If you have any questions
or need help with your research, please feel free to contact me!
Suzan
Parker,
Social Sciences Librarian
Email: sparker@uwb.edu
Phone: 425-352-3540
Office: LB1-310E
If you have any questions or need help with your research, please feel free to contact me! You can also ask a question at the Campus Library or connect to UW Libraries' 24/7 real-time, online reference service, Q&A Live.
|
Chat with me online (note: sometimes the chat program does not recognize my online status for a few seconds. Wait about 15 seconds after getting an "offline" message to see if the status changes to online)
|
|
Reference resources such as subject encyclopedias are a good place to start for an overview
of a topic, and to get background information.
Online reference sources
- Oxford Reference Online - UW restricted
- Gale
Virtual Reference Library - UW restricted
Combines many subject encyclopedias into one search. You may also search individual volumes, for example...
Beacham's guide to the endangered species of North America
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change
Environmental Encyclopedia
Pollution A to Z
Water: Science and Issues
Print reference sources
Check for additional subject encyclopedias
specific to your topic. Print reference materials are located in the Campus
Library Reference area on the 1st floor of the Library.
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues UWB/CCC Reference GE10 .E52 2000
- Encyclopedia of the Environment UWB/CCC Reference GE10 .E53 1994
- Encyclopedia of World Environmental History UWB/CCC Reference GF10 .E63 2004
- Environment A-Z UWB/CCC Reference GE10 .H67 2001
- Ecological Stewardship UWB/CCC Reference GE300 .E365 1999
- Our Earth's Changing Land : an Encyclopedia of Land-use and Land-cover Change UWB/CCC Reference GF90 .O87 2006
- Encyclopedia
of Sociology UWB/CCC Reference HM425 .E5 2000
- Encyclopedia
of Activism and Social Justice UWB/CCC Reference HM671 .E53 2007
- Encyclopedia
of Community
UWB/CCC Reference HM756 .E53 2003
- Encyclopedia of Environment and Society UWB/CCC Reference HM856 .E53 2007
- Encyclopedia
of American Social Movements UWB/CCC Reference HN57 .E594 2004
- Social
Issues in America : an Encyclopedia UWB/CCC
Reference HN57
.S624 2006
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution and Cleanup UWB/CCC
Reference TD173 .W55 1999 V.1-2
More Reference Sources for Environmental Science Research
return
to top |
|
Journal articles (also called academic, scholarly, refereed, or peer-reviewed articles) are written for a scholarly audience--they give evidence
for the researcher's claims (such as bibliographies of sources and research
data). Look for case studies, empirical research, literature reviews and best practices. General /
Interdisciplinary
databases:
- Alt-PressWatch
-
UW restricted
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and
journals of the alternative and independent press
- Expanded
academic ASAP - UW
restricted
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, news, medicine,
humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
- Ingenta
- UW
restricted
Full text collection of social science and humanities journals.
- JSTOR
search - UW
restricted
Full-text scholarly articles in the social sciences and other areas.
- Project
Muse - UW
restricted
Fulltext collection of social science and humanities journals .
-
ProQuest databases -
UW restricted
Scholarly and general interest (popular) articles in the social sciences
and other areas.
Newspaper databases:
- Alt-PressWatch - UW restricted
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and
journals of the alternative and independent press
- LEXIS-NEXIS
Academic - UW
restricted
Full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters),
business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical,
and reference resources.
- National newspapers -UW restricted
Covers 27 major U.S. newspapers and other U.S., international, and minority interest papers. Includes some fulltext. For the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and Oregonian, search ProQuest Newspapers in the Databases & Catalogs list
- Washington State Newsstand - UW restricted
Indexing and full-text from selected Washington State newspapers, including the Seattle Times, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Puget Sound Business Journal, Spokesman-Review (Spokane), News Tribune (Tacoma), and The Columbian (Vancouver)
Social
Sciences and Environmental Sciences databases:
- ATLA religion database -UW
restricted
Religious and theology journals representing all major religious faiths and denominations.
- BioOne - UW
restricted
Full texts of research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management - UW
restricted
Multidisciplinary database providing comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences.
- LegalTrac - UW restricted
Scholarly law reviews and legal newspapers
- PAIS
International -
UW restricted
Covers social and public policy literature from periodicals, government
documents, books, and other sources
- ProQuest Religion -UW restricted
Provides information on religious affairs and religious thinking from top religious periodicals
- Sociological abstracts -
UW restricted
Citations to Sociology journal articles; also covers conference papers
and dissertations.
- Web of Science Citation Databases -
UW restricted
Citations to scholarly journal articles in the social sciences, natural
sciences, and humanities.
Connect
to UW restricted resources from off
campus
return
to top |