New
Student Checklist - Everything you need to know as a CCC student including
activating your library account, connecting to restricted online resources from
home, and accessing electronic course reserves.
The resources below will help you
get started. They tend to contain very broad overviews of topics, with links
or references to other useful materials.
Facts.com from Facts on File includes World News Digest, Issues
and Controversies and Today's Science databases - UWB/CCC on-campus use only
This Web site serves as a portal to background information on a variety of
topics, and is updated regularly. Try searching in Issues
and Controversies first (although depending on your topic, you may want
to explore other resources as well). Because of our licensing agreement,
this source can only be accessed from a computer on campus.
CQ
researcher - UW/CCC restricted.
Offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, with regular
reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the
environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Synthesis articles focus on one topic per
issue.
Does UW/CCC restricted
mean Cascadia students can't use this database?No--it
just means that you must use the
off-campus access button in the upper right hand corner of this page to access them from off campus. More info on setting up your CCC UW NetID
Topics Collection
(Information Commons, 1st floor of the Library)
This collection contains books on topics that lend themselves to an argument
of some kind. Many contain overviews of the issue, along with summaries of
the key positions (and the individuals who promote or refute them). Two
series that cover a broad range of subjects are "Opposing Viewpoints" and
"Contemporary World Views."
Finding
Articles: Search the
following periodical databases to find journal, newspaper and/or magazine articles
on your topic. Some of these databases will provide you scholarly articles, some
with provide popular magazine or newspaper articles, some will provide both.
Academic Search Complete- UW/CCC restricted. This EbscoHost databases cover a wide range of topics.
Expanded Academic ASAP- UW/CCC restricted. Expanded Academic Index provides indexing and abstracting
for approximately 1,500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering
all major fields of study in the humanities, social sciences, and science
and technology.
BIOSIS- UW/CCC restricted. comprehensive coverage of international life sciences literature.
Global Health - UW/CCC restricted. Database covers various aspects of human health and disease.
PubMed - (Publicly
accessible - but some full text is
UW/CCC Restricted) The National Library of Medicine's search service to over 15 million citations
in Medline and related databases. (Search
tips for this database)
The
UW Libraries Catalog
provides you with access to titles between the Bothell,
Seattle and Tacoma campuses. Through the UW catalog you can also search the
Summit catalog and gain access
to items at academic libraries throughout WA and OR. If we don't own a book
or if it's checked out, you still might be able to get a copy from another
library.
Reference
books are located in the Information Commons on the first floor of
the library. This
list is organized by the call number.
The Facts on File encyclopedia of health and medicine. (4 volumes) WB 13 F142 2007
Gale
Virtual Reference Library -
UW/CCC Restricted. In this database of electronic
encyclopedias and books you can search in an individual title or through multiple
titles at the same time. Subjects included in this collection: arts, business
& economics, education, environment, history & American studies, literature,
nursing & medicine, multicultural studies, nation & world, religion,
science and the social sciences.Tip: To focus in on
your topic, try limiting your search to the "document title" instead
of the "keyword" default search.
Oxford Reference Online- UW/CCC Restricted.
An online database that searches across many Oxford University Press specialized
dictionaries and reference titles at once. Full text entries are available.
Tips: On the Advanced Search page - Change the "Refine your Search" box
from Full Text to "Entry Headings" to search with more precision.
After you have submitted a search, on the left hand side of your search results
page - look for the "Refine by Subject" categories such as: politics
& social sciences; science; literature; and medicine. Click on these subjects
to look within that discipline area.
Don’t forget about our
Interlibrary Loan Service. If a database does not carry the full text of
an article you want and our Library does not own it, you still might be able
to order a copy of the article from another UW Library.
Ulrich's
International Periodicals Directory-UW/CCC restricted. This index does not provide any fulltext or abstracts of articles. It is an index of periodical titles that are
held internationally, and provides information about these titles - such as
- are they peer reviewed.
The Health Sciences Library at the University of Washington in Seattle has numerous anatomy models that you are welcome to check out. If you visit, be sure to bring your student ID card.