need help with your research, please feel free to contact me!
Kathleen DeLaurenti,
Social Sciences & Film Studies Librarian
Email: kdelaurenti@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-3659
Office: LB1-310D
If you have any questions or need help with your research, please feel free to contact me! You can also ask a question at the Campus Library or connect to UW Libraries' 24/7 real-time, online reference service, Q&A Live.
|
Chat with me online (note: sometimes the chat program does not recognize my online status for a few seconds. Wait about 15 seconds after getting an "offline" message to see if the status changes to online)
|
|
Journal articles (also called academic, scholarly, refereed, or peer-reviewed articles) are written for a scholarly audience--they give evidence
for the researcher's claims (such as bibliographies of sources and research
data). News articles can give you local information related to policies and legislation as well as reports on activities of activist organizations.
General Research
databases:
- Academic Search Complete -

Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
- Expanded
academic ASAP -

Scholarly and general interest sources in business, news, medicine,
humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
- JSTOR
search -

Full-text scholarly articles in the social sciences and other areas.
- Project
Muse -

Fulltext collection of social science and humanities journals .
Newspaper databases:
- Alt-PressWatch -

Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and
journals of the alternative and independent press
- Access World News -

Washington state, U.S., and international newspapers.
- LEXIS-NEXIS
Academic -

Full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters),
business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical,
and reference resources.
- National newspapers -

Covers 27 major U.S. newspapers and other U.S., international, and minority interest papers. Includes some fulltext. For the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and Oregonian, search ProQuest Newspapers in the Databases & Catalogs list
- Seattle Indy Media
Independent Media Center established by various independent and alternative media organizations and activists in 1999 for the purpose of providing grassroots coverage of the World Trade Organization (WTO) protests in Seattle.
- Washington State Newsstand -

Indexing and full-text from selected Washington State newspapers, including the Seattle Times, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Puget Sound Business Journal, Spokesman-Review (Spokane), News Tribune (Tacoma), and The Columbian (Vancouver)
Geography, Social
Sciences, and Environmental Sciences databases:
- BioOne -

Full texts of research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences
- GeoBASE -

Covers human geography, physical geography, international development studies, environmental studies, and oceanography.
- GreenFILE -

Access scholarly & popular articles and government reports from the disciplines of agriculture, education, law, health and technology about the positive and negative impacts humans have on the environment.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management -

Multidisciplinary database providing comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences.
- PAIS
International -

Covers social and public policy literature from periodicals, government
documents, books, and other sources
- Sociological abstracts -

Citations to Sociology journal articles; also covers conference papers
and dissertations.
Connect
to UW restricted resources from off
campus
return
to top |