BEDUC 502:Teachers' Self-Understanding

BEDUC 502: Research Guide
Professor Cherry Banks

Getting Started - This page goes over some of the basics of using the library including how to access UW Restricted databases from home.

Research 101 (UWILL) - go through this online tutorial if you would like to review or update your research skills

Assessing Your Sources - This page provides some tips on evaluating the information that you find in your searches.

Link to E-Res (electronic reserves)

Search Tips - This page covers some of the basics of searching online and how you can translate your research interest into searches that are "database friendly."

ASK US A QUESTION !!!

 

CAMPUS LIBRARY

January 15, 2008

OBJECTIVES:

Discuss how how to access UW Restricted databases from home.

Discuss how to request or place holds on material from other libraries.

Use the database, Ancestry, to find information on family members. This database is only available on the Bothell Campus!! You will not be able to access it from off-campus. (See public libraries section below for more availability).

Find Genealogical Resources at the UW Libraries including resources at the Bothell Campus Library.

Find Family History and Genealogy resources on the internet.

Try a search on the The Historical New York Times (1851 - 2003) UW Restricted.

 

DON'T FORGET YOUR PUBLIC LIBRARIES:

King County Library System's Genealogy Collection.

Seattle Public Library's Biography and Genealogy web site.

Sno-Isle Libraries "Searching for your ancestors?"

Sno-Isle Libraries and Seattle Public Library have Ancestry.com available online if you have library accounts with them.

Please contact me if you have any questions!

Venta Silins
Education Librarian
425-352-5241
vsilins@
uwb.edu