|
|
| Finding
Books & Media |
- UW
Libraries Catalog - Keep in mind you may also request books &
media from other UW Libraries to pick up at the UWB/CCC Campus Library.
They take about 2-5 business days to arrive.
- Summit
- A catalog of over 30 Washington and Oregon academic library collections.
Items may also be requested from this catalog to pick up here, and typically
take 3-5 business days to arrive.
|
| Finding
Articles & more |
Starting
Points:
- Expanded
Academic Index - UW
Restricted
Scholarly and general interest sources in humanities,
social sciences, and science and technology.
- ProQuest
Databases
- UW Restricted
Indexing and full text for a basic collection of general-interest, humanities,
social science and science periodicals and newspapers.
How
do I use UW Restricted resources from off
campus?
Digging
Deeper:
- African
Studies Abstracts Online
- African
Women's Bibliographic Database
- America:
History & Life - UW
Restricted
Provides historical coverage of the
United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information
abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide
- Arts
& Humanities Citation Index
- UW Restricted
Multidisciplinary database covering
the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Indexes world's leading
arts and humanities journals with selected, relevant items from major
science and social science journals
- Bibliography
of Africana Periodical Literature
- Black
Studies Center
- UW Restricted
Contains essential
historical and current material for researching the past, present and
future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa
itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases
- Ethnic
Newswatch - UW
Restricted
Full text articles from newspapers
and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America
- Historical
Abstracts - UW
Restricted
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present
- JSTOR
Search - UW
Restricted
A subject searchable index of journals
online with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text backfiles of scholarly journals,
some of which date back to the 1800's.
- Lexis-Nexis
Academic - UW
Restricted
from main menu choose News --> World News -->
Middle East/Africa Sources
Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts
and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information,
legal, biographical, and reference resources.
- Social
Sciences Citation Index
- UW Restricted
Multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering
the journal literature of the social sciences.
How
do I get the article if it's not in full text online?
Back
to BIS 313 guide home
|
| Reference
sources - dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. |
|
Online
Reference Sources:
How
do I use UW Restricted resources from off
campus?
|
Print
Reference Sources (1st floor of the Library):
- Encyclopedia
of African History and Culture - DT3 .P27 2001
- Africana
: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience -
DT14 .A37435 2005
- Encyclopedia
of American Studies - E169.1 .E625 2001
- Greenwood
Guide to American Popular Culture - E169.1 G7555 2002
- St.
James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture - E169.1 S764 2000
- Encyclopedia
of Contemporary American Culture - E169.12 E49 2001
- African
American Encyclopedia - E185 .A253 1993
- Encyclopedia
of African American Culture and History - E185 .E54 1996
- Black
Women in America - E185.86 .B542 2005
- Worldmark
Encyclopedia of Cultures & Daily Life - GN333 .W67 1998
- African
Folklore: An Encyclopedia - GR350 .A33 2004
- Encyclopedia
of World Cultures - GN550 .E53 1991
- The
Encyclopedia of Popular Music - ML102 .P66 G84 1998
- The
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music - ML100 .G16 1998
- Encyclopedia
of Rap and Hip Hop Culture - ML102 .R27 B96 2006
|
| Internet
resources |
|
Hip
Hop in the United States:
Local
Resources:
|
Hip
Hop in Africa:
|
|
|